We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, slightly scruffy.”
Review of Acacia Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acacia Hostel
Ranked #565 of 944 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The location of this hostel, 5 minutes walk from South Kensington tube station is amazing. However, as I guess you should expect from a cheap hostel in central London it was very basic. At least everything was mostly clean and it was a quieter street so I slept quite well.
Some of the bunk beds did not have ladders on them which was strange.
The breakfast room was too small for the size of the hostel, some mornings we had to eat standing up. The breakfast food itself was very basic: corn flakes and muesli with just whole milk and white bread toast with jam or margarine. But for the amount we paid I could live with that. The lady who served breakfast also spoke no English.
It was the bathrooms that really let it down. First of all they were only just about clean and there were only two for at least 12 beds (could have been more beds around the corner). The water pressure in the showers was almost non-existent, you really struggled to clean yourself under the tiny flow and it was hardly warm water. In fact it was so bad that after our running race on Saturday we went round and showered at a friends hotel.
For one night this place is fine but I wouldn't recommend staying longer.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lanarkgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016

Before arriving and being this my 2nd time in this hostel, I requested by e-mail to be accommodated in a 6-bed room as was booked.
The first time I had to cut my stay short (from 9 to 2 nights) because in a period of 2 nights I was placed in 3 different rooms and all of them with 8 beds, not 6. The premise (and promise) was that not all 8 beds were going to be occupied, which was a LIE!
After all, I am booking a bedroom based on the number of beds, not on the number of occupied beds.
Anyway, 2nd time around and I was placed in a 7-bed room, again NOT 6 as booked.
After 10 days of stay and consulting with my roommates and 2 receptionists, it was brought to my attention that the difference in my favour was £ 20, which I claimed 3 times before and during check-out.
Once even when I was asked by a receptionist to change the room's light bulb which had been broken for around 10 hours with no action from the staff after 3 requests from 3 different people.
At check-out, impolite manager Eres/Ares (however it's spelled) said that I should have come there earlier (as if this was my 1st time or my 1st stay!!). His argument was that sometimes people are in a 6-bed room and it's just them in it... Completely senseless!! Even if the room is basically empty, 1 person would only occupy 1 bed. Plain common sense.
Either way, it's the hostel's risk whether all the beds are taken or not. Their lack of marketing should not be put on the guests. He was not willing to take my claim as valid and suggested that I speak to Booking.com. He would not even look me in the eyes when I was talking to him. In his mind, a 6-bed room is the same as an 8-bed room occupied by 6 people, which is mostly never the case being London such a busy destination.
This brought an already unpleasant stay to an even worst stage.
Over the place itself, the rooms and public areas have a dirty and old look and feeling. Carpets, beds, pillows and bed linen seem to be post WWII and hardly ever washed.
Some of my roommates that have been staying there for 2+ months even told me that they saw mice, rats and fleas in the facilities.
Furthermore, when you approach some (not all) of the staff members, they look at you as if you were bothering them, distracting them from their "social media time" and their English is very questionable.
The breakfast consists of white bread, that can be toasted by the staff on request, corn flakes, milk, butter, strawberry jam, instant coffee, cocoa powder and tea. Very very basic.
Breakfast is supposed to be served from 7:30 am to 9:30 am, but there were times in which it was 7:30 am and the staff was running out to the supermarket to get supplies. They happened to be unprepared in several occasions. The staff would just disappear assuming that you knew what was going on and left you to it with no apparent explanation. Perhaps, they do not know how to explain what's going on due to the language barrier.
As every other room in the hostel, the kitchen was very small and at moments, it gets very crowded and you have to wait in line to eat. There are only 16 seating places in an establishment that claims to have 20 rooms with multiple occupancy. Very very packed!
Moreover, the kitchen is located in the basement, which doesn't give you a safe feeling in case of fire, considering how narrow the stairs to get there are. Also, when people are cooking, you can smell it on the 4th floor. Ventilation is poor.
On the smell subject, there is a small patio next to the kitchen accessible only by the staff and when they smoke there, you can also smell it on the floors.
The bathrooms are tiny and not well maintained. They are probably cleaned once a day. If the toilet paper is finished, you have to wait until the next time the toilet is cleaned or go take it from another floor.
Water pressure does not exist as you go up in the building and some bathrooms are moulded and become ponds after people shower.
Wifi only reaches the Reception and kitchen. In the evening, you will find 3-5 people taking turns on the stairs outside of the Reception trying to get some very slow and intermittent Internet. Don't expect to have Wifi in your room.
Overall, poor quality with even poorer and rude management! No leadership at all.
I am definitely not coming back here and would suggest that you don't come either and if you have a reservation, cancel it!

Room Tip: Avoid this hostel at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gabriela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Unlike most places to stay in London there are no toilets and showers in the rooms. Toilets are shared by 1 or 2 floors of rooms and the toilet one flight of stairs from me was unusable because the lock was broken. The carpets are hideous and unclean. It's not obvious if the sheets are clean. They look old and domestic. There is no tea or coffee facilities. Don't expect a warm welcome. I can honestly say it was the most unclean hotel room I've ever stayed in. The mirror and wardrobe was cracked and unusable. No soap is provided. 2 showers shared between all hotel guests. On the plus side the location is great for South Ken.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank MiaXylophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I turned up late and the staff were very welcoming. The room was basic but adequate - value for money paid. The most unfortunate things was the breakfast are/kitchen. three tables, no milk, had to wait for it to arrive, warm bread rather than toast and cereals. I believe it would be better to not offer breakfast rather than leave people disappointed. Once again, staff and location were great

Room Tip: remember they do not supply towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuggieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I had to ask couple times to receive what I had paid for. There was no internet at all in my room, but it supposed to be. It seems that nobody had it because there are many people sitting in the corridor at the ground floor with their laptops and phones. There is no proper place to sit and use internet. The reception where there are sofas is closed at midnight and every time when the receptionists leave the place - sometimes even for 20 minutes - and people have to wait.
It is also a lie that there is a kitchen you can use. After breakfast all of the cups, plates, and cutlery are taken to the storage and nobody can access it except for the receptionist. There is neither sugar or salt that you can use if you want to prepare youself some food, or even a tea!

Room Tip: I booked a room for two people and I was placed, without asking, in a room with 3 bunk-beds. I had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank 645olaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed as part of a hen party. The location was great, but the hostel itself is tired and needs updating. The toilets and showers were dirty, bunk beds broken (ladders not attached and metal frames bent). Yes you get what you pay for, but this was like indoor camping. If you can afford a little bit extra, stay elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank kathrync1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Ok so it gets a load of bad reviews but it is very central and for where it is very cheap so worth it for a short time. Pros - brilliant location, just a few yards from the Natural History Museum, customer service was good, they were very helpful, baggage - yes it is left in reception but staff are there if anyone is in reception, security cameras on reception. Against - it is dirty, the dirt is ingrained, the staff do try and clean, I saw them out vacuuming lots of times. The carpet was tacky, not sure what with, the fridge in the room didn't work, the shower was dirty and smelt like a sewer so I had a strip wash at the wobbly sink. Not fun in nearly 30 degrees of summer sunshine in central London. My son was oblivious to all this and thought everything was great apart from the fridge not working. Would I go back - possibly, it is a good deal if you can put up with some grubbiness. It needs closing and redecorating. Hey but then it would charge a lot more money.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 944 in London
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Hostel

Address: 14 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 944 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $24 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Acacia Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acacia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing