We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old pub/hotel in pretty Wimbledon”
Review of Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose and Crown
Ranked #48 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely old pub/hotel in pretty Wimbledon”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed one night in this charming location and expect to stay again. Despite being on the High Street we were not disturbed either by street noise or pub goers. It is an old building so there were some strange 'internal sounds' from, I think, the plumbing, however this did not detract from a lovely stay. On a previous trip to the Wimbledon area we had stayed with a hotel chain in a rather industrial location so it was a pleasure to look onto the High Street on Sunday morning and watch the peaceful march of horses heading to the snow covered Common. The other big plus was the freshly cooked breakfast rather than the usual buffet selection. Would recommend

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and if you are of a philosophical bent you can look out over Eagle House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMcCrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    42
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
53
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Rose & Crown never disappoints. This must have been my tenth weekend visit over several years and every time the rooms, the service, the breakfast have been enjoyable experiences.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsinkiHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This exceeded my expectations hugely! The room was so comfortable. You can even select deluxe feather pillows if you so desire. The bathroom and the products were fab and it felt I was staying in a deluxe hotel rather than an 'inn'. The staff were friendly and really accommodating. The full english breakfast is better than mine - its what english breakfasts are all about. The location is perfect for hobnobbing around Wimbledon village with the posh people, visiting sick people at Parkside Hospital (or having treatment) or even checking out the fantastic Buddhst Temple which is simply stunning. It is of course extremely handy for Wimbledon tennis and the Common. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirriemuir
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed at the Rose and Crown in Nov lovely place very quiet even although the pub was next door The room was excellent and suitable for disabled the staff were very helpful opening doors for me as my husband is in a wheelchair We had lunch a few times in the pub which was very good .the breakfasts were very good also Would come to stay again if we are ever back in the area

Room Tip: we were in room 4 which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Had a lovely weekend break. Nicky the landlady was very welcoming and done all she could to make our stay perfect, barmen were very good as well . All in all it was very clean, the rooms were very nice and spacious . Food was excellent apart from the waiter taking the wrong order but this was quickly rectified with no fuss . Would defiantly recommend. Thanks very much!!

Room Tip: get a top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We've stayed at the Rose & Crown on a couple of occasions when we've been visiting London. The hotel is next to a busy pub, but don't let that put you off because the sound-proofing is excellent, and you're not aware of any noise from the pub at all. The only annoyance might be if you're trying to check-in at a busy time, becuase the check-in desk is next to the bar, and it can get quite crowded/noisy around there.

The hotel is in Wimbledon Village, which is a 15-minute (uphill) walk from Wimbledon train/Underground station. Or you could take a taxi or bus from the station to the hotel. Wimbledon Village itself is very attractive, and has a range of boutique shops, and some decent restaurants (at a range of price levels). Wimbledon has excellent transport connections, so makes a good base for exploring London and SE England.

The hotel has free parking next door, and there always appear to be some spaces there.

The staff have always been very helpful and professional, and the breakfast is excellent, with a choice of both continental and "full English" options. I can never resist the full English!

There is Wi-Fi, and the rooms are well appointed and have comfortable beds.

Prices vary a bit, depending on the day of the week, time of year, and how far ahead you book, but they are always very reasonable, considering what the hotel offers.

We've never eaten lunch or dinner at the pub (just because we've been meeting friends elsewhere), but the pub kitchen has received good reviews, and the menu always looks very appealing.

Highly recommended - and would be very handy for Wimbledon fortnight, if you can get a room!

Room Tip: Not Rooms 1 or 2, as they tend to be quite noisy. Upstairs rooms are a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angoose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here on 15/9 and it was brilliant we ate there too and it was excellent and very reasonable. We'll be back

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#531 of 1,068 in London
619 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#459 of 1,068 in London
511 reviews
Wimbledon Hotel
#720 of 1,068 in London
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wimbledon
The Dog & Fox
The Dog & Fox
#54 of 554 in London
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Property: Rose and Crown
Address: 55 High Street Wimbledon | Wimbledon Village, London SW19 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose and Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing