We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay in London!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Ranked #61 of 792 Speciality Lodging in London
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in London!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel has a nice quiet location, just a few minutes away from Kensington Gardens. The neighborhood has many small restaurants and shops to browse around. It's also only a few blocks away from the tube station and bus routes.
The rooms were really clean and a decent size for two people. The service was excellent. We would definitely stay there again if we ever went back to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    1,221
    418
    183
    155
See reviews for
1,361
348
52
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

There were so many things wrong with this establishment I don’t know where to begin! I am VERY surprised by the positive reviews posted and can only guess that it is prompted by the offer of a free fruit basket by the apartments to post a review?

I try to only review places in which I’ve had a nice experience or those which are REALLY bad… this unfortunately falls in the latter. To say we stayed in “Fawlty Towers” (which became the running joke) would be an understatement.

We paid £400 a night during London Marathon weekend for a “6 person” apartment – originally communicated as a 2-bedroom apartment (2 per room) and the final 2 on the sofa bed. Thank goodness we opted for only 4-people per room because we were presented with a very small, pokey, not well-appointed 1 bedroom apartment with 2 pull out sofas in the lounge/kitchen area (ridiculously small for 4 women not wanting to live like a hostel/college dormitory). Multiple discussions with a very rude, argumentative front desk man got us nowhere and we knew finding something else Marathon weekend was going to be impossible. The whole thing was handled very poorly and this guy had no business being on the front desk (unlike some of the other ladies who were actually quite nice and tried to be helpful).

On to the room – another running joke quickly became what else could possibly go wrong?
• TV never worked for all 3 nights
• 2 different door handles came off
• Several dresser drawers just collapsed upon opening them
• And the most painful – the shower faucet handle would come off… one time heavily impacting top of my foot which left nasty bruise :(
• The walls were paper thin and there was a lot of noise in the complex.
• The towels are worn, fraying on the seams, and tiny (quite a giggle when size UK 8 ladies complained about the size of the towel!!)
• Carpets everywhere need replacing
• Walls are stained and marked

My general impression of apartments and complex were cheap and very basic – the professional shots are extremely deceptive as there is NOTHING polished about the décor in the 4 apartments we occupied. The reason I mention this is that prices during London Olympics will likely take a huge spike as well – you do not get what you pay for here. You can stay at some lovely central hotels for even less than £100 per person (sharing) per night normally.

I will try to end on some positives – great location in Bayswater near 2 tubes. Busy shopping street yards away. The room was actually clean (though it didn’t get “serviced” each day.) There were some toiletries in bathroom and hot water with decent pressure from the shower. A few of the staff were really very nice and helpful (really only exception was the man upon arrival).

Sorry for the lengthy post but this place was really THAT bad unless you are expected a 2-3 star university dorm-room like accommodation. If you have better taste and are will to spend a bit more, DO IT.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soshbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basilforty, General Manager at Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Just 15 minutes ago an American guest called my assistant manger to reception to say that he had stayed in 5* hotels all over the world but had never stayed in a more pleasant hotel than grand plaza from the standpoint of service and accommodation. We gave him a free fruit basket for taking the time to encourage us and asked him to post his comments on the website of his travel agency. Then we read this review where we discover that we are really so bad that for the good of mankind the reviewer has to warn people about how we are more of a joke than faulty towers and several stars short of a constellation.

I am going to respond to all the points raised.

1. No one booked 4 apartments over the marathon weekend in the same name. So whilst it is possible that a group booked 4 apartments in more than one name, one person cannot speak for two bookings. We did have a direct booking at £394 for 3 family apartments for 3 nights. We think this was actually the reviewer.

1a. 2 of the 3 family apartments booked were in our courtyard and are huge not pokey at all. They are over 450 sq feet in size. The other was in the main building and is likewise over 450 sq feet in size.

1b. The sofa beds are not the standard pull out sofabed. They are hinged butterly sofabeds that turn into a full double bed when opened.

2. We do not misrepresent the numbers of rooms in each apartment on our website (it was a direct booking). We have 2 bedroom apartments for 6 people and one bedroom family apartments for 6 people. Both types are available. Some families or hen parties or sleepover parties like the one bed flats because they are really large other like the 2 beds for privacy.

3. There are two TVs in each family apartment. So the comment TV never worked for 3 nights presumably should read a TV did not work for 3 nights. But we fix any TV that does not work, we have plenty of spare ones. Why did she not ring reception to get maintenance to replace the Basil Fawlty TV on day 1? We have 8 maintenance staff. They work really hard and that is not a joke. They work shifts from 7 am to 8 pm. The woman who booked the 3 apartments did complain twice that the TV did not work on Saturday 21 and our chief of maintenance had fixed it by 1:18 pm on Sunday 22. That is not being without a TV for 3 days. In fact with 3 apartments they had 5 TVs for 6 days and one malfunctioning TV for 1 day. In the entire hotel during the marathon weekend there were 4 faulty TVs reported all of which were fixed by the next day at the latest (we have over 400 TVs here). To be fair to the reviewer she did report the TV as broken twice, once at 4 in the morning and then again at 18:00 before we fixed it. So we must apologise for the delay there. That is probably what upset her.

4. There were no reports over the marathon weekend from any room of a door handle coming off. If it is not reported we cannot fix it. Maintenance would fix that without any difficulty as soon as it is reported.

5. Our dressers are old but really solid (italian design and manufacture) in 50% of our rooms and brand new (English design and manufacture) in the other 50%. None of these are cheap or 2-3*. We will finish the refurb before the Olympics at which point they will all be new or at most 6 months old and of UK design and manufacture. 4* deluxe quality. There were no reports of broken draws to reception in any apartment over the marathon weekend.

6. No report in any apartment of the shower fawcett handle coming off. Although that does happen from time to time. Again maintenance would fix that.

7. We won the quiet hotel of the year award in 2010 from Business Traveller Magazine! Our walls are absolutely not paper thin. They are monstrously thick in the main building as it is a regency period building. The courtyard is newly built and properly insulated. However over the weekend some guest do sometimes make too much noise, which a call to reception would fix.

8. We use the best laundry service for London hotels. They supply all our linen and towels. They supply many other top London hotels. We take their full range of towels. The previous laundry people we used had towels that were exactly the same size. Between the two of those companies most top London hotels are covered. I personally agree with her actually on this point. But there is no reputable laundry firm we have found for hotels that do towels any larger! I will look into this one a bit further. What the guest did not say is that we do laundry free in the hotel (for the first load), we have 5 washing machines and a full time attendant who does a free service wash for all our guests. We might be able to do something ourselves. I do not know if that would be feasible.

9. A sweeping generalization. We have replaced the carpets in the common parts on the first two floors. We have 4 more to do which actually are being replaced in the next few weeks.

This reviewer has little good to say about the rooms in her 3 apartments. But these have had thousands of pounds spent in refurbishment over the last 6 months. Our family rooms have just had brand new 5* headboards and brand bedside tables and bedside lamps and chests of drawers. Solidly made in the UK. Her 3 family rooms have all just been refurbished to a superb standard.

We take great care not to misrepresent our rooms with photos. We only have pictures of the new bedroom furniture in the room types which actually have it. These presently are the double and triple and family apartments. So her rooms are the best we do and the pictures show precisely what she had. The other room types will get the new pictures when we finish the refurbs for that room type.

The reviewer says there is NOTHING polished about our decor. But all the 3 apartments her group stayed in have been refurbished with highly polished walnut furniture in the last 2 months. That is the bedside cabinets the chests of drawers and the wardrobes. And our 28 maids and 4 supervisors polish the glass dining tables and coffee tables and nested tables and the drinking glasses and the kitchen work surfaces not every day but every 3 days. We do a light clean every day. That is every day for stays under 10 days. We also do a full clean polishing everything before each guest arrives.

I will let the reader decide who is the comedian here. Now perhaps I can get on with the process of taking this aparthotel from 4* to 4* deluxe before the Olympics arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

arrived in the friday ahead of the london marathon. perfect location for restaurants,hyde park,and access to everything you need.the room is perfect for the two of us and a little'un. the cookjng facilities are adequate for simple meals and well equipt. the beds are very comfy. all in all cant complain as its just the job on such a busy marathon weekend when rooms are hard to find. only one problem as we cant work the television!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingscote48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The location is very ideal with 2 tube stations on walking distance. It has a peaceful neighbourhood. The market is situated nearby too with lots of shops where you can buy from all varieties of food to souveniers. The best for us is the freely availability of Halal restaurants and Halal food markets; all close to the hotel.The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, a good heating system and a well equipped kitchen. The room service is good and efficient. The staff is co-operative. The best I like is the gallery and the least are the narrow hallways.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have galleries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YAU03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We rented a 1 bedroom apartment and it was just great! Big bathroom and great bedroom.
Wifi and broadband with excellent signal. Staff very very helpful.
Location: It's located just 4 blocks from the Bayswater tube station. Neighborhood is very quiet but still 2 blocks from a shopping mall and many bars and convenience stores.
We had a great time there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

Overall for the price of £185 per night in a family room in central London this apartment was generally ok. However some miserable, ignorant staff and four rowdy and rude work men moving six mattresses obstructing lifts and stair ways whilst trying to get to our room on arrival, did give the wrong first impression. Friendly reception, clean room, at a reasonable price in a central location did however make up for this!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Although the lobby was crowded with waiting guests and we could not get an early-check in, our stay at Grand Plaza serviced apartments was great. The configuration of the building with tons of tunnel-like hallways is frustrating to navigate with luggage...but that is where the frustration ends. Our apartment was immaculate, the linens and decor were of subtle but high-quality, the kitchenette was well-appointed, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#565 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#440 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#220 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments

Property: Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Address: 42 Prince's Square, London W2 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 792 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza apartments give you the independence and catering flexibility of your own home together with the comfort and service of a 4* hotel. Think of us as your home, but with cleaning, catering, porters and reception staff thrown in. Serviced apartments are the new direction for the hotel industry. They provide a ready made home rather than a ready made room. Each apartment has its own fully equipped kitchen. You choose whether to enjoy your own home cooking or try the Grand Plaza Breakfast or visit one of the myriad of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel (or heat up a takeaway!) Grand Plaza is the largest Hotel/Apartment complex in Bayswater. We won the 2009 award for best serviced apartments in London as a result of votes from the readers of Business Destinations Magazine. We accommodate more people each day (tourist, leisure, romantic and business) than any other Serviced Apartment Hotel in the area.We are located in the centre of the West End overlooking the precise type of garden square which Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts climbed into in the Golden Globe nominated film, Notting Hill! We look forward to providing you with a home in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing