We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't fault it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Ranked #369 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I can't fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I have to visit London a lot for business and trying to find a decent place to stay with its own bathroom (!) is a bit of a chore so I'm pretty happy about finding this place. I stay here whenever I come down to London now. The location is pretty good, although not especially scenic (not that you come to London for pretty views out of the window though) Bank station is only 5 minutes on the DLR, which are every couple of minutes.

The rooms I've stayed have all been spacious, spotlessly clean with amazing hot power showers. The staff are polite & efficient.The breakfast is OK, but I've paid a lot more for a lot worse. I had some lovely Pain au chocolat last time I was there though which were gorgeous!

The only niggle I've had with this place is paying for WIFI, I really think that could be included in the price, or at least the first 30 minutes or something.

I'll definitely be going back next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flockedwallpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a review on the Trip advisor website for the Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much. I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    437
    176
    33
    22
See reviews for
266
221
49
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zoetermeer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Of course we don't expect much of the HI Express, but it was worse than that. If the rooms were dirty as well, it would've gotten 1 star.
Staff tries to be helpful, but just keeps on failing miserably, suggestions come too late, solutions are creating more hassle, and breakfast is dreadful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank es_vale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
24th November 2011

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London Limehouse.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel is good. It's clean, it's friendly- the breakfast is good.
We came before check inn time, but no problem there- the lady in the front desk, just had us moved to another room, and we where in our room just 5 minutes after we arrived.

DLR will take you to bank in 5 minutes, and from there you can catch almost every tubeline.

Breakfast wasn't great- but it was good-- both worm and could meals.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StineMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have to say although there was nothing bad about this hotel I was seriously underwhelmed by it. Although it was in a great location to the city and most routes, (I won't hold them accountable for DLR being closed all weekend.)
When we arrived our room had an overpowering smell of smoke, we were allowed to change rooms immediately, however our new room still had a lingering smell of cigerette smoke coming through the air vents so we had to keep the windows shut and close the bathroom door to combat this. The room was very basic, although for what we paid I can't complain as it was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was poor however we decided to get up early to makew the most of our day so went down at 7.30 when it began. I was looking for to a full English but was greeted with sausage, scrambled eggs, and beans, that was it.
The following day we got up a little later to the same sausage, beans and scrambled eggs plus bacon this time. Not a major complaint but I bit more stuff would be nice I don't get up too late otherwise you'll struggle to find a table. No restaurant but takeaways within walking distance and bar was minimal. All in all this hotel was no better than average and I would only stay there again because of the great location and decent price. You'll really get what you paid for here.

Room Tip: Good views from the 7th floor. Our view was of the concrete plant which is right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rage83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had a morning flight from London City Airport and stayed the previous night at this hotel. Only 5 mins walk from Limehouse DLR with easy access from central London and to the Airport.
Room was adequate as was the breakfast, without being spectacular. If flying form LCY again, I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Mr. Bracknell,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback . I hope that others will find it very useful for their own travel plans.
We would be happy to welcome you back with us in the near future.
Kind regards,

Christina Viets
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I'm just back from a six day stay at this hotel having been here before. We were very pleased with the rate (£68 per night) and I'd stay here again in the future - with the same rate. The only downside is that the breakfast is fine for a couple of days but, beyond that, it becomes less to look forward to. It probably wouldn't hurt to replace the sausages with bacon every two days or so and maybe fried eggs could stand in for the scrambled version occasionally.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buckmagueejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Buckmagueejee,
Thank you for leaving the feedback for you 2nd stay with us. You will be very happy to know that all over the UK the Holiday Inn Express is enrolling a new breakfast selection within the next couple of weeks. The new additions will include a selection of fresh fruit, cheese and cream cheese and new cereals. We take pride in the hotel and services we offer and are constantly looking into ways to improve it. The best tool we can get is your feedback so please keep them going.
Warm Regards,

Christina Viets
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I had no major problems with this hotel: the room was modern, clean and bright; the breakfast was big and served at convenient hours; the staff was nice. However, the London Underground closures (part of a big refurbishment in the lead-up to the Olympics) made the hotel very difficult to get to. With the closures, it took us 45-60 minutes to reach any main tourist sites in Central London. (If the District/Circle lines are closed, take the DLR from the Limehouse station near the hotel out to Canary Wharf, then transfer to the Underground's Jubilee line.) The staff people tried to help, but perhaps the management should work on learning the bus routes in the area, since the tube is having so many weekend closures. The #15 bus goes right from Limehouse to Trafalgar Square, stopping at other sites like St. Paul's on the way, and it only took 30 minutes at night (the desk guy cautioned that it could be much slower during daytime traffic). The bus runs after midnight under the name N15, if the tube closes on you. If you buy a London Travelcard, you can use it on the bus, Underground, and DLR.

The silver lining of the difficult location was that we got to see a part of London that's off the beaten track. The nearby Canary Wharf area, home to young financiers, is full of shiny new buildings mixed with old brick warehouses, and the hotel is very close to the Museum of London Docklands, which is fascinating for history buffs and fun for kids. (The actual neighborhood right around the hotel is rather barren, but the Limehouse DLR stop is a very short walk away.)

The hotel's price is very good for London, so it's nice to know it's available. However, if you're hoping to see the downtown sights, it might be worth the extra money to stay a bit closer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExLimehouse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Christine_U,

Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving such a detailed description of the stay as well tips on travelling and sight seeing.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we can welcome you back here in the future.

As you already mentioned there are rail replacement works taking place on most of the weekends. We are happy that Bus Number 15 goes all the way from Limehouse Station to Central London. Unfortunately not many other buses do go this far, and therefore are not suitable to reach the tourist attractions.
However, our front desk team are always there to look up alternative travel routes.

Once more I would like to express my gratitude on behalf of the whole team.

Best Regards,
Christina Viets
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Address: 469-475 The Highway, London E1W 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Family Hotel in London
#357 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse hotel, 5 minutes' walk from Limehouse DLR and 5 miles from London-City Airport. The modern Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse lies just outside the City of London and the Congestion Charge zone in the East London district of Limehouse. It's just a short walk to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) links for 20-minute journeys to central London and London-City Airport. The Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse's 4 meeting rooms can be tailored to meetings for up to 20 people. You can hop on the DLR train for 5 minutes to Canary Wharf and Bank stations, and get to exhibitions and conferences at ExCel exhibition centre in just 13 minutes. There's wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Drive just 10 minutes to The O2 arena in Greenwich for live music and entertainment. You can buy a London Travelcard to get to the city's sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing