We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place to stay and within 30 mins of getting to London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Elstree
Ranked #623 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
585 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,117 helpful votes
“What a nice place to stay and within 30 mins of getting to London”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here a couple of times now nice food, great little gym and pool. It's a real nice place to say !!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobsterWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Dear Guest
I was delighted to read your positive review about this hotel on the Trip Advisor website. Thank you for taking the time and trouble post your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I will certainly share your feedback with the rest of the hotel team who all work very hard to ensure that every guest experience is comfortable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London Elstree in the furture, in the meantime Season's Greetings and my best wishes for a prosperous new year!

Yours sincerely
Kevin Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    139
    117
    50
    31
See reviews for
69
86
23
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We only stayed one night but whenever we went to the reception, staff appeared from nowhere to help with any added numbers, same with the bar. They were helpful, plesent, effective and despite one young lady finishing at midnight and starting at 6am she wore just the same smile, credit to her (How she does that I don’t know)

Our room was excellent, I could not fault it, I had a fantastic sleep in a glorious bed.

One major Tip, I would not put you off this hotel at all but be careful with the breakfast. I’ve stayed with Holiday Inn many times in the past, one of the major attractions being the breakfast, it’s all changed.

I was at the reception to order a cab in the evening and someone next to me asked to buy 2 breakfasts coupons for the morning. This was weird, surly this doesn’t apply to me as I‘m a guest, the only time I’ve bought Breakfast coupons were at Greasy Steve’s Café and Haven Holidays. I enquired and apparently I had to pay £15 now for a coupon for 2 or (I think) £13.95 each in the morning if I wanted breakfast. This wasn’t mentioned whilst booking and it wasn’t mentioned whilst checking in. We paid the extra £15 and it wasn’t worth it anyway.

Top tip: If your room doesn’t include breakfast go to a Greasy Steve’s Café or, if you think you had breakfast included and they try to charge you £13.95 a head, it’s not worth it, don’t just think ’what the hell I’m here now, find a Café in Borehamwood and pay £4.50 each.

Otherwise: Stay here, highly recommended, nice people in a nice venue and nice rooms. Just make sure you are clued up before breakfast.

Room Tip: can't help here too much but we were at the rear and the front faces the A1 so I'd say go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at this hotel.

The positive comments you left were a pleasure to read, particularly the ones regarding our team members, I believe I know which lady you are referring to and will make sure she is aware of how impressed you were. I will share all of your review with the whole team as it is encouraging for them to get to know when they get things right, they work so hard to acheive this.

Please accept my sincere apologies that reception did not fully explain your options for breakfast upon your arrival, I will take steps to ensure this does not happen again. We offer a choice of room only and breakfast inclusive rates and make the option of purchasing breakfast vouchers available to people who have chosen room only. Our reason for making it cheaper to purchase a voucher on arrival is so that chef can know how many he is catering for and therefore maintain his standards. £15.00 for a couple (£7.50 each) I think represents very good value for an 'all you can eat' hot and cold buffet breakfast particularly in comparison with the other 4 star hotels in the area. Of course, the option of staying on a room only basis gives our guests the full option of going out to eat if they wish.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your constructive feedback, it is always interesting to read our reveiws and they are a useful way of helping us improve the service we offer to all of our guests.

If there is any way I may be of assistance to you or if you would like to discuss your reveiw in more detail please do not hesitate to contact either myself or my Operations Manager, Shae Walmsley directly.

Yours sincerely
Kevin Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at The Holiday Inn Elstree as part of a London weekend theatre break with a coach party. We expected the usual coach tour second class hotel but was pleasantly surprised at what we got. This hotel is first class and we would recommend it to anyone who seeks a good hotel at a reasonable price.The rooms were very clean warm and comfortable, the bathroom well appointed but as it is in close proximity to a busy road it could be a little noisy if windows were opened.The buffet breakfast offered a variety of different foods to satisfy even the pickiest of eaters and the only criticism is that it could have been a little hotter but nevertheless was enjoyable.We had an evening meal in the hotel which was a buffet carvery and once again this was superb.There was a large choice of options including Gammon, spicy chicken, shepherds pie and salmon plus potatoes and vegetables this was a three course meal with a starter of soup and a sweet afterwards.The hotel boasts a swimming pool and fitness centre where you can burn off all those extra calories after over indulging on the superb meals.We found all the staff welcoming and obliging and would like through this review to thank them all for their hospitality and professionalism.In conclusion this is a superb outer London hotel so if anyone reading this is about to visit London get it booked quick as it is very popular.

Room Tip: Rooms away from road side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving you review on trip advisor following your recent weekend stay with us.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and I will certainly pass on your thanks to the rest of the hotel team, they work very hard to ensure that guests have an enjoyable experience at the hotel and it is encouraging for them when they get positive feedback. I will also let the chefs know that you enjoyed your meals.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London-Elstree in the future.

Yours sinceely
Kevin Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 769 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The hotel are staff are pleasant. The reception area was clean and well staffed. The room was small, but clean. The air con and heating worked very well. The products in the bathroom are horrible and cheap.

The bar area is ok, and the room service food passable. Breakfast was a good standard for a buffet, however at £14 per head is not good value. (go into Borehamwood)

The best hotel of the chains in this area of Borehamwood. shop around for the best rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at this hotel. I was pleased to read the positive comments you left, particularly about our hotel team who work very hard to ensure every guest enjoys their stay - I will certainly pass this on to the people who were on duty during your stay.

We do have a good value breakfast option which is available by purchasing a voucher from reception on check in. This is £15 per couple or £10 per single, I am very sorry that you were not made aware of this upon check-in (I will ensure the reception team are reminded to make all guests on room only rates aware of this offer). Also, a breakfast inclusive rate is normally available via the holiday inn website, we offer a lowest rate guarantee so no need to shop around.

We have not had any other negative comments about our in-room toiletries but I will certainly take your comments on board and review if necessary.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel.
Yours sincerely
Kevin Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel is very easy to find and in a quiet spot just off the M25.
We arrived quite late on a Friday night; it was quiet and calm, and easy to park.
Reception fine, room ok (a little old-fashioned perhaps).
Overall just great!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keble6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us, it is always a interesting to read comments from our guests (especially when they are so positive).

Everyone in the hotel works very hard to ensure that all our guests have a positive, relaxing experience when they stay with us and it is extremely encouraging when someone tells us we are getting it right. I will certainly be sharing your comments with the rest of the hotel team.

Thank you once again staying at the Holiday Inn London-Elstree. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kevin Fraser - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed for 1 night for the first time at this hotel in midweek. It was really very quiet and unusually not many booked in it would seem.
I ate in the bar, food and drink fine but it was cold, heating should of been on I think. Room was clean and above usual standard for other Holiday Inns I have stayed in.
Breakfast was good too and staff were friendly and helpful
Overall my observation is that the place has no atmosphere at all.It feels as though noone else is staying there!
I would go back so don't think it is a poor hotel

Room Tip: I had room ar rear which was quiet. I would imagine rooms at front would suffer from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us, it is always interesting to read feedback from our guests.

Our Hotel Team work very hard to ensure that all our guests have a great experience when they stay with us and it is extremely encouraging when someone tells us we are getting things right. I will certainly be sharing your positive comments with the rest of the hotel team.

I am sorry you felt that the lounge area was chilly, the heating is now on after the Indian Summer we were enjoying recently when it has been very difficult to judge when to switch the heat on! The days you stayed were particularly quiet with several groups who dined out in the evening meaning the public areas were quieter than usual.

Thank you once again staying at the Holiday Inn London-Elstree. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kevin Fraser - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Holiday Inn gets top marks for comfort and service. Location from London is about 25mins by train which isnt half bad. The town of Elstree isnt half bad either.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian-o-mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager065, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Elstree, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving feedback from your recent stay with us, it is always a pleasure to read positive comments from our guests.

Our Team Members work very hard to ensure that all our guests have a positive, relaxing experience when they stay with us and it is extremely encouraging when someone tells us they are giving us top marks for comfort and service! I will certainly be sharing your comments with the rest of the hotel team.

Thank you once again staying at the Holiday Inn London-Elstree. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kevin Fraser - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#302 of 1,067 in London
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Palm Hotel
#527 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Elstree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Elstree

Property: Holiday Inn London - Elstree
Address: Barnet By Pass, London WD6 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#356 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Elstree 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-London Elstree is situated just off the A1, close to both the M25 & M1 motorways and is only 8 miles from the newly rebuilt Wembley Stadium. Elstree and Borehamwood Railway Station is just 2 miles from the hotel making us the ideal base for both the business and leisure traveller, with London Heathrow and London Luton airportswithin just 30 miles of the hotel. The onsite leisure club boasts a range of facilities including an indoor pool, equipped gym, steam room, spa and luxury beauty treatments. All 135 air-conditioned bedrooms at Holiday Inn Elstree provide television with in-house movies, tea and coffee-making facilities, private dial out telephones, laptop safe, trouser press and hairdryer. The meeting facilities are second to none with reliable support services and conference rooms designed for your comfort with 13 meeting and conference rooms with the flexibility to hold either social or business meetings for 2 to 400 persons. All meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Elstree have natural daylight.O'Sullivans Restaurant is an outstanding place to dine, with a variety of tasty dishes to suit all. Alternatively you can chill out in the bar and lounge area. The car park at Holiday Inn London-Elstree has space for up to 300 cars with specialist disabled facilities. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Elstree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Elstree Hotel London
Holiday Inn Borehamwood
Borehamwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing