We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Couldn't sleep because of the noise.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mermaid Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Ranked #837 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Paris, France
Level Contributor
235 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Couldn't sleep because of the noise.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Although the location is excellent, the noise factor is a HUGE problem.
The flip-side of the location is that it is by a street with LOTS of noise.
My sleep was completely ruined.
The staff were not particularly pleasant, either.
Frankly, I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    85
    102
    42
    45
See reviews for
78
69
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at the Mermaid for 2 nights. It was very clean and well maintained. There are quite alot of stairs if you have heavy luggage (No lift). A basic continental style breakfast is served in the restaurant below the main reception to hotel guests only.
Although a little pricey for its standard, you cannot beat the hotels location, which is almost on Oxford Street, with Bond Street Tube station around the corner. Yet the Hotel is in a quiet side street. I shall use this Hotel/location again.

Room Tip: Hotel has more than one property in this street. I was not above the restaurant (where the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroMotoPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Well it is called as a hotel but it is not. It is a four separate building opposite to each other & to get to the other one you have to cross the street. I went with my wife & my 3yr old son & were given a 4th floor room insipte of other rooms avialable in th ebelow floors. They provide breakfast which includes bread butter & cereals. At night the street is very noisy & we could not sleep. It is at a very good location for shopping which was the reason we choose it but woould not advise it to anyone. The heating was not appropriate & when called the reception were told that's the max it is & we shivered the whole night. There's no lift in the so called hotel. If you need something you would have to come down from your building cross the road & go to the reception on the first floor. It is just next to the bond street station & their are some eat outs near by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bravo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have stayed here a few times now, and it's a great location and includes a continental breakfast. Staff are friendly and the location is nice and quiet.
The rooms are basic, but now include a flat screen television.
The bathroom is always clean and the room is immaculate.
Tea and coffee facilities available.
Small and friendly, but worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysteryboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I was in this hotel for just a single night. I've to say that the room was nice and clean, even if a bit too small. The best was the bathroom that was very big with a nice shower. For the breakfast they gave me a voucher to be used in the restaurant just below the hotel. I arrived too early and I had to wait a bit, but the breakfast was very good! I liked the hotel and it was in a wonderful spot in centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Room very very basic,lots and lots of stairs no lift,do not take heavy cases,unfriendly staff,breakfast discusting I wonder from which continental menu this was devised? no breakfast selection, just lobbed in front of you on a plate with no conversation, we had a long black hair in the coffee cup yak,I would NOT recommend this Hotel to others

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel if you cannot do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geminilady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We wanted to arrive a day early to the hotel we were booked into but they were full. We went online to find a hotel nearby, We came up with the Mermaid but sorry to say we did not read any reviews. The taxi driver went past it twice because it is just a doorway
between two businesses. We carried our heavy bags up a long narrow staircase and found a very unfriendly woman in a small room that was the reception, We were told we had to pay in advance and we should pay cash or there would be a 4% surcharge. We were then told our room was across the street so we had to carry the bags down the stairs and up another set of stairs in the building opposite. The room was small but clean but the night noise was terrible. The windows are very poor and you could here people outside like they were in the room and seemed to go on all night. Trash trucks were busy nearly all night also. The bathroom though very clean was only about 6" X 6" and that is generous. You had to sit on the toilet sideways because the shower was so close and the shower was not big enough to bend over to wash your feet. Paid about $180 for the night which I know is cheap for London but we expected a little more.

Room Tip: Read the reviews before booking any hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#421 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#552 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#589 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Suite Hotel

Property: Mermaid Suite Hotel
Address: 3-4 Blenheim Street, London W1S 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #837 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mermaid Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Suite London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing