We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Ohio
2 reviews
“An excellent experience!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

51 Buckingham Gate surpassed expectations on every measure. The facilities were extremely nice, and the personnel were wonderfully hospitable. It was a first rate, excellent experience.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear GrantP

Thank you very much for taking the time to review 51 Buckingham Gate and I am delighted to know that you had an excellent experience with us.

Please be sure that should you decide to come back to stay with us again we will aim to make your stay even a better one.

Thank you once again.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    139
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
568
466
43
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

From the moment we arrived in the courtyard at 51 Buckingham Gate my family and I felt relaxed. The resort concierge met me from the car and welcomed me to 51 Buckingham Gate, asked my name and invited me to check-in. I was handed over to a delightful lady who checked me in with speed and efficiency and handed me back to the concierge. We were taken to our delightful suite and left to enjoy our stay with the knowledge that there were countless staff just a call away.

The suite was amazing. This resort thinks of everything in every room and deserves every one of its 5 stars. I could have easily spent 6 months at this hotel and felt that I was in my own home. All 3 bathrooms were immaculate with not a smudge on the taps. The bedrooms were comfortable and contained everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The kitchen was very well equipped and very comfortable. The lounge was very comfortable and would be great to entertain 10-12 people for an evening cocktail in the comfort and privacy of your own front door.

I have to say the food at the resort although only room service was sampled was very good. The highlight was breakfast I have to say. I didn’t feel like much so opted for simple porridge, just like grandma used to make. It was the best porridge I have had for over 20 years, wow.

All in all 51 Buckingham Gate is a must for a London weekend stay. Fabulous accommodation, professional and courteous staff, superb location and great food. 51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites and Residences is my new London bolt hole.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the courtyard in summer is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear CraigM,

Thank you very, very much for the wonderful review of your recent stay at 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted to know that you really enjoyed your 3 bedroom suite and its many amenities as well as your in room dining experience.

Breakfast is always a treat, specially when taken in the cozy Library where you get spoiled by the team with a lovely selection of freshly cooked brearfast favourites.

On your next trip you definitely need to sample a little bit more of the culinary choices at 51 and try the food at the Quilon, our Michelin starred Indian restaurant, which brings food from the coast of India to a sophisticated setting, specially after its latest renovation, it looks and tastes wonderful.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we very much look forward to welcome you back.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Fantastic and luxurious apartments, close to St. James's Park metro station 300m

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Derbas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review 51 Buckingham Gate Taj Suites and Residences.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the luxury of our suites and we truly hope we will see you soon again.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Having stayed at the Waldorf Hotel a couple of weeks ago and had a thoroughly miserable (and expensive) experience, my husband and I wanted somewhere special to stay whilst we were in London for the weekend - and we found it @ 51 Buckingham Gate. From booking, through check-in, Butler Services, complimentary cocktails and canapes and finally check out - we couldn't have asked for anything more. Every single member of staff we encountered were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble at all. We already had our weekend planned but if we had required any assistance in getting around or booking a restaurant, theatre or attraction, I know they would have come up trumps. We stayed in a junior suite and it surpassed expectation. Fully fitted (and I mean fully fitted) kitchen, great big bathroom with every amenity you could need, super comfy American kingsize bed, iPod dock, DVD player (DVD library card supplied in the room) and a personal handwritten welcome card from the Manager in the room for when we arrived. We did not try breakfast as we were out and about early, but I know that it would've been the same standard as everything else. The hotel is a stone's throw from St James's Park tube so location is great.

My husband and I travel to London at least once a month and have stayed in different hotels each time trying to find 'the right one' - our seach is now over, we need look no more - 51 Buckingham Gate will have our custom everytime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SockMonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear SockMonkie,

Thank you ever so much for such wonderful account of your stay at 51 Buckingham Gate and specially for rating us you new favourite hotel in London, this is wonderful news for us and we truly appreciate it.

I do hope that the next time you stay at 51 you will stay for a longer period of time and have the opportunity to take advantage of the many things you missed at the hotel this time around.

Please do get in contact with our concierge in advance and let them plan your day for you, you will be delighted with the amount of things they can source for you.

Thank you once again and see you soon.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I just returned from a business trip to London and it was one of the most pleasant experiences I have had in a long time -and this was due to my stay at 51 Buckingham Gate. I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment which was wonderfully appointed All the small touches in the room made me feel very much at home. The staff were very friendly and went above and beyond the call of duty to service the clients and nothing was a bother and they made you feel welcome. The food was excellent. The evening cocktail hour each evening was a nice way to wind down before going out for dinner. The two restaurants in the complex -Bank and Quilon were excellent and the standard of service very high This hotel is worth every penny and friends and family living in London were amazed at what it had to offer. I will definitely recommend to my friends and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I was told that King House is the newest and the higher floors - 6 and 7 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear FunkeO

Thank you very much for the wonderful review of your experience at 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am very pleased to know that your business trip became a homely experience by choosing to stay with us and that you apreciated among many other things the additional space you had in a two bedroom suite.

Our desire is to make you feel truly comfortable and relaxed so that once you walk into the hotel you are home.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the cocktail hour in The Library and the food in the restaurants. The next time you stay with us you should try the new menu at The Hamptons Bar (across the Courtyard in our sister's hotel lobby) there are some amazing dishes in a relaxed yet very good looking bar.

We very much look forward to see you back.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is the best hotel I've been so far regarding the service and the hospitality in general! The staff was way more than helpful and friendly as well. Loved the afternoon drinks and tea! Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbell_edi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Tinkerbell_edi

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at 51 Buckingham Gate and thank you for your kind words about the service you received from my colleagues.

I very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Built by the cheapest contractors. Hot water around the wrong way. Toilet tilted so much you feel like you're about to fall off. Contractors working through-out the day with their loud drills. Staff are nice. Breakfast and internet not included in price, which is shocking for this day and age, especially in a five star hotel. Stay here if you want a headache.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Welltraveledkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli-London, Front Office Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Welltraveledkiwi,

I would like to thank you for not only choosing to stay with us at 51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites and Residences, but also for your precious time giving your feed back. I am Sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction and that we could not come up to your expectations.

We take pride in our service and your satisfaction is paramount to us, therefore, we are also in the process of improving our Suites and to be prepared for much awaited Olympics. Our refurbishment work takes place between 10 am and 5 pm and I do apologise that the refurbishment work created inconvenience for you.

We take our guest’s feedback seriously and act on them without a delay, just so that we could serve you and all our guests better. If at all convenient, we would love to speak to you in person at your preferred time and I have furnished my E Mail address for any direct correspondence to gather a detailed feedback on your experience, as we would like to achieve excellence in all aspects of our Hotel and we would love to take your points and experience on board to get the services better.

Once again, thank you for your time and valued observations. The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to the Newly Refurbished and Contemporary Suites and meanwhile; please do let me know if I could be of any assistance, it will be a sheer pleasure to serve you.

Kind Regards

Gagan Sharma
Front Office Manager
E Mail – gsharma@51-buckinghamgate.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing