We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
34
39
29
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
39
29
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow stairs quiet street oxford street convenient location air conditioning excellent location would stay here again english breakfast tea and coffee mirror toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 146 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

I gave them two stars ONLY for location, the free breakfast and the free wifi! The hotel is dirty and run down. The room was tiny with a double bed. There was dust on windows, a really old bedspread, a mattress that seemed to be overused, and my room was in the back of the hotel through a fire exit door! I would not suggested! Also, I found it expensive for what it offered.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Arachni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2016

Stayed at Hotel La Place 5 days in April, 2016.
I couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations and especially the service.
An excellent full breakfast is part of the deal.
A very good small hotel, 3 blocks from the Baker Street tube.

Room Tip: There is a lift for the 1st 3 floors. 4th floor is walk-up.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dld789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2015

This is a small Hotel with rather depressing wooden decor but get beyond that and the rooms are sufficient and clean. The stay is certainly enhanced by the Night Porter, the breakfast staff particularly my favourite from Hull of all places. The breakfast is inclusive and cooked from fresh which certainly is a bonus. Overall, no glitz a trifle jaded but for regular and experienced travellers the staff and value makes a stay well worthwhile.

Stayed: October 2015
4  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2015

booked this hotel at the last minute when watching England crash out of the Rugby World Cup! Great little hotel fabulously helpful staff and the breakfast was lovely.
Near tube station and within easy walk to Kings Cross, great location, comfy beds, Air conditioning and really quiet.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

One of the most friendliest hotels I`ve been to in 65 years of travel. Fantastic day and night staff and extremely comfortable and quiet rooms, despite it`s closeness to Madame Tussauds, etc. My room was ideal for the single traveller. From every member of staff during my stay, there was always a broad smile and chat - I love the place. Keeping in touch in future with the Night porter who seemed to be there every time I left or came back! Found this hotel on line and am 100% glad I did. Small is definitely the best - you get to know everyone. As Arnold S says `I`ll be back`!

Room Tip: If booking a single, have a look through the rooms on line before choosing.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews