We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The W14 Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The W14 Kensington
Ranked #16 of 791 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgraceful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I was telephoned after arriving in London to be told by staff at the hotel they had to give my room away to someone else. I insisted they must find me something else as I had already paid a deposit. The caller was rude and hung up saying leave it with me. I arrived and paid £60 for a double room. I opened the door with a key (not a keycard), to bunkbeds, barely any room to move, curtains were rags nailed over the window, no tv, no kettle, no toilet, no shower, no hanging space, not even a bar of soap.
I had been in London for surgery and didnt have the energy to dispute at the time. I booked the hotel through TravelStay and complained through them. They have not published my feedback and weeks later the manager still has not called back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    588
    159
    67
    93
See reviews for
312
364
138
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

staff were condescending when my credit card was declined before trying again and it being accepted. Hygiene terrible - fungal spores from damp, towels sprawled across floors and more so concerning is that it seemed as though i contracted 'threadworm' from this "Hotel" . . . Just bad bad bad!

If you care about the comfortability and hygiene of yourself and those you may be staying with then DO NOT stay here. If location is paramount then Stay at St Christopher's inn On Hammersmith road which is just around the corner.

Also, i contacted them recently over a 'double charge' (charged twice for my one booking), they were very rude i.e. calling me a Liar, even though i had a bank statement that said otherwise - this phone call eventually ended in them putting the phone down on me. A disgrace really, it should be closed down really as also noted by user 'Dereck N'

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The W14 Kensington, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Hi,
Thank you for your review and i am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the hostel in the shared accommodation you had booked for approx. £14-£18 pppn.
When a customer checks in earlier than the normal check in time, of course there are towels and dirty linen on the floor as the cleaning is in process, writing about that is not right. My staff was trying in vain to explain about pre-authorisation of the credit card and you had accepted the same terms whilst making the reservation. Any hotel pre-authorising the card can not release it but is released automatically via the bank in 5-7 working days. It is beyond any hotels control and making an issue about it and exaggerating it on websites like this which are completely un policed is not fair on any business owners. Please accept my apologies once again and hope you had a pleasant journey back home to the least.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

W14 is a great place to stay in London. It's comfortable, clean, well located and has good prices. The staff is very friendly and good people. My experience there was really good. I recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GustavoB518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helsinki
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I was rather impressed with W14. the quiet location and price were outstanding. My room was totally fine and clean. Bathrooms were fine but could do with a little sprucing up. I slept well and the bar area was excellent. The chaps at reception were very helpful and were thoughtful.

Nice areas for meeting people and using the internet. breakfast was good . People have moaned about this on the reviews but waht do you expect for £18 some hotels charge £10-it was a good start to the day

i will certainly recommend this place to freinds and I will look forward to staying there again. i am pleased to have found it-thanks guys andy

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andycaseydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Fungal Spores in all Bathrooms
Urine around toilets
Feces found in show unit, 9 hours for it to be cleaned.
All showers I used had blocked up pipes so you are standing in the water
Bed Sheets used for Curtains
Towels smelt
Not as described, 3 star is way overrated
Terrible service!!!
Complaint formerly lodged with consumer direct
They should not get away with their standards of service.
It was Disgusting!!!!

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The W14 Kensington, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Guest

The W14 Hotel is naturally distressed by such negative reaction for the duration of your stay here, but very much appreciate you taking the time and trouble to appraise us of your stay. I perfectly understand and would like to justify a little about the circumstances involved.

I cannot express how regretfully sorry we are to hear that the bathrooms had fungal spores and blocked drainage. We have regular scheduled shower and sinks drainage cleaning on weekly basis.

As for the bathrooms, you claim that they were not of appropriate use, however, I have personally gone to check the rooms with the head of housekeeping department, and can guarantee that the bathrooms and the rooms are in good condition. The only one shower was out of order and the other guests kept ignoring the out of order sign. The picture seems to be taken between time of getting it cleaned by housekeeping, as the housekeeping report justifies this and when re-tested, they were working well. As far as the towel is concerned it could not have been smelly as we are getting fresh cleaned linen delivered from reputed linen service on daily basis.

I must add that we regularly train our staff to conduct their duties efficiently and effectively, as quality is a very important issue that we raise, and we are constantly thinking of new ways to improve the service and quality at The W14 Hotel.

We don’t think it is fair on a business to comment on their entire product with this much exaggeration for 1 of 32 common showers & toilets for guests use. We would really appreciate if you can take this picture off and give us chance to improve the service of the entire hotel.

I hope this explanation (which should not be misconstructed as an excuse) has shed some light, and please accept our deep regrets and apologies once again for any unpleasantness you have had suffered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struer, Ringkobing, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I was on a trip with my class, and we were 34 persons. We lived in different rooms of 4-6 people. The rooms were okay and there was everything you needed. If I should say something bad it will be the beds, and I don’t think the rooms were big enough for 6 people with luggage. The service and the staff on The W14 Hotel were very good. When we came to the Hotel in the evenings the rooms were clear and the bar was open and they could offer good prices on food and drink. The breakfast was poor and disappointing, but we have a very good trip and the hotel was okay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7600
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The beds were okay, and the rooms were clean.
The breakfast was awfully bad.
The bar and the beers were good and fine prices.
The garden outside was nice place to sit.
The staff was fine except their discrimination between boys and girls.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#437 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Paul's Hotel
#53 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#402 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The W14 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The W14 Kensington

Property: The W14 Kensington
Address: 16-22 Gunterstone Road | West Kensington, London W14 9BU, England (Formerly Ace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 791 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The W14 Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Budget Places, HotelTravel.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Booking.com so you can book your The W14 Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The w14 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing