We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value/Great Location”
Review of Macdonald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Hotel
Ranked #44 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value/Great Location”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is in a great location...steps from the Kings Cross/St. Pancras tube station. Reasonably priced for it's central London location and clean.My daughter and i stayed on the lower level with shared bath across the hall. There was only 1 other room here so it was relatively quiet. The breakfast was served quickly, but the dining room is very small and if you arrive at a busy time you will have to wait or share a table with other guests. The kitchen help does not speak English very well or smile, and basically throws your breakfast at you but it is included in the price so therefore increases the value of this location. We were also able to leave our bags with the staff prior to checking in and after we checked out which allowed us to enjoy our first and last days without lugging a lot of stuff around. I would recommend this location and would choose to stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: The lower level twin room was easy to get into and out of and going down 1 flight with heavy bags is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    394
    143
    31
    11
See reviews for
220
200
103
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Really friendly service throughout my stay - the single I booked was a box room but had everything you need! the shower on the next floor up is a bit dated and could do with a refurb - but the high point was the tasty, hot, plentiful breakfast served quickly and by a very efficient waitress. I would definitely stay again. £38 B&B for central London??!! FAB!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesy6671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I just spent 2 nights here with a friend in a twin room. Unfortunately it was in the basement! It was small and dated but ok. Most importantly it was spotlessly clean. I did get woken a couple of times with pidgeons getting stuck in the area outside our window!
I was looking forward to breakfast after reading good reports but was VERY disappointed that the hotel dont cater for vegetarians so only offerered me eggs and beans in an over crowded dining room.
The hotel is in a very good central situation for everything with the tube station 2 mins away.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This was my second time at the Hotel and as expected it was an excellent stay. Great breakfast, ideal location, very friendly staff and all you would expect from a good London B&B. Would recommend to all.

Room Tip: Rooms above ground are obviously more airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel is fantastically positioned near Kings Cross/St Pancras...literally a 1 minute walk. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We needed a taxi in the evening and they sorted one out finding out how much it would be in advance and even waited outside for it to arrive then letting us know. Everywhere was very clean, including all the bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hotel room was small but comfortable, clean, quiet, wifi worked fine, heat worked fine, the full English breakfast was a treat served by friendly staff and there was even a sign on the wall encouraging you to order seconds if you like. It was close to Kings Cross/St.Pancras station so very convenient to get around. It's in a nice neighborhood, easy walk to the British Museum, about 40 minutes walk to Trafalgar square. A night bus brings you right back to Kings Cross/St Pancras from near Trafalgar Sq.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runderbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Nice quiet B&B, overlooks a little park, very close to Kings Cross / St Pancras. When the taxi driver dropped me off he said 'good luck, this is the red light district'! Im not sure what he was hoping to achieve with his comment, he's obviously clueless about the hotels in this area, I had no problems as a single female traveller, cozy, clean room on the 2nd floor, pretty quiet considering the location. The only downside was the bedding was a bit thin and there was only tea and no coffee in the room but I'd stand by all the good previous reviews.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 558 in London
222 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#60 of 558 in London
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#49 of 558 in London
593 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#80 of 558 in London
812 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#79 of 558 in London
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotel

Property: Macdonald Hotel
Address: 45-46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Macdonald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from King’s Cross St. Pancras, this bed and breakfast is 5 minutes’ walk from St. Pancras International Rail Station, which offers Eurostar services to Europe. Euston Rail Station is within a 15-minute walk. Oxford Circus, with Oxford’s Street’s shops, is a 5-minute tube journey away. Regent’s Park is just over a 10-minute journey from King’s Cross. Buckingham Palace and its gardens are less than 3 miles away. A full English breakfast is served at the Macdonald Hotel. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. A TV, tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer are included in each simply decorated room. Some rooms also have a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing