We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Ranked #56 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel is absolutely lovely. The staff are helpful and polite, the beds are so comfortable and the shower is excellent. We had a room facing the courtyard and so it was very quiet. Staying here set the bar pretty high for the rest of our trip and so we were disappointed whenever one of our hotels wasn't a good as this one. The breakfast is a bit average though and there weren't many good options close to the hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and we didn't hear any noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _VivvyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,446
    852
    78
    16
    5
See reviews for
411
1,868
109
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here when it had just opened and feared that it may have the usual teething problems, nothing could be further from the truth!. A lovely room with nothing too much trouble for the friendly reception staff. Very clean and highest quality bedding etc. We had a 'travel-zoo voucher so it was fantastic value for a london hotel, not sure what it is like normally on price?.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingston11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nits on business recently and found it to be one of the best values in London. The rooms are large, quiet, extremely clean, and very nicely appointed. The bathrooms are beyond compare with a tub and shower. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially when the shower overflowed on the first morning. They quickly and efficiently moved us to another room without question. One caveat - tell your cabby to go to 50 Fleet St. Since many of them don't know where this new hotel is located.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sljayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just arrived back after a fabulous stay at Apex Temple with my Mum. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every possible way! The setting is beautiful, the rooms are incredibly spacious and luxurious and the staff are very friendly and attentive - A frirst class stay, thank you very much. I will highly recommend your hotel to others and hope to visit again soon as didn't have time to visit the spa and pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here in early May for two nights whilst on business. In my experience, it's very rare that you find a hotel of this quality in central London for what was a fairly reasonable rate. Compared to some of the over-priced dross that passes for high quality accommodation in the capital this place is hard to fault and is ideally positioned for both the City and Covent Garden/Strand.
The staff were extremely friendly and genuinely keen to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. The room was first class with an excellent walk-in shower and wide screen HD TV with all the channels you could wish for. I ordered room service three times (one dinner/two breakfasts) and the quality of food and speed of service were exemplary. The only slight - and it was slight - complaint related to the UHT milk in the room: I tried three servings and each was on the turn. I'm sure if I'd have raised this it would have been rectified immediately.
I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at this hotel - The staff were brilliant. Our first allocated room overlooked the works inside the courtyard and due to this being a birthday weekend trip my husband asked if it was possible to move. We were then offered an upgrade to a lovely deluxe room. The staff couldn't do more and were very friendly. The hotel is in a great spot within a short walk to Covent Garden. Food ( evening meal & breakfast ) in hotel were very good ( and even better as children ate for free - and their meals were really good quality ). Great hotel will definately return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was v quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheznRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just got back from a Friday night stay at Apex Temple Court. Great stay!
Walked from Temple tube station through temple grounds. Almost stumbled across the hotel as no signs. Only took 5 mins and was serene with views of beautiful (though private) gardens.

Efficient and friendly check in. We had emailed beforehand about early arrival (it was 10:20) and the fact it was our anniversary. We received a reply from Central reservations the followng morning advising that we could at least drop our bags but that they had emailed the hotel to let them know of our early arrival and anniversary. received an email later that day from the concierge advising every effort would be made to have our room ready.

At check-in we were advised of a complimentary upgrade for our anniversary. On entering our room we found a small gift of handmade chocolates and a personalised note from the front desk wishng us a happy anniversary.

On the way up to the room, everything still smelt so new. We also remarked that throughout our stay there was ALWAYS a lift ready to go. Obviously just luck but we have stopped in other premium hotels where the lifts were a frustrating nightmare.

The room was spotless,unblemished and very nicely presented. There was a Samsung wall mounted 3D TV. However, as far as I am aware there was no 3D Blu-ray player (or any player in fact) Maybe it would be relatively simple to install players and offer movie rental to make full use of the technology.

Plenty of storage space (though only 2x wooden hangers and 2x padded hangers) loads of tea/coffee/hot drink sachets and biscuits.

Wndow had sun blind and black out curtains.

Air con controls were easy to use and responsive, however the air con is controlled by the keycard slot by the front door so goes off when you take the keycard out as you leave the room. the room was quite 'stuffy' so needed the aircon on continously (could be heard but not intrusive) so left a 2nd keycard in the slot while we were out.

Back in reception it wasn't obvious that the 2 doors that flanked the reception desk were the route to the courtyard on to fleet street. The main bank of doors took you to a courtyard at the back of the hotel and then up a service alleyway on to Fleet Street.

Walk to Covent Garden is 15 mins (though for some reason we kept taking the long route around the curve of Aldwych) and 25 mins to Haymarket (just past Trafalgar Sq.)

Back in the hotel, the bathroom had a great shower (Hansgrohe monsoon head) and Ideal Standard suite. Elemis toiletries very nice.

Pillows were huge and quite 'stodgy' so easy to get the right 'set up' for a comfy nights sleep. Very comfortable mattress.

Bose IPod docking station up to usual Bose standards.

At check in we were asked if we wanted a newspaper/alarm call. I asked for the Times and was then told the Times is complimentary. There were copies throughout the hotel and in the morning there was a copy hanging from the door handle.

And so to breakfast. There was a notice in the lift warning that breakfast gets busy at weekends and so to best aim foor before 09:00. We got there at 09:00 and were seated immediatly. It started to get busier soon after.

Our waitress was eastern european and I dont think her english was that good. it wasn't imeediatly obvius that the continental was buffet but that the hot breakfast was cooked to order. I asked for the hot brakfast but specified no black pudding. Tea/coffee and toast was offered and arrived promptly. The wait for the hot breakfast was longer. I noticed the guy at the table next to us order coffee. A long time later it hadn't arrived so he asked another member of staff who got some for him. 5 minutes later the waitress came with the orignally ordered coffee and appeared very put out and confused that the guy had sourced some from elsewhere.

The hot breakfast was tasty and well cooked, although it initially arrived with black pudding on top of the bacon (brought by the same waitress that took my order). When I pointed it out she tok the plate and returned seconds later with the smae plate minus the black pudding.

i have stopped at a Premier Inn where the hot breakfast order is also taken. Premier Inn ask how many of each item you want with no apparent limit. This appears very generous for a breakfast that is less than half the price. At temple Court, I have no doubt that if I had asked for 'seconds' I could of had it but with 1 sausage, 2 bacon, half grilled tomato, 2 fried eggs and a mushroom I did feel it was a little undervalue considering the price you would pay for it. (We were on a breakfast inclusive rate but you know what I mean).

Check out was 12:00, however we checked out at 10:00 and then left our bags with the concierge so we could go out and explore. Check out was again swift and efficient though we were asked about payment even thought the same member of staff had checked us in and confirmed that the system indicated the rom was prepaid

Overall impressions? The hotel is very high quality. I would describe both the decor and the service as 'slightly clinical'. The decor is very modern with just enough soft furnishings and floral prints to make it comfortable and pleasant. I think the staff could do with a little bit more 'soft furnishing' particularly paying attention to detail and being more personal.

Would I stay again? Without hesitation. Would i recommend you stay? Absolutely!!! The location is in the 'quiet end' of town (when it comes to the weekend) is convenient for the embankment and the tube and is a very high quality hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doningtonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,067 in London
1,872 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,067 in London
3,705 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,067 in London
1,496 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#36 of 1,067 in London
975 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Temple Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Temple Court Hotel

Property: Apex Temple Court Hotel
Address: 1-2 Serjeants' Inn | Fleet Street, London EC4Y 1LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Temple Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off bustling Fleet Street, Apex Temple Court Hotel is a short two-minute walk from Inner Temple and Middle Temple - both historic Inns of Court. This four-star hotel boasts impressive contemporary interior design that’s complemented by creative fixtures and natural light. The hotel has 184 rooms and suites, an elegant restaurant and a modern gym. In each room you’ll find Elemis toiletries, a 40” LCD TV with Sky TV and a fridge to store your essentials. You can also make use of complimentary Wi-Fi on all of your personal devices throughout your stay. Chambers Restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day with a variety of options to choose from. The hotel also has its own bar and lounge that features a tranquilising fireplace – the perfect place to relax. This modern space makes for a laid-back place to meet or eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Temple Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing