We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rockwell
Nearby Hotels
US$284
US$268
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
US$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$230
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
US$195
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$205
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
US$946
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$212
US$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosewood London(London)
US$549
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
289
246
76
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
246
76
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscromwell roadearls courtsuperior single roomwhite company toiletriesgarden roomearl s courtminute walksmall hotelvictoria and albert museumbusy roadnatural history museumsouth kensingtonshower cubiclecooked breakfastlondon hotelcomfortable hotellarge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

As far as London hotels go this is outstanding value. Tastefully styled, clean, comfortable and warm. The only serious complaints you could make about it are that the rooms are very small. The staff are all as helpful as you would expect, if a little cold on occasion. The area is not particularly exciting, but the tube is close and there are plenty of cabs nearby. recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tamaramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your comments about the value of our rooms. The single rooms are small however the deluxe doubles are much larger.
The area is Earls Court in Kensington. It is a great base form which to explore London as a tourist. The V and A, Science Museum and Natural History museum are withing walking distance as are Hyde Park and Kensington Palace.
You rightly point out that it is also well connected to The City and Heathrow via tube.

Many thanks for your overwhelmingly supportive review.

Regards, Fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here for one night in a single room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was of a high standard, the shower could of been abit more powerful but hey its London! The location was central within walking distance of shops, pubs, bars, restraunts and the tube. Would stay here again good value for central London.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boltonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Picked this hotel for its closeness to Earl's Court station which is a large and clean station with lift access and is one of the stops on the train line from Heathrow airport.
The hotel is near to many shops, laudrobar and if you take a walk about 10 mins, there's a Sainsbury supermarket which opens at 630am.
Hotel is clean and has a lift and the room is spacious. Bed is comfortable and though window facing road, little noise at all.
We went to London for our honeymoon and it was a good trip. The hotel staff are friendly and organised a taxi for us (turned out to be a fancy mercendes car, same cost as a normal taxi.. nice surprise for us). Didnt get to try their restaurant but ordered room service (pork) and the food was fresh and delicious. Would try their restaurant next time.

Room Tip: quieter room with a window.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magentapurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank your for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room service. If you come again please sample the restaurant. There is often a half board package on our website that you might like to book.

Regards, Fred Bartlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed here for one day only on a recent business trip and got a very good deal through one of those hotel sites which included a room upgrade that made all the difference for me. Everything looks very neat, very new, sparkling new. The linen, the minibar, it's all there. But the area is boring. It's in the middle of Crommwell Road, and there is nothing really interesting at walking distance. But London being London, this turned out to be a very good deal, considering what I paid and what I got in return. But you'll need transportation to and from here.

Room Tip: Look for room upgrades
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

We are very glad that you liked the hotel and thought it such good value.
Although it may not appear to be a particularly interesting area. There are may things to see that are within walking distance such as: Hyde Park, Kensington Palace, The V and A, Science Museum, Natural History Museum. We are also very close to Kensington High Street one of London's best shopping streets.

Regards, Fred Bartlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for two nights. Booked a double standard room after reading one reviewers note that single-bed rooms have no windows. If you've ever stayed in London, you already know that you shouldn't have high expectations from a hotel unless you pay very top dollars. (Even in that case, the result may be a bit disappointing but that's another review). With this in mind, I can comfortably say that Rockwell is worth the money you pay. My room had decent space (again, for London standards) and was clean, nicely decorated. Bathroom was nice too but the shower cabin was too small - it reminded me of airplane lavatories in terms of space. The hotel is located in a very nice area, you have a nice walk up to Knightsbridge probably in about 20-25 minutes, visit the Natural History museum nearby or take the subway via Earl's Court (Piccadilly line - the line that most tourist use) metro station which is minutes away from the hotel. Overall, it is a good London hotel. I plan to stay there next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your positive review, paritcularly with regards to the cleanliness. Our showers vary in size so if you want a larger shower please ask reception.

Regards, Fred Bartlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews