We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very unfriendly”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #254 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
connie41
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staff very unfriendly”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Staff very unfriendly especially the girl on reception found her rudeand obnoxious she was eastern euroopean and never experienced anything like that before would recommend anyone not to go there couldnt wait to leave!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pathoulihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesmondDeneHotel, Manager at Jesmond Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Mr. Houligan,

The reason why the girl on reception was rude and obnoxious was because you tried to sexually assault her. You came in drunk with your 2 friends and attempted to lure her to your bedroom. I have this on CCTV. I have already reported this and suggest you do not return to my hotel as you are not welcome.

If you want to try and get a companion I suggest cutting down on your alcohol consumption.

Darren
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    703
    174
    34
    22
See reviews for
541
532
173
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I was actually visiting France but flew in and out of Heathrow and spent a night at the Desmond Jene both upon arriving in London and prior to flying out. It was refreshing - very clean, very modern, very comfortable. The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful, and it was wonderful to be able to leave bags at the hotel and wander around prior to checking in and after checking out. The breakfast that is included was lovely and it was nice to be at a hotel where it didn't cost extra! It was also very quiet, despite being so close to the King's Cross and St Pancras stations. The location was also ideal - the Underground was right there as well as several bus lines - it didn't take long to get anywhere. I enjoyed everything about the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asamlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Very well located in a quiet street next to King's Cross and St Pancras Stations. Close to extravagant Camden town with excellent access to the Underground leading very easily to all parts of London. A place we do recommand and keep in our address book for our next stay in the British capital ! Caroline & Nicolas - Strasbourg - France

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vega1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

good location, good food, and great service. we had a lovely time

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cori1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The hotel is well located two minutes from the Eurostar station. The room we had was clean but very small for two people with a double bed. Breakfast is good.
Everything was ok but I was waiting for more with a night at 130GBP. I know london is expensive but I have already stayed in B&B and small hotels in London (chosen with tripadvisor!) with the same standards for half that price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alja30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redange, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Very clean and quiet hotel. Room was small but comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Very good "english breakfast". Perfect location: five minutes away from a tube station. Quality/value for London very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Thanks to Darren and Dierdra, we had an incredible time in London. Stayed both on our way in and out of London over 3 nights. A great location to Kings Cross/St Pancras Station. Rooms are clean and comes with WiFi access. Staff are incredible and service standards high thanks to Darren. We shall return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionel_gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,985 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#128 of 1,069 in London
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,069 in London
1,220 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#384 of 1,069 in London
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing