We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can you expect”
Review of Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pacific Hotel
Ranked #957 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Åstorp Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What can you expect”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A receptionist who couldn't care less. Watching TV was better than talking to the guests. He even had the audacity to tell us to change from a tripple to a double without any money back. This was done ten minutes after we arrived and had paid him 815,15 pounds in advance. We of course refused.
The breakfast was the poorest I have ever experienced in any hotel in London. 2 eggs that locked more poached than fried, One (1) slice of bacon.All completely cold!! Toast, butte,r marmelade and tea or coffee. Next time I will book in the same area (within easy reach of everything) but without breakfast as there were several places advertising Full English Breakfast for £5,50 and upwards. It cannot possibly be worse than the Pacific Hotel.
The toilet stank, the shower was small enough to make you go in and back out. Fixed shower made it totally impossible to shower without washing your hair. Toilet floor 1 inch higher than bedroom, should you get water on the floor it ran right into the room and the fitted carpet!
The tripple room was ice cold, the radiator would not come on, no knobs or such things. After 30 hours and a lot of nagging at the receptionist he finally found his time to find the janitor to absolutely no avail. It ended with him having to supply an electric heater.
On top of all this we received a hand written bill for 815 pounds with no specifies VAT and where did the 15 pence go.
The rooms were just above stampsized, nowhere to put your suitcase. Wardrobe and bedside tables OK and beds fairly comfortable even if somewhat narrow for two persons.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Schmidt1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    52
    49
    61
See reviews for
68
39
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was quite frankly the worst hotel we have ever had the misfortune to stay in! We originally booked to stay St. Georges Inn through travelrepublic however when we arrived we were sent away as they claimed our booking was never sent to them. Firstly we were relieved to be getting out there to what we were told would be a 'better standard of hotel', this was until the taxi driver told us we were being sent to the worst street in London. When we arrived at the Pacific hotel we were first led to believe that we would not be given rooms however after much deliberation they assigned us to some three bedroom hell hole.....we wish they hadn't. We went upto our room to find a collapsing wardrobe, which completely fell apart when opened, brown dirt in the bath and a sink with no draining system which regurgitated everything that went down. We were not given the option of a shower as we were not provided with any towels, even after asking at reception. Furthermore the door did not close properly unless forced shut, the window also failed to close but we weren’t cold as we were trapped in the sweltering heat as the radiators were turned to full and wouldn’t turn off. The noise was constant all night with sirens and shouting outside and we failed to sleep on the hard beds due to the noise and heat. Then came the worst horror of all, on closer inspection of the bedding we discovered a dried white stain which resembled semen. We decided to avoid the full English breakfast to prevent more trauma and left as early as possible. As for the advertised refurbishment ......highly debateable. DO NOT STAY HERE! Anyone who was turned away from this hotel was lucky.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Tiny room with a very hard bed. Curtains that did not cover the window. A shower that at best was dripping, forget to wash our hair. Sitting on the toilet you have your knees under the zink.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I booked this hotel via lastminute.com but the images shown to me on the website didn't match up with the hotel at all. I was under the impression I was booking somewhere with grounds and a pool, couldn't have been more wrong. Stuck with the resevation but really wish I hadn't. The room was grim, wall paper peeling off the walls and that type of thing. There was a single bed in our room that we didn't ask for or want and it took up precious room space. The Grisham two doors down the road was far nicer when i stayed there last year

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel was cheap but not cheerful. It is worth paying a little extra for a better standard.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swingelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I booked this hotel via lastminute.com for an overnight stay. As soon as I arrived, the clerk told me that my reservation had been cancelled and that I was to be moved to another hotel in the vicinity; 'the Ventures Hotel'. I had received no notification of this cancellation from lastminute.

This Ventures Hotel turned out to be, quite simply, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in (other reviews on here would back up tis view). From reading other reviews on here, it appears that this is common practice for Pacific customers to be sent onwards to the Ventures Hotel. I would strongly recommend not booking with this hotel as this kind of treatment is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BusTravellerIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 km away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#749 of 1,067 in London
383 reviews
0.1 km away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#809 of 1,067 in London
605 reviews
0.1 km away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#859 of 1,067 in London
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#644 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
0.2 km away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#788 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
0.1 km away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#615 of 1,067 in London
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel

Property: Pacific Hotel
Address: 108 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #957 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing