We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amhurst Hotel
Ranked #139 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the Amhurst from Thurs 27 Oct - Sun 30 Oct as we were going to see Alice Cooper at the Alexandra Palace on the Saturday. The directions given on the Hotel's website were spot-on. On arrival we were slightly wary as we thought the hotel and neighbourhood in Stamford Hill looked "a bit rough" and were a bit scared of the guy who greeted us and showed us to our room as he seemed rather gruff. He was in fact, a really nice and very fuuny bloke. Our room was very clean, comfortable and also had a small fridge which we did not expect. . After checking in, we decided to go for a walk to see what the surrounding neighbourhood was like and to be honest, there really wasn't much happening. But that also gave us an opportunity to suss out where the bus/trains/tubes were as we planned to travel into London during our stay.
We were both really impressed about how well situated the Amhurst Hotel was for access to central London. There is a bus stop about a half minutes walk from the hotel with buses into Euston every 8-10 minutes and the return bus stop is just across the road. From Euston, the most exciting parts of London (Oxford/Picadilly Circus, Trafalgar Sq) are only minutes away. The buses to and from Stamford Hill also go through Camden Town en route and this delighted us as we planned to - and did - spend Friday visiting Punky shops and the markets.
We had no problem getting to and from the Ally Pally. From Stamford Hill Broadway you just hop on any bus going to Wood Green. From there a W3 bus drops you right at the entrance.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. The only thing that lets this Hotel down is the plumbing. There was a washhand basin in our room and each tap seemed to take turns on which would work at any time. The showers did not work very well eihter but there was usualy just about enough water from them to get a wash. Other than the dodgey plumbing, we thought that the Amhurst was a real gem of a place and would be more than happy to stay there again. I think the description "homely" sums the place up nicely. In fact, we stayed at a Premier Inn on the Sunday night as we had vague notions about visiting the london dungeons and thought that this would also make it easier to get back to Stansted. It's true. The Premier Inn had a really good shower and our room was huge, but we actually preferred the homely charm of the Amhurst.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    67
    42
    21
    38
See reviews for
31
55
45
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for three nights and thought it good value (for London). We had a triple room at the top of the right hand building, which makes up half of the hotel. The room was large enough for us, but not huge: shower and toilet were fine although like a lot of older UK places the pressure and temp changes when others are using the system. Towels (clean but well used and getting thin) were provided, but no soap etc. Our room had a flat screen TV, small fridge, kettle (with milk, coffee, etc), wardrobe and chest of draws along with three chairs: these all ensured we hadn’t much floor space once we’d spread out our suitcases, but we managed OK.

This advertises as a Budget Hotel, so you should know what to expect: the stairs were steep but safe, if a little on the small side: meaning each step wasn’t as deep as a normal one. The stair carpet is old in design and beginning to show its age somewhat. We passed the shared toilets and shower, they looked clean and cared for, if a little old: cleaned at least daily, or so it seemed to us. We didn't use the kitchen or garden, but were shown around them on arrival. We arrived early (11.30) and were allowed our room straight away, as it was ready: we could have left our stuff if it hadn't been available, car parking is free: we came by train though!

The area is a real multi-racial mixed bag of Jewish, Muslim, Catholic and Indian sub continent with a Caribbean flavour. A direct rail line to Liverpool Street is 50 metres away and buses to Manor House and Finsbury Park tubes is just as close, so getting into the centre of the city isn’t a problem, although it does take more than a few minutes.

In a nutshell: adequate, a bit far from the main tourist sights, but with good transport links into the centre of London.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincolnshirechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, SLovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

So let me start by telling you how afraid me and my friend was when we booked the hotel and then read so many reviews telling us that in the hotel there are bugs and mouses and I don't know what else and that the neighbourhood is sketchy and things like that.
Me and my friend, we are students and even if we have less money we stil wanted a hotel that was decent.
We arrived at 3 a.m. in the morning because we were a little confused and went on the right bus 4 times in different directions or we missed the station because you have to get off the bus on another street and than walk if you come from Liverpool station with bus 149. When we came to the hotel, we woke up a guy working there named Jeff and he was a little sleepy and not in the best mood, but the next morning on the garden we laughed at that together while having a coffee. The hotel is cute, rooms are IKEA furnished style, simple and clean, no stains anywhere, I even took some photos some people can see its realy nice, the showers aren't dirty, if one of them is you use another one, the staff cleans it all the time, the only problem are dirty guests that think they don't have to clean up their mess.
There is enough toillets and just no problem with any sanitaries. The kitchen is lovely and the best thing is definitely garden behind the house, unfortunately the hotel's photos on the web aren't really showing off how nice and comfy it is. You do your own meals, there is plenty stores with cheaper food than in central London around and there is just NO PROBLEM. Staff is nice, they also have a lazy cat named Thomas and he is a total sweety and on the last night we even had him in our room because it was raining outside and he is very clean anyways. There was an employee Jeff and he was very helpful to us, he gave us thousands of tips how to do something cheaper, how to get somewhere faster and so on, and he is just a nice person anyway.
We stayed for a week and already arranged for us to stay again in spring for a week. It was realy nice, we felt like at home.
I don't actually know how is it possible for some people to have such horrible experiences there with the guests, but truly as I saw it there, it's realy people's problem. It's not a 5 star hotel, they are not obligated to carry your luggage and things like that, and it's perfectly logical that you have to clean your dishes and so on, it's almost like a community of different people living together.
So that's it, i truly hope it was helpful for someone to read this.

Ana & Nina from Slovenia

Room Tip: We had an ordinary room with double bed and it was nice. The suit with balcony and private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We were 200 yds away at 6.30pm when they rang us to say they had no rooms despite fact we had booked it two months earlier. They sent us to an alternative "hotel" a location that can only be described as a disgrace to the name. I know we didnt pay a fortune, but come on , I stayed in better 30 years ago when I was a student working on building sites in London. I will never criticize the big hotel chains again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
20 Thank joe56t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is not a hotel but rooms for rent. The Irish manager is only there when he feels like it. It's 20 mins walk for Manor House station and NOT 10.

The shower didn't work and the toilet seat was loose and he did not bother to fix it.

I would not stay there again. The kitchen doesn't have a fridge not decent kitchen utensils. The Wifi...what Wifi. The connection was so poor it was worth using.

The manager was not apologetic to our concerns.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed over with a friend for a Finsbury Park concert. Having arrived through busy London traffic, all the stress melted away instantly on arrival to the Amhurst Hotel. It was easy to find and had generous parking.

The owners gave us a really friendly welcome and invited us to relax in their very pleasant, spacious and rustic back garden, which has picnic tables and benches dotted about and an atmosphere that takes you far away from the city outside. You notice from here that the owners are investing in this hotel as a long term quality project, as they have solar panels and wind turbines contributing to the hotel's eco-friendliness. A true positive reflection of the approach the owners have of running the place inside.

The acommodation exceeded our expectations. Clean and pleasant as standard, and in addition, the spacious rooms have great character, inherent in the building itself. It is clearly of great importance to the owners that your stay with them is enjoyable, as they make you feel like you're the only guests (in a full-up hotel!), making sure you have plenty of sheets, towels etc. Once settled they then give you the freedom to enjoy your stay.

The only regret is that me and my friend had only booked the one night! We wanted to stay longer, but had to get back to the real world after a great stay and a great concert in the park. Many thanks to the Amhurst Hotel for a great stay!!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danzeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Me and my boyfriend were staying in this hotel 6 nights from 1st of July 2011. The owner was kind and helpful, the neighbourhood was quiet and nice. There is a bus stop few seconds from the hotel, metro station (Manor house) is about 15 minutes by walk (and also you can get there by the bus). There are food shops at the Manor house station.

Now to the hotel itself - the room we had (basic double) was quite small, but on the other hand it is good enough if you just need some place to leave your bags and sleep. There is a small fridge and a tea kit in the room. The toilets and showers are common for all basic rooms (if you dont have ensuite type of room), but there are 3 of each so you never have to stand in a row :)

The garden behind the hotel is a nice place to relax and sometimes you can run into a hotel cat :) The kitchen is fully equiped - microwave oven, stove, kettle, plates, cups... Perfectly fine if you want to cook your own meal.

Staying in Amhurst hotel was a good decision and it was totally worth the money. I would recommend everybody to stay there, if they are looking for a nice budget hotel.

See ya :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kata_Mato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Premier Inn London Hackney Hotel
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
#523 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
The Fountain Hotel
#375 of 571 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Kadimah Hotel
Kadimah Hotel
#242 of 571 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Lawrence Road Guest House
#442 of 571 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amhurst Hotel

Property: Amhurst Hotel
Address: 45-47 Amhurst Park | Stamford Hill, London N16 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Amhurst Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amhurst Hotel London is set in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere within a friendly environment; accompanying this the rooms are nice, clean and quiet with access to communal kitchens and beautiful gardens for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Amhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amhurst Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing