We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad!”
Review of Home London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Home London
Ranked #497 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Whilst the security is pretty good, and the location fantastic thats about where it ends.

The girl below us on the bunk brought a guy in at 6am and proceeded to have sex with no regard for those sleeping above. This just ruined the end of our trip.

The male bathrooms / showers are on the top floor so quite a walk, also the shower doors are not frosted so prepare yourself for an army style shower experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCrossOperations, Front Office Manager at Home London, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. We can't always control guests' behaviour but if disruptive behaviour is brought to the attention of staff we always try and deal with it. We have refrosted the glass after our previous frosting stickers came off and appologise for that issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here our last night in London. It was a bit hectic during meal hours but enough room to sprawl out the other times. The dorm beds were stacked three high so try to get the top or bottom or else be ready to deal with shaking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastleTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Well, people are weird, what are you exactly looking for ? I hope not a 5 star hotel because this ain't it ! I personnaly though it was good, cheap , good location, really nice staff , ok the place isn't THAT good , but still, be nice ! you got a bed, some WIFI, an ok breakfast, and you're in LONDON ! So what's the complaint ?! Seriously, I liked it ! I may not come back but staff was adorable with me, might make me come back :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rock-n-roll-babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Yeah it’s basic but I swear most of the people slating this place must have ridiculous expectations and not stayed in hostels before. This is one of the better hostels out there and if you need a base in Brighton you can’t go wrong for what this costs you. There were 4 of us. It was generally clean, the beds are comfy enough to get a decent nights sleep. The staff were excellent and the lounge downstairs was useful. but if you’re not used to sharing rooms and bathrooms with strangers then don’t book this then come online slating it - they don’t deserve a poor online reputation just because you hadn’t a clue what to book for yourself or thought you had some crazy bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

It is perfect to be so close to the station, and there is tesco and good food and coffee options just around you. There is a bed, a shower and a place to eat. And if that is all you need, then this can make do. But other than that, everything else was bad, bad, bad.

The dorm room was so small, we had to coordinate who got to open their suitcase next, and we were 5 friends, taking up an entire dormroom for ourselves, and yet we were too close for comfort, so to share with strangers might be an experience! Also, not place to store things in the rooms. You couldn't hang out in the room, as the bunk-beds were to low to sit in, and there was only enough floorspace for 2 people to sit comfortably.
Also, you have to step on the other beds to get up to the top bunkbeds.

The kitchen was less than equipped: You had to guess if the stove was on or off, and we had to make our soup in a wobbly frying pan. Furniture was fine, though.

We didn't hang much out with the staff, but I am sure they were nice, they invited us to drinks, and they welcomed us when we arrived at 4am, though they were of few words.

The showers were much as you could expect for the price and it was ok. Very public though! It is glass doors to each shower, and there are 2 showers in the same room, and no locks. I think it was unisex.

Cleaning? I don't think they've heard that word! When we arrived, sheets were missing from some of the beds (all unmade), and there was a strangers suitcase (we had booked the entire dorm room), which the staff removed upon our request (very small room, not room for extra suitcases). We had much fun with trying to guess what had happened to the suitcase-owner, since she left her case, her half mug of coffee, her sweater, the half pack of pringles spread out under the beds, and her book-marked book about disappearances in European capitals (very suspicious coincidence!) It is very possible that she turned into dust, as there was about as much dust in the window to form a human being.
And this level of maintenance was seen through out the hostel.

This is ultimately the worst hostel I have ever even heard of, but we had a lot of fun trying to make do in such primitive conditions: Sort of like living in your home-build Bivouac shelter.
So bad it was an adventure in it self! ;) We don't regret staying there, how could we, it was part of out amazing week in London. But when my brother asked me if he should book it when he went to London, I laughed and refused to do that to him.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCrossOperations, Front Office Manager at Home London, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear guest, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience. However your experience is not typical - space is obviously limited given that we a central london low-cost hostel and there's only so much we can do about a minority of impolite other guests. However shower facilities and kitchen facilities have recently been upgraded, and cleaners are on site from 6am-10pm ensuring cleaning is up to a high standard. We are cheap, clean, sociable and well located and for these reasons we remain popular and have so many return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

this hostel is out of the way and it is cramped in the dorms. the people here are unfriendly and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCrossOperations, Manager at Home London, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Customer,
We take pride in the fact that we have friendly and helpful staff. We are centraly located near kings cross station and just 5-10 mins from most central locations. We have busy dorms and less busy ones according to the price paid. Which is very competitive. We are also renovation the hostel so there is many new areas. We apoligise if you had a less than perfect stay and would ask you to email us at kingscross@visitjourneys to tell us more about the issues you had so we can correct them.
Thanks
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I was surprised how nice this hostel is. Apparently it has undergone a renovation and it looked really good. The hostel is right near to Kingscross and the staff were really friendly and helpful. It had a nice lounge and free wifi.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank martin z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCrossOperations, Front Office Manager at Home London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear Guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We are continuing with the renovations on various levels,so we hope we will be able to host you again in a near future so you can take full advantage of all the improvements that we are making on the building.
We send you our best regards
Journeys Kings Cross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Keystone House
#490 of 908 in London
322 reviews
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#66 of 908 in London
637 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#529 of 908 in London
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 908 in London
2,119 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home London

Address: 54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England (Formerly Journeys Kings Cross Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $20 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home London 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish backpacker’s accommodation located 1 minute from Kings Cross and a half an hour’s walk along the beautiful Regent’s canal to Camden’s famous market, bars and nightclubs Our vibrant social areas are ideal for meeting like-minded travellers and the occasional jam session. The kitchen’s well equipped with FREE tea and coffee and the lounge is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and a great library of books and DVDs all free of charge. Dorm beds each with their own power, light, set of curtains and lockers are available for security. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double or twin rooms have a large, comfy double bed, desk, tea and coffee set, flat screen TV, DVD player and safe. FREE high speed WiFi is provided throughout the whole building as well as a great FREE breakfast which includes all you can eat pancakes. King’s Cross Station is 1 minute away providing fast connections around London and its airports and Eurostar Service.The British museum is a 20-minute walk away and Oxford Street is just 10 minutes by tube. Home London requires valid ID for all guests; you will be asked to provide this on arrival. Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms after 2pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home London, however, we do require that some form of valid photo identification is presented upon check in, preferably a Passport, I.D. card or driving license. We will require a £10 cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys back to reception. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests aged 18 years and older. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old travelling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit of £250 (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. £10 min charge for card payments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Home London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing