We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rockwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rockwell
Ranked #297 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Zele, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy and Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Not too far from the city center, close to 2 major underground lines, lies The Rockwell. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself is very clean and beautiful, a cosy place to stay and the 'Full English' is great in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your comments about breakfast and the location.
Regards, Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    214
    73
    38
    18
See reviews for
69
216
116
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

As far as London hotels go this is outstanding value. Tastefully styled, clean, comfortable and warm. The only serious complaints you could make about it are that the rooms are very small. The staff are all as helpful as you would expect, if a little cold on occasion. The area is not particularly exciting, but the tube is close and there are plenty of cabs nearby. recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamaramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your comments about the value of our rooms. The single rooms are small however the deluxe doubles are much larger.
The area is Earls Court in Kensington. It is a great base form which to explore London as a tourist. The V and A, Science Museum and Natural History museum are withing walking distance as are Hyde Park and Kensington Palace.
You rightly point out that it is also well connected to The City and Heathrow via tube.

Many thanks for your overwhelmingly supportive review.

Regards, Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here for one night in a single room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was of a high standard, the shower could of been abit more powerful but hey its London! The location was central within walking distance of shops, pubs, bars, restraunts and the tube. Would stay here again good value for central London.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Picked this hotel for its closeness to Earl's Court station which is a large and clean station with lift access and is one of the stops on the train line from Heathrow airport.
The hotel is near to many shops, laudrobar and if you take a walk about 10 mins, there's a Sainsbury supermarket which opens at 630am.
Hotel is clean and has a lift and the room is spacious. Bed is comfortable and though window facing road, little noise at all.
We went to London for our honeymoon and it was a good trip. The hotel staff are friendly and organised a taxi for us (turned out to be a fancy mercendes car, same cost as a normal taxi.. nice surprise for us). Didnt get to try their restaurant but ordered room service (pork) and the food was fresh and delicious. Would try their restaurant next time.

Room Tip: quieter room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magentapurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank your for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room service. If you come again please sample the restaurant. There is often a half board package on our website that you might like to book.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
256 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed here for one day only on a recent business trip and got a very good deal through one of those hotel sites which included a room upgrade that made all the difference for me. Everything looks very neat, very new, sparkling new. The linen, the minibar, it's all there. But the area is boring. It's in the middle of Crommwell Road, and there is nothing really interesting at walking distance. But London being London, this turned out to be a very good deal, considering what I paid and what I got in return. But you'll need transportation to and from here.

Room Tip: Look for room upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We are very glad that you liked the hotel and thought it such good value.
Although it may not appear to be a particularly interesting area. There are may things to see that are within walking distance such as: Hyde Park, Kensington Palace, The V and A, Science Museum, Natural History Museum. We are also very close to Kensington High Street one of London's best shopping streets.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for two nights. Booked a double standard room after reading one reviewers note that single-bed rooms have no windows. If you've ever stayed in London, you already know that you shouldn't have high expectations from a hotel unless you pay very top dollars. (Even in that case, the result may be a bit disappointing but that's another review). With this in mind, I can comfortably say that Rockwell is worth the money you pay. My room had decent space (again, for London standards) and was clean, nicely decorated. Bathroom was nice too but the shower cabin was too small - it reminded me of airplane lavatories in terms of space. The hotel is located in a very nice area, you have a nice walk up to Knightsbridge probably in about 20-25 minutes, visit the Natural History museum nearby or take the subway via Earl's Court (Piccadilly line - the line that most tourist use) metro station which is minutes away from the hotel. Overall, it is a good London hotel. I plan to stay there next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your positive review, paritcularly with regards to the cleanliness. Our showers vary in size so if you want a larger shower please ask reception.

Regards, Fred Bartlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed at the Rockwell for one day only in December. The staff was very helpful and friendly. (I booked for the wrong day and so I arrived without proper reservation and it was no problem.) The hotel's decoration is very nice, comfortable, it has a homey feel. My room was quite small (it was a single room) and the only problem I had was the lack of hot water when I wanted to take a shower at night. (In the morning, there was hot water.) I guess that must be some issue with the capacity of the water heater. Anyway, my overall experience was very good and I recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: single room is small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredBartlett, Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for you nice review. The 'problem' with the shower has been remedied.
Regards, Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#282 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#251 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#445 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Property: The Rockwell
Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing