We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful little hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Britannia Court Hotel
Ranked #292 of 561 London B&B and Inns
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2006

My sister and I stayed here in May 2006 for 11 nights. We stayed in a triple (1 twin, 1 double bed)on the 2nd floor facing the street.(We requested facing the street because we both enjoy the noises of activity and traffic!) French doors that opened onto a small balcony made it even more enjoyable. Our room was quite large and very clean. The room had an old dresser with lots of drawers, a roomy wardrobe, a small set of shelves, and a wingchair. The TV was on the set of shelves instead of being set on a high neck-craning wall mount. The beds were very comfortable, and you can get extra pillows on request. Also, the towels were changed every day.

The bathroom was quite large with a tub/shower. No counters but a low shelf along one wall to hold toiletries. The sink was actually in the room. The shower was quite powerful. The only quibbles we had with the bath were the slow-draining tub, and the fact the water sometimes took 2-3 minutes to get warm.

The staff were incredibly wonderful! One of the desk clerks, a sweet and vivacious Italian girl, helped us so much during our stay! We had great talks with her, and with another desk clerk, who again, went out of his way to help us. Later in our stay, we met the owner Naomi, a very funny and no-nonsense American who offered to look up information on her computer for us. And don't forget Sho-Mei (sp?) an elderly German Shepherd mix rescued from the streets. It was such a joy to be able to pet her every morning and evening.

Wonderful breakfast! May not be Full English, but you get plenty-juice, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, choice of breads and cheeses, boiled egg. Breakfast room is very small so get down early if you don't want to wait.

The area is great. 5 min. walk to Kensington Gardens and only 2 min. walk to Bayswater Tube Station. And for older or arthritic people, this station is on the District and Circle Lines, only one set of steps from the street directly to the platform. Not all the extra steps, long passageways, and escalators as on other Tube lines. Loads of nice restaurants, pubs, and grocery stores in the area. And a laundrette around the corner will do your wash for 10 pounds (large load)-drop off in the morning and pick up in the evening!

We reserved our room here based on the good reviews on this site, and Britannia Court still exceeded our expectations. We even canceled a reservation at another hotel for our 2nd week because we enjoyed our 1st week at Britannia Court so much. We have stayed at some wonderful B & Bs in London, but considering location, breakfast, cleanliness, cost and excellent staff, we will stay here on our next trip.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank charlescat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

We have just come back from a weekend stay at this hotel. It was a great weekend and the hotel was a small and friendly place to stay. Great location with easy access to tube, buses and a walk in hyde park.

We had two rooms on the ground floor. The room with the courtyard was supberb as we could all have a chat outside. Both rooms were very clean, clean towels each day. ( Curtains in room without the courtyard could do with some new curtains, or even fiiting the current curtains properly- only a minor issue).

Breakfast was lovely and adequate for our needs - we do not like the 'English Breakfast' so the fresh fruit, coffee, cereals, bread, cheese etc was delicious.

All staff were helpful. All in all a good value budget hotel in central london. It's not your 'chain' type of hotel, more like a friendly B&B. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness
  • Disliked — Some decor was a litle 'tired'
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2006

While recieving glowin recommendations from trip advisor, we spent two nights at Britannia Court in July of this year. Both rooms, one directly behind reception ( a bit loud ) and one on the third floor were clean and comfortable. Breakfast on the first stay was great and we were up far too early to have breakfast on our second stay. This is where the disturbing incident occured. My husband turned on the television while I was getting ready and while flipping through the channels, noticed on channel 3 the picture of an infared camera trained on a bed in our hotel. It was clearly the same hotel and was clearly an infared camera. The young woman in the bed was asleep and the camera was from an angle up in the ceiling or high up...the ceilings are quite tall in the two rooms we stayed in. It was on no longer than the four minutes we watched when our taxi pulled up and immediatley the channel turned back to regular programming. I was so disturbed, I walked past reception and outside. My husband mentioned it to the man at the desk and he changed the subject. It was a terrible, disturbing feeling at the end of a fabulous vacation.



  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank prncskatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritanniaCourtHotel, Owner at Britannia Court Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2006
Dear Guest from North Carolina,
I'm the owner of the Britannia Court Hotel in London where you recently stayed.
We've been puzzling over this review until my daughter suggested that you may have been watching an episode of Big Brother or the Big Brother news roundup (with a host). These show back to back between 7:25 and 8:55 AM on Wednesdays. It shows up on channel 3 on the hotel TVs, which is Channel 4 (channel 4 on the TVs is ITV).
It's a profoundly stupid reality show that's also here in the US on CBS, also called Big Brother.
Anyway if you look up on the Channel4 website you will see what it's about and why it may have been what you saw. It explains what the show is, and how long it's been running, the rules, and states that the housemates are filmed 24 hours a day inside the house, using hidden cameras on the walls, behind mirrors, with infrared cameras to shoot at night.
You can watch inside the house live at any time, and you can look at infrared images of the actors sleeping.
Anyway if this is not what you saw drop us a line and we'll keep puzzling.

Sincerely,
Naomi VanderWolk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2006

I really loved this hotel, a friendly vibe and a great price. I've stayed in London many times and this is the first room I'd seek out again. We had a fabulous (triple) room with access to a (lovely) private garden, the included continental breakfast was awsome and the staff were great - all for a bargain price. One of the best deals I've found in my extensive travels. This is also a great part of London - buzzing with activity and great restaurants. Try the "Black Swan" (pub) for an amazing roast or have a walk through Hyde Gardens a couple of blocks away!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pontificator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2006

My husband and I stayed here after reading the reviews on this website (and looking at the pictures posted). And I must say that we were not disappointed.

The hotel is conveniently located to the Bayswater Tube Station, which can get you connected to anywhere. You can walk without problem to the Kensington Palace/Gardens, High Street Kensington (for shopping!) and Hyde Park to name a few places. Lots of pubs, restaurants and shops surrounding the hotel. There's also a grocery store (Tesco) on the next street over across from the tube station that we found handy.

The room was great! We were in G3 which had a courtyard attached that only we had access to. We had our own ensuite bathroom, television, double bed and single bed even though it was just the 2 of us. It was cleaned every day and we were provided fresh towels. The one little complaint I had was the shower as it sprayed just about everywhere, but it was a small sacrifice.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The dog was also very friendly. Our breakfast was very plentiful: always a hard-boiled egg, various fruits, bread, juice, coffee, yogurt and cereal.

I definitely think this is a great place to stay and would highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2006

Me and my wife stayed at Britannia Court at the end of March. We decided to book Britannia after reading the positive comments in Tripadvisor and also due to the very reasonable price. We were a little afraid of the remarks about the smallness of the rooms but this was not actually a big problem. Our room was quite small but clean and quiet (facing the "yard"). And as we were out most of the day and used the hotel only for sleeping, it didn't matter anyway.
Now the positive facts - 5 minutes walk from Bayswater tube, 5 minutes walk from Kesnington Gardens, lots of eating places and shops (incl mall)on the parallel street, rich breakfast, 60£ per night, very friendly staff, nice interior of the hotel etc.
So all in all a good choice for a traveller who does not spend much time in hotel. The next time I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2006

My husband and I go to London frequently. We used to be lucky enough to have close friends with whom we could stay, but they have moved away and we now have to find hotels for our London visits. After three rather unfortunate experiences at other hotels, the Britannia Court will be our new London home.

The owners (Americans of Italian descent, very strong East Coast accents!) were really friendly, the front desk manned 24 hours. The room was nice enough with crisp white duvets instead of those horrid beadspreads hotels still insist on using. Wood floors, dented antique furniture, a small oriental carpet on the floor. Cozy, a bit funky, felt like home. There was tons of hot water and water pressure (almost too much as it was hard to control!). The drains were slow to keep up with the amount of water.
Our room was towards the front of the hotel and we could hear some street noise, but it was not at all bad and quieted down as the nights progressed. I slept really REALLY well.

My husband was totally enamoured of the breakfast. I, not much of a morning person, will trust his judgement on that. I love the friendly, very old dog who nuzzled up to us everytime we entered or left the hotel. What a sweetie.

I go to London by myself alot, and would feel very safe and happy there alone. Unlike some other places we've stayed.

We'll definitely return. For the price, location, and good vibe of the place, it's just perfect for us. If you want a good night's sleep in a cozy, small, informal, utilitarian but still stylish crash pad, this is a great place. If you want luxury and posh, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank OsloK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
MStay 39 Studios
#604 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#423 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Byron Hotel
#494 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#535 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Notting Hill
Inverness Terrace Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Court Hotel

Property: Britannia Court Hotel
Address: 80 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 561 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing