We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Buckingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #567 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Location!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed at the Buckingham for 1 night in April,had a very large room in the basement,which was good,bed was firm shower etc was also good,no BBC channels on tv (no problem for us)hairdryer was in a drawer,enough hanging space for your clothes & we also had a small kitchenette.All staff were very friendly, polite & helpful.The breakfast was well cooked,this was included in our rate otherwise it would cost you £23.75 !!!!! however the breakfast room was tiny,it only sat 8 people which would present a problem if the hotel was full.The location is spot on for central London,it's in between Holborn & Russell Square tube stations-Holborn is more user friendly,& the buses run very near by.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne170711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    58
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
51
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northwich
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights,arranged through CountryclubUK. Good welcome, pleasant staff(none British) & good initial feel. Large double room on first floor & very quiet, old window frames in need of attention. Bed a bit too firm. Damaged unchanged lightbulb over one side of bed. Difficulty in getting BBC channels on remote control. Slow in bringing our complimentary drink after requested. Breakfast room very small (4 tables) even though only small number of guests, a mystery what happens when all rooms occupied. I suspect you'd have to wait for breakfast! Food good. Overall I would say functional and adequate.
Next to Russel square on Piccadilly line, so ideal for theatre/Covent garden/Museums and near Euston/St Pancras so the big plus about this hotel for us was the location.

Room Tip: Try for a deal with cooked b'fast around £145 inc VAT. You may do better as seems to be less tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is one block from the British Museum in a quiet street. I arrived early to leave my back and was greeted by a very friendly young lady. I checked in, left my bag and was then ready to experience London. When I came back later in the afternoon my room was ready. It was a single studio on the third floor right next to the elevator. However for the whole of my stay I was not bothered by any elevator noise or any other guests walking by. The room was quite big for a London hotel. A queen size bed, a kitchenette with a medium sized refrigerator, microwave, sink, kettle and plates for two. There was no towels or soap for cleaning the plates however the maid replaced them each day. Besides the bed there was a desk, LCD TV and some small cabinets for the cloth. There was also a small safe in the closet, however it was not big enough for a laptop computer.
The room was overlooking the garden and had a view over to the side of the British museum. Even with the windows open it was very quiet. The bathroom was very nice however not so big. The bathtub railing is quite high and in order to get into the bathtub to get a shower you have to be a little athletic to get in. One major concern is the lighting inside the bathroom. It consists of two LED downlights and does not provide enough light for shaving in front of the mirror (I imagine this will be even worse for women doing their makeup). And allthough they provide towels the do not provide wash cloth.
The drapes in the room looks a little worn down but everything else looked fine.
Both the room and the bathroom was very clean for the whole of my stay.
I did not try there breakfast as there prices is a little on the expensive side but there is lots of small cafes etc. close by with good breakfast deals. And the refrigerator allthough in the need of a defrosting functioned very good and served perfectly for keeping my milk and yoghurt cold.
I did not speak much with the staff but everyone I saw on my way greeted me with a big smile and asked if they could help in any way. And when checking out after 4 nights the young lady in the reception was again very friendly and there was no problem in leaving my bags until late afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kengedahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Wife & I traveled to London in March 2012 with our daughter. When looking for accommodations we were surprised that a number of hotels with two double beds per room, do not accept more than 2 adults. Since our daughter is 18 years old, she was considered an adult and thus eliminated a number of accommodations. We were fortunate to stumble onto this Grange Hotel in our searching.

We booked a room for 3 adults, a King bed (another great perk of this hotel for us, since even a queen bed is hard to find in London) and a sofa bed. Upon arrival we were given room #4 which had the King and sofa bed, and to our delight an adjoining alcove with single bed. So we never had to use the sofa. The stairs were narrow and steep, but an elevator was in the building which we used to move our luggage with.

Room 4 was listed as a kitchenette, but this turned out to mean a microwave and bar fridge. Some plates and bowls (only a setting for of 2) was provided but no containers etc to do any real cooking. We used the microwave to reheat leftovers from restaurant meals.

The room was very clean, beds firm and pillows saggy. Large washroom contained a tub/shower unit as well as a shower stall. We were in basement with windows opening to a below grade walkway at back of building. The curtains with slightly damaged hangers required some manipulation to close well enough to block a view through windows. Turns out we never saw anyone walk in that area anyway, but it was winter. Our room was quiet except for when breakfast was on. The add on single room was almost under the breakfast nook so had some surface traffic.

Our 6 day stay included continental Breakfast only on Sat,Sun & Monday. The buffet consisted of cold cereals, yogurts, cheese, cold cuts, toast, croissants, milk & juices. Perfectly adequate for us. The breakfast room at The Buckingham seats only 7 people. On our first day it was full & we were asked to walk two doors down street to a sister hotel The Clarendon, which had a much larger seating area and the exact same buffet. Only a minor bother since weather outside was nice. On the other 2 days we ate in Buckingham with very good service. After our 3 included breakfasts, we had cereal in our room since the cost of 16 pounds/each for buffet seemed high.

We traveled by Tube from Heathrow to Holburn station, and walked 5-10 minutes to The Buckingham. Directly accross from Holburn station was a Sainsbury 24 hr? grocery store, where we purchased groceries when we first arrived.

We toured the British Museum. The Buckingham is only 5 minutes walk from the museum main entrance. It was conveniently close for taking mid afternoon rest in our room for an hour or two & then go back to tour more of the museum. Hotel is close to both Russel and Holburn tube stops but Holburn is nicer and has escalators, whereas Russel has elevators which you may have to wait for if it is busy. We toured many other London sights using a "hop on, hop off bus" its pickup spot is again only 5 minutes walk from the Hotel. For us it the hotel was in an excellent location.

Overall we had an very good stay at The Buckingham. Staff was nice and accommodation was spacious and clean. Only gripe is that WiFi internet was not free. Cost was 5 pounds for 1 hour.
Would definitely recommend this location for a stay when visiting museum.

Room Tip: Room #4 has King Bed and separate single bed if there are 3 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary and his birthday at the beginning of March. The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. We were upgraded a room as I had asked for a large room. The room was very spacious with a queen sized bed, two seater sofa etc. The ensuite was on the small size compared to the room and needed a good vaccum in the corners to remove talcum powder and dust - my husband being just 6ft couldn't comfortably sit in the bath. The wardrobe space was extremely small because the cupboard next door housed a sink, draining board, microwave etc. (they call it a mini kitchenette). The fridge was not working as it should because it was in need of a serious de-frost. The cold water tap constantly gave hot water, so it was not possible to get a cold drink of water without putting water into the fridge for a few hours. The carpet was very "black" around the whole edge of the room and needed cleaning. In fact the room decor when you looked at it closely was a bit tired. The furniture was fine, this looked fairly new. You couldn't open either window in the main bedroom part, only the window in the kitchenette area and the hotel did have its heating up far too much as the weather outside was extremely warm for the time of year. The breakfast area was minute. The hotel has 17 rooms,but only four tables! The continental breakfast was OK but it did concern me that the ham (which resembled a piece of cardboard) was plated up without being on any form of cold surface (the breakfast area is in a glass conservatory, which was very warm as the weather was mild and they had two electric radiators switched on). The same with the juices and milk. It would have been nice to see these items being kept cool.

Room Tip: If you want a room on the front that is generous in size ask for a large room - we were upgraded whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in February, we stayed as we went to the theatre and wanted to stay in London.

Actually booked into the hotel next door (Clarendon hotel), they phoned whilst on route to London to say there was a maintenance problem and that they needed to move us into the hotel next door, The Buckingham hotel. They said they would upgrade us to a luxury room at no extra cost, we did not have much choice so accepted it.

Found the hotelm it was in a nice area with a number of hotels along the road. There is no parking for this hotel, we knew this and decided to worry about it when we arrived, there is a big underground car park a few minutes walk away, 24hour £35+, we drove around the corner and found an underground car park for £18, problem was it was closed on Saturdays!!! but the car park attendant pointed us towards the Imperial Hotel (less than 5 minutes walk from the Buckingham). Great value carpark at £18 for 24 hours.

Back to the hotel, We had room 1, very very big room with big big bed, lovely room, nice en-suite bathroom with bath and shower etc.

Breakfast was continental style, plenty of it can not complain, Breakfast was in the conservatory which only had a few tables, could imagine it gets very hectic at ''rush hour'', if you get in there early you will not have a problem.

My only complaint was that room 1 issituated near to the front door and there is noise when people come and go, especially in the early hours. I did have to complain about noise and was told somebody from the hotel management would be in touch with me, I am still waiting (4 weeks now).

I would return to this hotel or the Clarendon but would insist on a quiet room away from the front door/reception.

Hotel is in a great location, 10 minutes brisk walk to the theatres (Lyceum), we also walked to Covent garden, Soho, Leicester square, Piccadilly Circus, Regent Street, Tottenham Court Road.

Room Tip: Definitely not room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahatStannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I was staying in this grange hotel for 3 nights. My room was very big with a nice bathroom with lots of day light. The room was quiet as it was last floor and windows did not go to the side of the street, so I slept really well.
The very good impression of the hotel was spoiled by the fact that they were insisting for paying upfront.
Localisation is excellent, Russel Square is really close.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika111213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#568 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#303 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#586 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#585 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#668 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Buckingham Hotel

Property: Grange Buckingham Hotel
Address: 39-40 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#342 Luxury Hotel in London
#374 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Buckingham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grange Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing