We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Real lack of attention to detail” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Apartments

Fox Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox Apartments
Ranked #191 of 820 Speciality Lodging in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real lack of attention to detail”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

As we were going to a show at ExCeL we caabot fault the location. Just across the road.

What lets this down is the real lack of attention to detail. No one to greet us,we had to wait for someone from the Fox bar and it was his first check in. We were greeted with a demand for £100 deposit for the keys! No mention of this in the terms ww had received.

The washing machine hadn't been emptied neither had the dishwasher. The teatowel left for us was dirty. All the windows need a good clean inside and out and a cigarette end was left on the windowsill. Upstairs the spacious bedrooms could have done with one chair in the room, the second bedroom - double and two twins doesn't have any curtains at the window. The other bedroom has four lights, two of which did not have working bulbs in.

The hot water tank was far too small - one shower and there was no hot water left. Half an hour later still no hot.

Tap on the bowl leaks down the back and there were a couple of bathroom tiles missing.

All of these apart from the water are relatively small things but all together add up to a disappointing stay and the feeling that the management have let things go.

The apartments are spacious. Just don't book a four bed one expecting that. You get two two bed ones and we did ask for the joining door to be opened but for whatever reason it wasn't.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yetiandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
HONG KONG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2008

We stayed at the Fox Apartments in March when going to an event at the O2 arena which was only 20 minutes away by tube (even thought I reckon I could have swam there quicker as it is just in the other side of the river).

There was loads of space for the 5 of us and Liane (the manager) was excellent in helping us find our way around. Shame that there was no Sky Sports to watch thefootball on but there was the pub along from the apartments where we could watch the game.

Free WiFi worked well and the kitchen had all the stuff we needed. Could do with a little more duvets for firends :-)

Joe B

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — showers
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JOEBANANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

This is the second time we have stayed at the Fox Apartments. The first time was a couple of years ago when the apartments had just been developed. The apartments are very spacious and contemporary, home from home. We were really looking forward to returning; unfortunately we were disappointed and would not return a third time.

Simple housekeeping had been overlooked, the bin in the kitchen was full from previous occupants, there was not enough cups nor towels (3 for 5 of us). The DVD player was missing from the lounge, when we enquired the management could not have been less interested, indeed a male member of staff did not even look up from his laptop to address us! How rude!

There has been a small overflow from the sink in the cloaks which has resulted in the paintwork looking scruffy but this has been overlooked.

I think the management have got quite complacent and don't deserve the custom.

Be aware of the location, this is quite a journey into the city, approx 45 mins and is quite expensive for the Tube tickets each day.

Since staying at Fox we have stayed in a similar apartment in Manchester ( Blue Rainbow Apartments) which provided us with milk, fruit, fresh bread, tea, coffee, dressing gowns and toiletries. After Fox this was really refreshing. I’m sure Fox could provide the same standard with just a little effort.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank molsandpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

We booked the hotel from the EXCEL website.
Payment and booking was smooth.

When we arrived we were greeted most pleasantly by one of the newly hired staff. We got information about the apartment and they gave us a complementary card with discounts to the nearby restaurants/ bar.

Standard:
Being a European I do not understand why they use carpets and not hardwood floor on standard rooms.

The standard appeared to be good at first glance until I opened the door to the balcony while holding only the door handle. The handle was lose and therefore it was difficult to close the door from the inside.
The door handle to the closet was lose but i tighten it with my leather man tool.
The one bathroom have had a water leak so the wooden floor was bulky and missing some wooden bits. (No logic in having wood on a bathroom)
Aperently they were aware of all these problems! (Why not fix it)

However these issues was no major problems for us to live with but for the price paying i expected this to be fiexed or given a discount on price. This might be a one time thing but i think this is a bit sloppy and many small problems is sadly making it wrinkly my nose.

The managment.
I am sorry, but i am most disepointed.
We could atleast have gotten a smile from you spending 1200 UK£ on staying with you. I also missed a greeting or a question just asking how we enjoyed our self. But when the staff and the leaders are more interested in looking at their PC screen than to look me in the eyes when they speak to me i sadly feel they do not apriciate our staying there. Not even a "thank you for staying here"

FOX BAR.
Great atmosephere.. But amature bartenders.
Some of the staff was frustrated / angry because they did not know the cash register. The pouring of the drinks was all over the table and 1/2 of it was in the glass. When picking up the drink your fingers and hands were stuck to the glass by all the spilling of the glass.

John.C Kristiansen
Real-estate broker.
Norway

  • Liked — My company and the space of the apartment.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NorwayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

My husband and I came across Fox Apartments online while we were looking for holiday accommodation for our visit to London. Normally we stay in brand name hotels that we are used to, but the idea of staying in a glamorous converted warehouse that we could never afford to live in was simply too tempting!

Happily, the apartment was exactly as it looked on the company's website - just beautifully converted old warehouses, fitted out with very modern fixtures and fittings, and very tastefully furnished. The apartment was incredibly spacious - the one we were in could easily and comfortably have accommodated two couples. Important for me (I may be the pickiest person on the planet), the place was immaculately clean - and a lot of thought had clearly gone into ensuring that everything we could possibly need was supplied.

You should be aware however that the apartments are not in central London - you couldn't expect this kind of space in the middle of London! But don't be daunted by getting around London - it's very easy to get around either by cab or by train (and the underground is within a few minutes walk of the apartments).

So, if you want to be seconds from central London, then this isn;t the place for you. If you're looking for more space, more value for money and a real place to chill out after a hard day's sightseeing (don't forget the Imperial War Museum!) or a night on the town, then this is a great option to consider. Our trip to London was awesome, in large part due to our relaxing and stunning "home".

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and beautifully decorated accommodation. London!
  • Disliked — Leaving it and returning to my own miserable condo!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamiaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#536 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#271 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#301 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
East End / East London
Good Hotel London
Good Hotel London
#653 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#443 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Apartments

Property: Fox Apartments
Address: Warehouse K | Western Gateway, Excel Centre, London E16 1DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 820 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fox Apartments are located in the Royal Docks of London next to the ExCeL International Conference & Exhibition Centre. Whether you are looking for a place to stay whilst working in the Canary Wharf area or looking for a holiday apartment next to one of the official venues for the 2012 Olympic Games, our apartments offer a value for money alternative to the nearby hotels.The original building is 170 years old and our beautifully furnished apartments have been converted with elegance and comfort in mind. Each apartment has over 100 square metres of space set over 2 floors. Naturally, all of the items you usually have at home from a kettle to a washing machine are provided and we have a great FREE WIFI service also.Being 15 minutes from both the O2 and London City Airport means that you can arrive late in the afternoon and still make it to your concert on time.Try us and see why we are quite simply the best apartments in London's Docklands ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing