We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for 1 night”
Review of Montana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montana Hotel
Ranked #433 of 1,067 Hotels in London
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ok for 1 night”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

i stayed in room 108 which was like staying in a single spare room.Room i had tv storage space and sink.The bathroom was a bit of a journey away from the room not very good if you wake up in the night and need the toilet.My main point to this review is be carefull with your card details as the hotel tried to bill my card a few days in advance without warning me.The main part for me booking this hotel as its close to tube line.i doubt if i would stay here again as also the maid open my door over 2 hours before my check out time which is really not good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkBigrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    326
    173
    55
    32
See reviews for
220
193
90
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

First trip to London,England........Three guys in are late 30's from Montreal on vacation for seven days. From October 17,2011 to October 24,2011

Airport to Hotel: We landed at Gatwick airport.....From the airport we took the Gatwick Express train to Victoria station which took about 30-35 min. I suggest to take the Anytime Return ticket. It cost £30.80 per person but if you book it on line it cost £25.90.... This is the web site to book on line: http://www.gatwickexpress.com/en/tickets-and-fares/buy-online-and-save/....Now from Victoria station you take the tube on the distract line three stations to Gloucester station its about 10 min. When exiting Gloucester station the hotel is practically across the street from the station about half a block to the left. I had a friend from Italy that met us up from for the weekend that landed at Heathrow airport. He explained to me that he took the tube from the terminal Heathrow station which is located on the Piccadilly Line straight to Gloucester station it took him 45 min to an hour.

Location: Great location.... Your close to some of the major attractions
. 5 min. walk to Natural History Museum (Must see place)
. 7 min walk to Albert Hall
.10 min walk to Hyde Park (Beautiful and very!,Very!!,Very!!! Big Park big, nice swans in the pond)
. 15 min walk to Harrods Department store (Incredible store, Very good food in the food court, Hope you have lots of money.....Very expensive to shop.
Besides the attractions yo have a little mall across the street with a big grocery store and a few restaurants. In front of the hotel is a little souvenir shop where you can bye post cards, phone cards etc....You have Starbucks,Burger King,K.F.C close by. A grocery store that is opened 24 hours a day. It has good beer selection but be advised you only can't buy alcohol after 11:00 p.m. Coffee shops and a couple of PUBS that close around 10:00 p.m. ATM machines right around the corner and one next to the 24 hour grocery store store.

Rooml: We were staying in room 205.... It consist of a small fridge & safe. Double bed & single bed,nice LCD TV that only catches a few channels but you can order movies if you like. Phone where you can make In & Out calls but it cost money to make outs call even though your calling people in the city of London. Big Long Desk,Big Closet,cofffee maker. As for the bathroom it had a little shower, the water pressure is decent but not great. Toiilet & sink and hair dryer.... The room is very! Very!! small but clean the maids come in every morning to make up the beds give you new towels and soap... If you wanted an extra towel just let the maid know. All in all great room bed is comfortable and and you have clean sheets every day. They have free wi fi... and it always worked. Just need to go to front desk to access it. The only problems we had in the room was the T.V. Sometimes it was not working. Staff could not fix it. But we were not there to watch T.V.... One of my friends that was with me on this trip lost or got his watch stolen. It was the only thing missing in the room. WEIRD

Sleep: Quiet place to get a good night sleep. No distractions what so ever.

Hotel: Check in was fast.....The staff is great and helpful. Front desk has maps of the city and the tourist guides of the city. Don't be shy with the staff they know the city well and they will tell you what to check out. There is this one staff member at the front desk. I forgot his name he's bald with glasses but he was really helpful, ask him about the strip-joints in London... He's going to tell you a hell of a story. They have a 'Lions Bar' in the lobby but we did not try it. They have a computer right next to it but never worked. Elevator is small can fit 2 -3 people depending your size....lol... I think my friend broke it at one point when he startled to jump up and down in it.

Restaurant: Breakfast: Not much variety...Three types of cereal,(canned) peaches and pears,Orange & Apple Juice... White & brown toast always hot with some types of jam,Banana's All the Tea & coffee you can drink. You can order eggs or sausage but it's an extra. All-in-All it's a decent breakfast and the waiters are helpful on the refills. For lunch and dinner its an Indian restaurant, we did not get the chance to eat there as we always ate out.

Over-all I give this hotel 3.5 STARS.... by the way I'm a picky person. Remember to shut the curtains before you go to bed

You really got to know where to go to eat. Very expensive city. I would not recommend to eat in the vicinity unless its Harrods Department store. My favourite place to eat was in Camden town in the market area.... So much to choose from and for a great price.... For £5 you have a massive plate of food, the only thing its a 30 min travel time by tube but worth the trip.

Over-all I give this hotel 3.5 STARS.... by the way I'm a picky person.

If you want more information about the hotel and the surrounding areas or where to go to eat. You can e-mail at .......morte_di_fame@hotmail.com

Cheers!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 205 ...Clean room, close to lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spruzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed here with my 3 young daughters from Nov 19 -22nd. When choosing a location several things were very important to me: cost needed to be reasonable, location to the subway needed to be very close, and we wanted to be close to the Victoria area of London.

The Montana Hotel was the best choice for us - after hours of online searching for hotels. We had a very nice room for 4 people. It had a double bed and 2 singles. The bathroom was large enough with a sink, toilet, and bathtub with shower.

The location was excellent. It was quite literally across the street and 1/2 a block down from the Gloucester Road Tube Station on both the Cirle and District Lines. This is 3 stops down (or about 5 minutes away) from Victoria Station. We are able to get a flight into Gatwick, and then took that Gatwick Express to Victoria, and transferred to the Tube to get to our hotel. Very easy, even for a parent on their own who had never been to London, with luggage and 3 kids under 10 in tow.

My girls absolutely loved the tiny lift which barely fit the 4 of us and 2 small suitcases. Personally, if you were were claustrophobic - I would opt for the stairs!

Our room was on the 3rd floor. It was very nice and very quite. We had breakfast in the restaurant each day, and didn't order any extras and were satisfied until lunch. The coffee and tea were unending, and there was a very nice selection of cereal, toast and (canned) peaches and pears, along with melon. Orange and apple juice were also available. We did not see the need to order more.

Our room was ready when we arrived at 10am, however it would not have been a problem to store our luggage there before or after check out, so that we could start our vacation.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 310 and it was great for 4 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AugMomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Lovely Hotel. Not flash or luxury, but really comfy, clean & friendly. Excellent location, across the road from tube station & a 10 minute walk to Hyde Park, Harrods, Natural History Museum & Albert Hall. Free Wi Fi. Nice breakfast. Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sackie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Superb location for Natural History Museum - friendly and very helpful reception staff - breakfast better than expected. Excellent family room (for 4) - suited us v well to get three beds. Just a minor point but it would have been good to have got a bath mat and extra toiletries.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robins58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Very good location with easy access to nice places to eat and to the tube station. Lift is extremely small and can fit 2 people only. Room was small and the door hit the bed on the way in! No toiletries provided apart from a bar of soap so bring your own, bath room was nice and the decoration of the room was average. Had an issue with the door key when we got there which they sorted it out quickly

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDC2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just stayed 2 nights. I don't think that I would stay there again since the water pressure was terrible and there was no (I mean NO) hot water. My bed spread had a hole in it. If you do stay, bring your toileteries since they supply a very small soap. Besides that, it is very convient to the tube, grocery store, ATM, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbpellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#502 of 1,067 in London
403 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#361 of 1,067 in London
1,115 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#650 of 1,067 in London
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#177 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#352 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Hotel

Property: Montana Hotel
Address: 67-69 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montana Hotel is a unique 55-room boutique hotel situated in the heart of Kensington, Knightsbridge and Chelsea. The Montana perfectly blends Victorian architecture and traditional English ambience with contemporary touches, ensuring you a unique travel experience in Kensington, one of the world’s most exclusive and fashionable neighbourhoods. Our aim is to make you feel at home, providing you an efficient four-star service and an exceptional travel experience. Recently refurbished, classic and elegant rooms combine all contemporary amenities needed, whether travelling to London for business or leisure. All rooms have their own character and personal touches, whether a large and spacious room for family travellers or a warm and cosy room for the single traveller. Luxury and comfort will await you in each of our 55 en-suite guest bedrooms. Before you settle down for a good night’s sleep, savour exquisitely presented cuisine in the hotel’s restaurant Light of India. The Light of India offers a continental breakfast and a full a la carte menu for lunch and dinner featuring the finest Indian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing