We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Their is much better,..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel
Ranked #491 of 792 Speciality Lodging in London
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Their is much better,..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Ordered a 4 bed dorm got a 6. breaky was TERRIBLE!!!
Yeh its near the tube.. but so are cheaper hostels.. Girls at reception are rude..

Dont waste your money ITS VERY LOUD!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelemz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    100
    162
    95
    158
See reviews for
28
64
145
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Hyde Park Inn is a cosy little hostel/hotel right in the heart of Bayswater. The hotel is located just a short walk from two metro stops and just a stone's throw from Hyde Park. If you go out of the hotel and turn right, then walk for about 7 or 8 minutes, you will find a shopping street that has everything you need, including: a shops, restaurants and pubs. There is a cute little pub run by a man named Paul who is really neat - it also has great pub fare - including some huge meat pies (cost = 5.95 pounds). It.s a small, traditional pub. If you turn left and walk behind the hotel area - you will find an old carriage lane that is narrow with pretty little terraces and balconies with pretty flowers growing. At the end of the lane there is another pub which is more for the 30 something crowd - pretty busy and just hopping. If you go straight from the hotel - there is a pub called the Swan and also, of course, Hyde Park. Just a short jaunt through the park and you will be in the area with the museums, etc. Also, the subway is right there. But in London, everything is just minutes away with the excellent subway system.

Back to the hotel. Our rooms were quite small and spartan (by small, I mean a bed and space for a suitcase or two. Although our room had a small fridge, our daughters did not (perhaps you could request one). We also had a television, in room safe and a really nice bathroom. The bedding and towels were clean and fresh. My husband collects beer glasses and left them on the surface by the tv. We had left the room and headed out. I returned to the room for a moment and found the housecleaning staff clearing out the glasses. I explained that they were our glasses and not from the bar downstairs, so luckily I got them back. I would suggest putting things like this in your suitcase, so as to avoid confusion. The girl was from another country and hardly spoke English - I guess she was just trying to do a good job.

Breakfast was included. Although they serve the same food each day (we stayed there for 8 days), there is a fair amount of variety, so that you can try something different each day. There were potatoes, bangers (sausages - pretty tasty), stuffed mushrooms, blood pudding (quite tasty),eggs, some whole grain breads, pastries, cheeses, cereals - including porridge,as well as fresh fruit. Tea, juice, coffee was also available and served at your table, or you can serve yourself.

The reception staff changed as we were there. Just like anywhere else, you get some friendly staff and some who are more reserved. But I will say that they were efficient and professional.
All in all, we had a good stay, our location was excellent, the room was adequate for the price we paid and breakfast was substantial.

I would like to add that there are a couple of little grocery stores just down the street to your left. There is also the most awesome (best Greek restaurant I have ever been to) Greek restaurant I have ever been to. I will need to find the name. When you enter, there are long narrow tables all connected. You will be seated by other people, so if you want an intimate dining experience, this is not the place. But if you like to chat and perhaps even share some food, this is where you want to be. We (4 of us) ordered the sampler platter for 4. They started with a pickle tray and some humous. Then the food kept coming! I did not think they would ever stop. Everything was so delicious. At the end of the meal our waiter/cook brought us some Turkish delight (delicious). It was a rather generous portion. I was wrapping up a couple of leftover pieces to take away and the owner saw me. He came running over with a whole container of Turkish delight for me, telling me that it was his grandmother's recipe. Anyway, needless to say, I had a whole lot of Turkish delight to take back to the room. I want to definately go back there some day.

Room Tip: This hotel is located in a quiet area. There are several little rowhouses that have been converted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3stars1wish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Excellent neighborhood. The hostel is very cheap so I didn't expect anything excellent. The breakfast is very poor (but again, what pretend with this prices?). We were 5 people in a 6 bedroom room for two night. We shared it with two different people. Every bed has his own blind so a minimum of privacy is guaranteed. Our room was downstair without emergency exit so I didn't feel very safe in case of fire. Toilet and shower are shared with the other rooms. In my floor we had one toilet and one shower for three rooms. The toilet is cleaned every hour (even in the night) but it is difficult to find them clean because of the huge amount of people using it.
Anyway, if you don't have problem and you don't want to spend a lot, this is a good solution.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antuneleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dokkum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

On the 3 days that i stay they did not clean the floor
The breakfast was ok
If you are searching for a budget place this is the right place

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regenb00g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here with 4 friends during the NFL Wembley weekend.
Arrived to be told our room was on the top floor with no option of a lift. A 74 step trip did little to help our 1st impressions.
The room had 2 bunks & a single & was swelteringly hot, largely thanks to hot water pipes running around one wall & a tiny window.
The view from the window consisted of the back of another hotel, in front of discarded toiletries & even clothes from previous occupants.
The beds were very small, with barely enough room to roll over, a thin mattress & 1 pillow.
The room itself was unclean behind & under the beds with more discarded items. There was only 2 power points accessible, with a further 2 blocked by a set of bunks.
The nearest toilet & shower were in a room with a high step up to the cubicle & lavatory that would become slippery after a shower & was a hazard. The shower was weak & very difficult to maintain a constant temperature. The next nearest shower to our room was in its own room, but was stone cold.
Bizarrely, we had to bring our own linen down at the end of our stay or we would forfeit our deposits.
On the plus side, the hostel is in a nice area of London, with access to a busy high street & good tube links. However, even coupled with the low price, this wasn't enough of a saving grace.
Even as a base to simply leave your belongings, sleep, get clean & explore the city from, I could not in good faith recommend staying here unless you had no other option.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveWBhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I chose it basically for the neighborhood, (Bayswater is on a walking distance to Notting Hill and Kensington Park, High St Kensington and its museums, a couple of blocks away from the tube - watch out, because some Circle line stations are closed during the summer due to renovations) and its price. But, honestly I would have preferred to pay a bit more, and get cleaner bathrooms/ toilets. The kitchen is not equipped, unless you leave a deposit to get pans and other kitchen stuff. Basically, if you are just looking to save, this is your place. But don't expect more.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Only positive from this hostel is that the 12 bed dorms on ground floor are very spacious. However 6 bed dorms are very cramped.
This place is THE WORST HOSTEL we have ever stayed in, I'm being nice leaving out the profanity. Kitchen was a disgrace and building patch jobs were less than perfect, ie non working lights and lack of hot water. Just a general feeling and appearance of staying in a partially condemned building filled to capacity. Front desk not very friendly, tried to extend stay and charged a lot more than web prices. This place has potential, but if you can spare a few extra pounds go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shez222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#404 of 792 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
RestUp London
#424 of 792 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#128 of 792 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#42 of 792 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel

Property: Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel
Address: 48-50 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #491 of 792 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 165 yrd from Bayswater Underground Station and Hyde Park, Smart Hyde Park Inn offers budget dormitories with free WiFi access throughout. There is a spacious shared kitchen and 24-hour front desk. Set in a grand period property, the large dormitories have elegant decor and original features. There are plenty of shared bathroom facilities, and guests can use a hairdryer and ironing facilities. Smart Hyde Park features a common room with comfortable seating, computers and a flat-screen TV. There is also a modern kitchen with an oven, refrigerator and microwave, and continental breakfasts are served daily. Smart Hyde Park Inn is a 20-minute walk from Marble Arch and Oxford Street. Lively Soho is a 40-minute walk from the building, and the famous Leicester Square is a 10-minute Tube ride away. Westminster is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping, Theater and Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing