We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just right!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chamberlain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Ranked #127 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here before a flight from City Airport. So convenient and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Quiet room. Lovely breakfast.
Will use again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    416
    104
    28
    14
See reviews for
151
508
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for a weeked in Feb.Room was very clean, big and hotel done a lovely breakfast. Location was ideal. Only around the corner from the tube station, across from a starbucks and had a tesco express close by. Staff were lovely and the area was very safe. would really recomend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenchanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Me and fiancé stayed for one night at the Chamberlain Hotel. Friendly receptionist on arrival who told us that we had a free upgrade to the suites on the top floor if we wanted, fantastic! The only problem was that the lift was out of order but lucky for us, we only had a small bag and there weren't many floors. When we got in to the room we were blown away, we had our own terrace with perfect views of the Gerkin building and Tower bridge, the bathroom was immaculate with lots of free goodies. The location was perfect as the Aldgate tube station was only 5 mins walk away, there were also plenty of shops and a couple of restaurants nearby. All in all we saved £200 with the free upgrade, the only bad thing was the lift not working.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleybobs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

nice, spacious and clean hotel. WiFi included in the price. located in the City not far from Tower Hill.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iurii F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed for a Sat and Sun night in Feb in a twin room on the first floor at the front of the hotel.
The hotel has an excellent Weekend Bed and Breakfast rate compared to other London prices. It is worth contacting the hotel direct.
The room was clean, well decorated and a reasonable size. The bathroom was bright with a bath, a separate shower and a tv.
The breakfast was a combination of cold buffet and served “English” and was very good, served by helpful friendly staff in a pleasant dining area.
The hotel is less than 5 minute walk from both Tower Hill and Aldgate Tube Stations. For those who wish to travel by car there is a carpark, Minories, a 3 minute walk away that has excellent weekend rates and is outside the congestion zone.
This hotel is ideal for a reasonably priced weekend break, especially if travelling by car and I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here for the second time recently. The room was spacious and comfortably furnished, with a large bathroom, with shower cubicle and bath. Hot water was a little slow to come through and not really hot. After a long day in the office, I went for the room service menu, which was extensive and ok when it came, quite freshly made. Beds were comfortable, though the main problem came for me at the point of sleeping, which was the constant rumbling of trains every 2 minutes or so until midnight and then again from 0530, presumably from the 3 or so tube / rail stations in close proximity. I had not noticed this on my prior stay when I was on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel, so perhaps avoid the first floor. Overall an average stay because of the hot water and environment noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBristolJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Chamberlain is just lovely and a real great find! Some colleagues of me always stay here and I really don’t know why I haven’t chosen this hotel until now.
Spacious room, and bathroom, very clean and very nice in all ways. The beds were a bit hard, and there was some noise from the elevator, but most of all it was great!
But it is a Pub Hotel, and that is also what it appears to be, and the colors and furniture are quite dark. I had actually eaten there a couple of times earlier, and then I thought there was a quite “oldish” smell, but I did not notice that this time.
We had breakfast included which was nice, and I found the choices very good. Some other reviews say there is hardly anything else but the English breakfast, but there actually were several choices of bread and rolls and hams, cheeses, cereals, some cakes, yoghurt and lots of fresh fruit. Plenty to keep yourself going until dinner time. I had to leave very early Monday morning and asked if it was possible to have some sandwiches to go. They actually had no routine for it, but they fixed it nicely as well, and handed me a lovely breakfast bag as I left 
Location is great 4 minute’s walk to Tower Hill St. and a short walk to lot of places. I definitely will stay her next time as well.

Room Tip: 416, was really nice :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#84 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#145 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#43 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamberlain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlain Hotel

Property: Chamberlain Hotel
Address: 130-135 Minories, London EC3N 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chamberlain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chamberlain Hotel is your 'home away from home' in the centre of London. It is conveniently situated just North of Tower Bridge and is a short stroll to many of London’s world-famous tourist ‘hotspots’. Due to its City district location, it provides convenient access to the central business district for our business clientele. At The Chamberlain Hotel our rooms all have a welcoming feel as well as a sense of style. So no matter which room type you choose, you will feel comfortable in every space. All our stylish bedrooms combine luxurious home comforts with well-designed work essentials such as data connections & business facilities. Our objective is to give you somewhere away from the bustle of London, where you can retire, relax and reinvigorate. Hide among the bubbles in your marbled bath or simply pull your Egyptian cotton and feather duvet over your head and drift gently to sleep. The Chamberlain Restaurant is a multitude of textures and complementary tones, a perfect blend of past and present. Offering a finest selection of British modern dishes, it puts the accent on the seasonal ingredients. Discreet, personal service and a well-stocked wine cellar complement the experience.The Chamberlain Restaurant & Bar offers you another way to unwind, with a venue that ensures a relaxing atmosphere, stylish décor ideal for a business lunch or a dinner with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chamberlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamberlain Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing