We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite astonishingly good”
Review of The Five Fields

The Five Fields
Ranked #62 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$69 - US$101
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
Description: Chef Patron Taylor Bonnyman, working in collaboration with Head Chef Marguerite Keogh, offer elegant and playful modern British cooking with an emphasis on native British artisanal produce. Having worked in some of the finest kitchens in London, New York, and Paris the kitchen brings together its influences to create contemporary, seasonally focused, and ingredient led dishes. The food balances luxurious indulgence with delightfully fresh simplicity.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Quite astonishingly good. As you would expect its not cheap (particularly if you have the tasting menu with the fleet of wines) but every mouthful is a delight, every sip an education and as a result it is entirely worth it.
At a restaurant of this quality you expect the service to be faultless. It is.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Selkie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2018

My wife and I chose Taylor Bonnymans restaurant as a special treat for our visiting Dutch friends Marian and Hans.They have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in Europe and were mightily impressed.We went for the tasting menu and matching wines and what a choice it was! The food was exquisite, balanced by wonderful wines presented and described by such an enthusiastic and knowledgeable Sommelier. Front of house led by Jason is discreet,efficient,friendly and very professional. This was the best meal that I have had since I last visited Five Fields.
Please do not believe an ageing trencherman who thinks his taste buds are also maturing gracefully! treat yourself because that is exactly what dinner here is.

Mike D

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank mikedT1783YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

This meal was faultless. Each dish was memorable and service was friendly and professional. The meal began with extra taster morsels which were beautifully presented. They set the standard for what was to follow. We had the three course dinner. The menu is interesting because main flavours are given, but there is little description of the dish. This preserves an element of surprise for when the dish arrives. My aubergine starter was soft and rich with sharper berry flavours too. I had a taste of my husbands foie gras which was delicious and beautifully presented. My venison was the star as far as presentation was concerned with shards of pumpkin and jewel like rich colours. Deserts were also fairly spectacular. My soufflé was delayed and after a polite apology we were served with an extra sweet from the taster menu to fill our time! We had already enjoyed a small, perfectly balanced orange amuse bouche so three desserts might be considered excess. We ate them all because they were irresistible!
We had wine by the glass and both the New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc and the Merlot were good value at about £9 and £7.50 a glass.
Altogether this meal was a total treat. Chairs were padded and comfortable, the dishes were not only delicious but looked like art work and the service was smooth and professional. This is not a stuffy restaurant. Thank you to Five Fields for a meal I will remember. We did have some difficulty booking a table but it was worth persevering.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank CatherinePassmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

In a city filled with incredible dining options, Five Fields is top of the tops. A lovely room with subdued chic style is the setting for impeccable yet warm, friendly service and a symphony of gastronomic delights. We were completely elated with our experience and can’t recommend this place highly enough.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank PWB9112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Its all about the service! Outstanding in every area. Enjoyed the tasting menu which just kept coming with all the extras! A memorable 25th Anniversary night.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank davep0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Five Fields also viewed

 

Been to The Five Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing