We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
34
39
29
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
39
29
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow stairs quiet street oxford street convenient location air conditioning excellent location would stay here again english breakfast tea and coffee mirror underground toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 146 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Hotel La Place is not new, my room (single) was small and the bed oddly located (I don't know how the maids manage to make it up), but it was very clean and quiet. The staff is very helpful and friendly, ready to handle any request 24 hours a day if necessary. Breakfast (full English) is included with the price, and one can select as many (or few) items for breakfast as desired. Wait staff in the breakfast room are friendly and courteous. There is an elevator which goes up to the third floor, meaning a flight of steps to climb if you stay on the fourth floor. My room had a modern shower which was small, but adequate water pressure. There is a large closet with ironing board and iron. Plenty of pillows and blankets. I visited in warm weather and the wall AC unit was quiet and kept the room comfortable, adjustable via a remote control. Several mirrors, including one full length. TV is provided though I was only able to get 3 channels of news and some children's programming. Free wifi is provided, but it is slow. The hotel is located near the Baker Street Underground station, a walk of about 5 minutes. There are many decent restaurants within 10 minutes walk or closer, lots of shops and pubs. I was very satisfied with my experience at this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Unless you are able to climb stairs, don't choose a 4th-floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BigReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Very small hotel, picked it as there was an awesome deal going for it with Kaligo. Check-in was odd as they wouldn't budge on showing passport for identification which as a UK resident I've never before seen in a London hotel.

Public spaces were very narrow and could use a refurbishment. Lift was scary the first time but it got you to where you needed to go and the rooms was surprisingly spacious and comfortable. Didn't use the breakfast and don't think I'll return as I prefer the more modern chain hotels.

Great location though close to Baker Street tube station and Regents Park.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller-935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2016

This is a small town house hotel that is very good value for the money. Don't compare this with a big expensive branded hotel - it's not that. The staff are all very friendly and it has all of the facilities you need for a comfortable stay. Good location with excellent travel connections and local restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

I gave them two stars ONLY for location, the free breakfast and the free wifi! The hotel is dirty and run down. The room was tiny with a double bed. There was dust on windows, a really old bedspread, a mattress that seemed to be overused, and my room was in the back of the hotel through a fire exit door! I would not suggested! Also, I found it expensive for what it offered.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Arachni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2016

Stayed at Hotel La Place 5 days in April, 2016.
I couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations and especially the service.
An excellent full breakfast is part of the deal.
A very good small hotel, 3 blocks from the Baker Street tube.

Room Tip: There is a lift for the 1st 3 floors. 4th floor is walk-up.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dld789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews