We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Cramped'”
Review of Albion House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albion House Hotel
Ranked #950 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Morpeth UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Cramped'”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I booked a 'family room' for a 2 night stay. The room was to cater for 2 adults and our teenage daughter. 'Cramped' best describes our experience. The room was not really fit for purpose. A double bed and a single jammed into corners and approx 5 sq feet of floor space. The stifling en suite shower room was tiny and (in theory at least) of wet room design; except it wasn't really a wet room resulting in both the en suite AND bedroom floors becoming saturated after shower use and (as other subscribers have mentioned) no floor towel provided. Furthermore, the ill fitting shower door had no lock or door handle! The room was situated right next to the front door and directly above the dining room so we found it quite noisy too. On the first morning we attempted breakfast but there were no tables available so swerved it completely.

Every hotel has a place in the accommodation 'food chain'. At £135 per night, The Albion House Hotel is pitching with those hotels at the lower end of large established hotel chain territory but is nowhere near that standard of accommodation. In my opinion it is delivering accommodation in £50-£75 per night territory and as such is rotten value for money. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisWMorpethUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest

You have booked a triple room which you know from your booking confirmation has 1 double bed and 1 single bed .This is the room you were given. We are a grade 2 listed building located in Kings Cross central London. The building is a converted Georgian Townhouse. Space is limited in London and we are a budget hotel..... There is a trade off between price , location and size. OUr rooms are not large but we try to offer most ammenities in our rooms : Ensuite bathrooms, Flat Screen Tvs, Free Wifi and other such necessitites. You paid £130 for 3 people for the night inlcuding breakfast and 20 % Tax. That is a net rate of £35 per person per night. We are very much placed at the budget end of the market but we do try to improve and offer most services of "better quality hotels " .

We listen to our customers and we have now provided bath mats in the bedrooms so the floor wont be wet after you shower

We are also building a brand new dining room wich wiull seat 60 plus people in one sitting , this will be ready early 2012. Our breakfast times are from 700 am -10 am ...so we will get you seated and you wont have to wait more than 10 minutes .


Many thanks

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    54
    46
    78
See reviews for
37
90
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I've stayed here several times for business and i can assure that is a very comfortable accomodation for what it cost. Rooms are New, beds are very comfortable and the area is calm and close to' St. Pancras station by One min walking. Staff is very helpful and Patrick The owner, known as Briatore, is a great guy who always suggest me nice places where to eat!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradomalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The room we stayed in was in the basement there was no space in there and the celing was extremly low, and the bed pushed up agenst the wall. I am outraged that we payed over £100 to stay there for 1 night. Thank goodness we were only there for one night as the en suit was too small to shower in when sitting on the toilet your feet were in the shower. There was a tiny winow with the handel falling off. When getting into bed we were discusted to see that the sheets and pillows had marks on. We waited around 25 mins to get a table for breakfast and then when we did the staff offered a stranger from another hotel to join our table with out asking. I can't think of any possitive points other than leaving. I would never return....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel6791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest

We thank you for e mail and we value all reviews . Rest assured we read to all our reviews and what our customers are saying and act accordingly. We are always trying to improve. Listening to our customers is the best way of improving our hotel.

We known that we have 1 room in the basement and that not everyone likes this room. We have priced this room accordingly and this is discounted by 15% .

All our rooms are extremely clean and if you find anything not upto standard please let us know straight away so we can act immediately and decisively.

We are currently building a new breakfast room which can seat all our guests in one sitting so no one will have to wait for a table please bear with us for time being we will get you seated within 5 minutes .

Thank you for your e mail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I was looking forward to spend a few nights in London with my partner. She arrived a little earlier and was put into a basement room with a tiny window because no other room was available, or so they said. Also we booked the Albion House Hotel but were given a room at the Excelsior instead. The next day, the concierge promised, we'd be able to move into a better room. We asked for a room at the Albion but none was available. I was puzzled but decided not to say anything since I was tired and just wanted a nice room. We were then put into Melville Hotel. The first impression of the room was actually good, it looked clean and was modernly furnitured. However it lacked diverse basic equipment like tissues, a bin (we used a bag which was taken away by the cleaning staff with the result of having nothing), face and floor towels, a blowdryer, bedside table...
Also we were told that there was Wi-Fi, but couldn't get a signal. However we were still relieved about the improvement. We weren't pleased about the breakfast however. It was without question the most horrific breakfast I ever had at a hotel. First of all we had to wait in a cue cause there was only room for approximately 10 people. The "buffet" consisted of toast, cheap cheese and ham slices, cold boiled eggs (if one was lucky) and fruit juice. And there was some jam and Nutella on the table. I'm sure most of the lodgers decided to stay away from breakfast after their first morning. At least so did we.
Now some people could argue that that's what it's like in a budget hotel but 100 Pounds a night are not actually cheap and one could expect a moderate service. Actually the only good thing about this hotel is the shower and its great location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisingirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Sir Madam

Thanks for your time taken to review our hotel we read all reviews and trying to make improvements based on our guests needs ...

We relaised the basement room was not good enough for your needs and reacted immediately to that by offering alternatives . In general all our rooms are modernised and clean. We gave you our newest building with our newest rooms . We are glad you actually liked what we offered you in the end and are happy to accomodate you.

We dont provide tissues but there is plenty of paper in the bathroom. Tissues are not essentials and only really top end hotels provide them ( with a top end price ! ) Bins are also provided in the bathrooms and a number of towels for the body and extras for the floor. We chage towels on request but ask guests to use the heated towel rails provided . As with most hotels inlcudung 5 star hotels we politey ask you to re use your towel and we will change them on the third day. Bedsie tables are small but in built and provide enough space for a phone and charger and a book. The hairdryers and straighteners are travel sized and provided in the recpetion please ask for it and we will provide it .We dont keep these in the rooms as people like to take them home with them !

We are currently building a large modern dining room and it will be ready within 6 months ..We politely ask guests to be patient as you will get seated within 10 minutes of arriving.

Our rate and location are excellent value . £100 includes tax breakfast wifi en suite bathroom for 2 people all in central London .....You are actually paying £40 per person per night net.

Many thanks for your e mail

We read every review and are working hard to give our clients a good positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the last couple of years. The staff are very accomadating, particularly as they are flexible about when I book in and out - as I generally work nights on business. All the rooms that i have stayed in are newly refurbished and to a high standard. the best thing of all is that although my company would pay for the nearby Premier Inn or travelodge ( at double the price! ) I rather stay in the much quieter hotel, with no industrial sized aircon units that keep me awake! Best budget hotel I have used in London by far, and I have stayed in a few!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan_leach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Smallest room ever. Very basic facilities. Not even tissues in the room, let alone handtowel or bathmat. Very basic shower! Very noisy with other occupants. Breakfast very basic and poorly organised, servicing three hotels in too small a space! Not happy having reception at another hotel, not told until arrival at 11pm this was the case! Unfriendly at reception. Glad it was a one night stay only!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review ; we read every review written and take action immmediately where necessary.

We are constantly upgrading and renewing our hotel all time. We are once again renewing one room at a time and making sure that all areas are upgraded in all rooms and common areas.

Our hotel is centrally located so space in any bed and breakfast is at a premium.

All rooms vary in size depending on where in the hotel it is located.

Bathmats and towels are provided in all our rooms so im not sure why you say you didnt have any. If there is anything missing please inform us and we will get it for you immediately.

We are always listening to our customers and trying to improve

Many thanks

Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agentlori
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This place was clean, but crowded both in the bedrooms and horribly crowded in the Continental Breakfast. WARNING...check in is at the Melville Hotel in the same square.

Just not worth the money we spent when compared to the other three hotels we stayed in on this trip. Avoid it...want something lovely? Stay out of town at One Six Two in Greenwich, London!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review . We really appreciate all reviews left, as it helps us to learn where we are going and then put it right straight away.

We are glad you think our hotel is clean; we take alot of time and care ensuring our hotel is spotless and we pride oursleves in this area.

We have our check in at the Melvile Hotel which is next door but we make no secret of this and all our guests are aware of it as it is written on the confimration e mail. Also it is clearly signposted once you arrive so there is no confusion.

Our new dining room will be ready this year so we can seat upto 40 people in one sitting...We try and manage the current situaion as well as we can at the moment and are confident you will get seated within ten minutes and are also looked after properly. Our breakfast room is well staaffed at all times ...we just ask you for a bit of patience .

Many thanks
Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#809 of 1,067 in London
427 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#538 of 1,067 in London
955 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#540 of 1,067 in London
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#242 of 1,067 in London
1,728 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#731 of 1,067 in London
539 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion House Hotel

Property: Albion House Hotel
Address: 29 Argyle Square | King's Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #950 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion House is a small modern bed and breakfast hotel ; located directly opposite Str Pancras interantional and Kings Cross Hotel.We are superbly located to discover all that London has to offer. We can be reached easily from The Eurostar located at St Pancras International .We focus on offering clean affordable accomodation in a great central London location. Our rooms are small yet they all have en suite bathrooms and amenities such as: Flat Screen TVs; Free WiFi; in room safes and Iphone docks and of course Tea and Coffee making facilities. Our rooms range from singles to Quads. We are focused on cutomer service and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albion House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing