We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Ranked #281 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Hotel is situated in a quiet lacation near the river and westminster. Pimlico tube station is less than 5 minutes walk away. The Hotel is modern therefore as you would expect very clean. The breakfast choice is good and well presented. Maybe not great views but an superb value for money hotel in central London.
JCA01

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,015
    2,427
    627
    187
    66
See reviews for
1,109
2,632
339
1,276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

located at tower of london area and financial district. close to Fenchurch st and Leadenhall market. Fantastic tapas restaurant there on 2nd floor. must go!

hotel is contemporary and chic. views galore. roof bar/restaurant groovy! was the Mint Hotel in july 2011.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very comfortable hotel. Quiet, but close to all the main attracations that bring people to London. Ten minute walk to Westminster Abbey, Parliment

Hotel restaurant was very nice. And the bar upstairs was comfortable, quiet.

The rooms were just the right size.

The only complaint I had was the water was sometimes hot, sometimes cold. We actually stayed here two times in one week (husband had business in Oxford). The second room did not have this water problem.

The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. I can't recommend them high enough. And the cookies are worth the stay :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildchild1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed here 3 nights and it was fantastic.

I arrived early in London and thought I would throw my suitcase in to the hotel and dander around the embankment until I could check in, but to my surprise my room was ready and I was able to check in early with no problems, the freshly baked cookie on check-in really was an excellent touch.

The room was scrupulously clean and well sized. The facilities in the room were excellent and the I-macs also a nice touch although think non-techie travellers may struggle to get to grips with it. Also the hairdryer was incredibly poor.

My only complaint about my room was that I was put in a disabled room so the height of sink, toilet etc really were not suited to me at 5'8" so I imagine anyone taller would struggle, also the presence of disabled pull cords and panic button beside the bed did just that, panicked the life out of me incase I pulled it by accident.

The breakfast was fantastic as well, the surroundings were very comfortable and relaxing. The location was great, a short walk to the embankment and a manageable walk to Trafalgar Square.

The icing on the cake certainly was the staff, they just couldn't have been nicer. I was made to feel as if nothing was too much for them to do for me. Every single member I encountered were incredibly friendly and offering help for every little detail.

As a business trip this was excellent, I just could not recommend this place enough, unfortunately I cant always stretch to the cost when travelling for leisure but know I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Not a disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy23090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Can't rate the service highly enough, staff were excellent when my partner suffered food poisoning from a 5 star London restaurant. The Manager could not have been more helpful and the rest of the staff were excellent. It was so nice of them to write a wee letter and post it under the door so as not to disturb anyone. A1 will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just returned from my trip to London where I did catch up with friends. Sadly we been staying in 2 different locations mainly due to the price for the accommodation with breakfast included. As I was on the limited budged and preferred to spend my savings on shopping stayed somewhere else. As my friends stayed in your hotel few times already, I have been invited for a dinner to City Cafe and that is where the Story began.
Been greeted witch such friendly manner by Maciej. We have been offered to store our coats and shopping bags in cloakroom and smoothly escorted to the table with few options to choose. Decided on the corner table to give us the good view on the restaurant and to feel the atmosphere as per my friends is always first class. Menu has been presented, explained and the special dish recommended. Water offered and delivered soon after. Not being very hungry so went just for the main course with Fish&Chips and Steaks been ordered. The wine and sides recommendation has been pointed by Kemal what was a perfect accompaniment to the meal to boost the taste and kill the hunger. As it looked it was a busy night with no many vacant tables with the service flow very organised and smooth. We have been offered to have more bread, water and some wine and of course we went for. How can you refused as per being so well looked after. Sadly did not have time for the dessert as must to rush back to my hotel. Food, wine and service First Class indeed!

Later appeared that 2 mention people been the Restaurant Managers.Not surprised the staff have such high customer service skills having Kemal and Maciej as their mentors. Well done! More hotel restaurants as City Cafe Please!

Will come back and this time stay with you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0laO, Staff at DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Natalie P,

Many thanks for your lovely review of City Cafe. It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback. I have passed your kind comments on to Kemal, Maciej and the Team, who are delighted that you were pleased with their service.

We are greatly appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and we look foward to welcoming you back in future.

Have a nice Easter!

Kind regards,
Dola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We went here for just two nights because we got an interesting offer from our travel agency, so the price was really reasonable. Everybody at the hotel was very kind and HIGHLY efficient, at some point at the restaurant in the morning we even wondered if it wasn't too much for the poor employees, but we heard them laughing and joking in the kitchen, and decided it was probably allright.
The room, which was a standard double room, was fine, impeccably clean, and, as the hotel in general, of what we see as good taste, slightly minimalist. The bed could have been larger, and there would have been room for it.
The first morning we discovered that the light over the sink did not work as it had the night before. We decided to tell at the reception when we left, but forgot. When we returned in the evening the bulb had been changed. This, we believe, is proof that the hotel is very well managed.
We highly recommend this hotel if the area suits your needs.

Room Tip: The higher the better, the more view of the Thames the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesperbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#430 of 1,069 in London
9,391 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Address: 30 John Islip Street, London SW1P 4DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Business Hotel in London
#188 Romantic Hotel in London
#192 Family Hotel in London
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. Enjoy our famous warm Signature Chocolate Chip & Walnut Cookie welcome at the front desk, whilst also earning Hilton HHonors® points for future qualifying stays. The DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster is as close to a cultural epicentre as it is possible to get. The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Tate Britain are just a short walk away, while the West End, financial institutions & the ‘Square Mile’ in the City, South Bank and the London Eye are also within easy reach. Airy, modern rooms offer all the comforts you’d expect – and some you might not, like bottled water in your room on arrival, and complimentary high-speed internet in every room and throughout the hotel. Enjoy a drink, meal or Afternoon Tea in the informal-but-stylish atmosphere of our newly re-launched Millbank Lounge, and start your day with a hearty Full English Breakfast in our City Café. The hotel was designed with original touches we know our guests appreciate: a fresh, light contemporary design; floor-to-ceiling windows; enhanced fresh air conditioning & soundproofing for undisturbed nights. We also offer late-night room service; state-of-the-art meeting facilities; private dining rooms. So whether you’re on business or enjoying a relaxing break, DoubleTree by Hilton London – Westminster has what it takes to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Westminster
City Hotel London
City Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing