We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't reccomend this!”
Review of Home London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home London
Ranked #507 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This hostel is horrible, we had cold showers, female bathroom was closed for all the time we spend there so we had to use unisex one which was right next to the cramped kitchen so in the evenings we had to face to drunk people when we wanted to have a shower. We had also problem to find a place to sit on breakfast, kitchen was messy. Once we saw the lady cleaning and her boss had to show her how to do it well so I donť really think she cleans is properly. That confirms the shock we had just we arrived - beds with old dirty sheets, we asked the receptionist to change it but she argued that it was clean(bed was not even tidy!!!) so we had to show her. The stuff is all spanish except the boss and on the reception there was always some group of their friends drinking and playing loud music till late night. At the end two of us got very ugly rush so we suppose there are badbugs!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katerina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCrossOperations, Front Office Manager at Home London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Guest,
we regret that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.The female showers were closed during your stay as they are going through a full refurbishment.Rooms,bathrooms and common areas are serviced regularly during the day,we are unable however to ensure that all guests behave in a respectful way (even know we try to implement it at all times) and clean after themselves and stay in their appointed beds.We hope you will reconsider staying with us to see for yourself the new improvements and renovations that have been done on the building.
We send our best regards
Journeys Kings Cross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

The youth hostel is a very good location, within walking distance of King's Cross train station & there's places to eat/food shop very close by. Staff were friendly enough, there is free wi-fi, connection questionable! & a free breakfast. Rooms were v. v. cramped & had a smell, also I'd recommend using the wash room to have a wash, not the shower room. I'd recommend it if your planning on somewhere for a night to stay & your planning on leaving the next morning asap.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCrossOperations, Front Office Manager at Home London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.We are currently renovating many of the rooms, bathrooms and common areas in the hostel.We are reducing the number of beds in some of the rooms to increase spaciousness.We have also boosted the cover and speed of the wifi. We hope to be able to host you again in a near future in our renovated and improved hostel.
We send you our best regards
Journeys Kings Cross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

seriously. don't stay here. a friend and I were booked here for four nights and lasted one. there's a difference between "rough around the edges" and "appalling." that difference seems to come when there's blood on someone's sheets, which this place had.

we were in a 17 bed room that was smaller than any other dorms I've stayed in. beds are stacked 3 high and the first bed is maybe 3 inches off the ground. I was in one of the bottom beds, right next to the door, and got maybe 3 hours of sleep because people were banging in and out all night. also, it's loud. at 3 am, there were still people having a singalong in the kitchen, and the walls are paper thin so I heard it all.

the only good thing? we got a full refund for the three nights we bailed on. also, free wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emiruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We arrived before check in and stored our luggage while we waited to check in. The luggage room was damp and smelly. Found it hard to bring our 50 lb suitcase down the narrow stairs. Stayed for 4 nights. On the third day they told us we needed to put our belongings in the luggage room for the day so that they could do maintenance. When we arrived later that night we had no curtains on our bed and didn't for the remainder of our stay. The showers in the female shower room are tiny. No room to get changed and the water was FREEZING! Downstairs where the kitchen and common room are was always really hot and a little crowded though. Overall it was not horrible. Everything seemed clean enough. Can't complain for the price.

Room Tip: Bring a lock for your luggage as there is no secure place to put your luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juni1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

It's a centrally located hostel, close by King's Cross. The staff were really friendly and service-minded, but we didn't realize that the tiny 17-bed dormroom was located in the cellar (along with the kitchen, common room, etc.)...The beds are stacked on top of each other, three in a row. I ended up sleeping in a middle one and I couldn't sit up straight without hitting my head in the bed above me. We ended up spending as little time as possible at the hostel; it was just too depressing staying under ground like that. I can't say anything about the other rooms though, because we did choose the cheapest alternative and probably got what we payed for. I would suggest you booked your own room here if possible, because this was not a very pleasant experience. I got claustrophobic feels and I'm not even sensitive about those kind of things.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laminatedinlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Not sure where to start, even by budget hostel standards this place is grim. The staff on the desk are rude and slow to help. The bed sheets were covered in blood stains. There was no hot water in the showers. The Wifi doesn't work. Failed on pretty much every count.

Awful, please don't stay here.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights. there were 3 of us in a 3 bed dorm, so it was private. the room was very small, but the beds weren't as uncomfortable as i had expected.

being close to kings cross is great for getting around, it was only a 2 minute walk, but not a journey that i would want to make after dark. the area seemed ok, but got worse at night. just a few winos hanging around etc.

kings cross is the start point of the eurostar to paris and was the main reason for choosing this hostel, as we had to catch a 5am train.

the place was clean, but not fancy. there is no lift, just narrow stairs. the reception was NOT 24 hours, there was often a 'back in 5 min' sign on the desk and the staff, although mostly friendly were usually drunk or high and often arrogant/rude. the front door is locked with a code access, which is good, however the code is a number that counts upwards everyday and that means anyone can get back in if they can count. the bedrooms also have codes - these do not change.

it is dry so NO ALCOHOL allowed, which gave it an atmosphere of calm, so it seemed safer.

the communal area in the basement was clean and the kitchen was modern. i never felt comfortable to spend any time there as there seemed to be many long term residents there and it felt like i was invading their space. the luggage storage was disapointing - a hole in the cellar wall behind a locked door. anyone can ask for the key and get things from it unsupervisd when ever they want. i did not want to leave my things there, but had to so i locked all my things up with padlocks.
on arrival they told us there would be no hot water for the next 24 hours, which was annoying. when we did get to have showers, they were ok. clean enough, but not always hot.

all the doors in the building creak and bang shut, so this made alot of noise through the night, although the other guests themselves were quiet.

our room was cleaned everday, they vaccumed and made the beds, emptied trash but did not change sheets.

this is a good place for people that are young and easygoing. i wouldnt reccomend to older people, or those that want comfort.


there are no curtains on the 3 high bunk beds. no in room storage for your things. only a reading lamp for each person.

no bed bugs
no creepy crawleys

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 26andcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park
Gallery Hyde Park
#540 of 923 in London
115 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#61 of 923 in London
2,144 reviews
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#68 of 923 in London
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#318 of 923 in London
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home London

Address: 54-58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England (Formerly Journeys Kings Cross Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #507 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $23 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home London 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish backpacker’s accommodation located 1 minute from Kings Cross and a half an hour’s walk along the beautiful Regent’s canal to Camden’s famous market, bars and nightclubs Our vibrant social areas are ideal for meeting like-minded travellers and the occasional jam session. The kitchen’s well equipped with FREE tea and coffee and the lounge is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and a great library of books and DVDs all free of charge. Dorm beds each with their own power, light, set of curtains and lockers are available for security. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double or twin rooms have a large, comfy double bed, desk, tea and coffee set, flat screen TV, DVD player and safe. FREE high speed WiFi is provided throughout the whole building as well as a great FREE breakfast which includes all you can eat pancakes. King’s Cross Station is 1 minute away providing fast connections around London and its airports and Eurostar Service.The British museum is a 20-minute walk away and Oxford Street is just 10 minutes by tube. Home London requires valid ID for all guests; you will be asked to provide this on arrival. Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms after 2pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home London, however, we do require that some form of valid photo identification is presented upon check in, preferably a Passport, I.D. card or driving license. We will require a £10 cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys back to reception. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests aged 18 years and older. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old travelling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit of £250 (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. £10 min charge for card payments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Home London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing