We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LSE Bankside House
Ranked #545 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I have to say that I am shocked at all the five stars reviews this place has gotten. The best (and probably only) thing that this place has going for it is its price.The bed was very uncomfortable and creaky - not what I wanted after a long day of walking around London. Also, the room and bathroom were both dirty and the linens/bedspread were extremely outdated and worn. The location next to the Tate Modern isn't terrible, but you will need the subway to get around to the more touristy areas of London.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jmk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    202
    90
    31
    29
See reviews for
111
78
94
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Although the location is convenient - Bankside it's a nightmare from other point of views. Rooms lack basic cleanliness (dirty carpet, stained bed sheets & duvet, smelly). I found hairs & stains in mine. Mattresses are in very bad shape, the one in my room was old and extremely uncomfortable, had bumps and stains. Moreover, room & bathroom cleaning was performed superficially, there was lack of basic cleaning and details (mildew in bathroom are in plain sight, among other nasty hings). Breakfast is - at best - below average (small quantities, greasy, lack of variety & quality, some unfriendly staff). Staff is generally ok, however not always helpful, sometimes rude. Management is seldom available to help with concerns and may be rude at times. A hostel is a hostel, but this one lacks all the basics, which can make your stay at Bankside a nightmare. Overal, the description of this hostel does not represent the reality. Beware: this hostel has some reserved rooms that are nicer, and much more expensive, usually in the top floors. Some nice reviews that appear in this and other sites very likely refer to this type of rooms. The rooms that are available for the lower price range, which are 90% of the total, are in bad shape.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I've lived in London before, but say a whole other side of the city [and was able to afford a long trip] by staying on the south bank at Bankside.

Room Tip: The south and west sides of the building had good access to neighboring restaurant's wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pasherlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungaree, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Bankside House is unbelievably good value for money. In a brilliant location. Clean large room. Excellent breakfast. It was fantastic for our family and we stay there each time we are in London. For families wanted excellent value accommodation in the heart of London - cannot go past Bankside House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaTourBlanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I've been travelling to London for years and always stayed close to a tube station, in the north part of the very city centre. It was the first time I chose this area: wonderful! It's close to almost everything, the connections are very good, many buses pass by and there are at least three train stations. Very good value for money also because nowadays very few offers include breakfast; almost none take in consideration the full English one. Rooms are clean and comfortable, except the matresses that need to be changed very soon. However, will surely go back again and suggest this accommodation to other people.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid noice from the restaurants and pubs downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is the 2nd time my wife and I have stayed here and we would certainly return again. It is a good base for a short visit to London. It is cleaner and more spacious than most budget hotels in London. The breakfast option is good value.

An improvement since our previous visit, for those who are that way inclined, is that the "Boris Bikes" which are available nearby can be used to get around quite easily and cheaply: we used them much more than the tube which we have mainly used to get around London is the past.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJM010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I have stayed at Bankside for 2 weekends and was very surprised by the cleanliness and very nice breakfast. Location is great and the accommodation for such a price was more than satisfactory. The only thing I was shocked, when I was having breakfast, I didn't take much food on my first round. There was this breakfast lady by the till, who never said good morning and obviously was not much enjoying her job. When I got up to get one more toast, one slice of ham and one piece of cheese spread, she called me over and told me in very unpleasant manner I was not allowed to take more stuff, took the cheese from me and said to keep the bread and ham, which I obviously did not want anymore and put it back. I felt so annoyed I did not even bother to complain. I work in customer service myself and there are certainly more polite ways how to say to customer that they are not supposed to have things, rather than touching the food and taking certain items from their plates.Otherwise all other staff very helpful and nice, especially by the reception desk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamba687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#719 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#204 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#276 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Property: LSE Bankside House
Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #545 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing