We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montagu Place Hotel
Ranked #34 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I read that the rooms were small so booked a Swanky room and was glad I did as even this room was not overly large. It was well appointed, however, with complimentary water, fruit and tea and had both a bath and a shower (the bathroom could have used a few more towels though).

The location is great--a short cab ride from Paddington and close to Baker Street and its tube stop. The staff are incredibly nice, warm and helpful but they are from outside the UK so English skills and local knowledge vary.

The reception area doubles as the bar so liquid refreshment--both alcoholic and non--is available around the clock. The breakfast, however, was sad--lots of packaged foods so I would recommend going around the corner to Canteen on Baker Street instead.

The experience was very homey and personal and the Montagu is a good choice for those interested in small townhouse hotels. (like many hotels in this category this is probably not a good choice if stairs are a problem).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife. Great location, walking distance from Marylebone and Baker St. stations and within easy travelling distance to most of London's sites, but far enough from the main roads to ensure that the local bars and restaurants weren't full of tourists (would recommend the Bee Hive pub and Ishtar Restaurant). Staff are exceptionally polite and helpful . Most surprising was how quiet it was, we had a room on the top floor facing the back and we never heard a sound at night.

Minor criticism was that our room was quite small

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We were given a room one flight up from the reception. It was small, and quite tight walking around the bed. But we got a good deal for the one night we stayed there so I thought the size of the room was adequate. The bathroom is also small, just enough room for one person. The edge of the door just grazes the edge of the sink when you open/close it. The shower stall itself had lots of room.

Aside for the size of the room and bathroom, I really liked this hotel. The room had a high ceiling with a nice view of this quiet, little street behind the building. Walls were painted a lovely pale lavender colour with white trim. The bathroom was stocked with Molton Brown toiletries. And the bed! It was high, soft mattress without being too soft, the sheets were of high quality, pillows were fluffy yet firm, and duvet was not very thick yet was so warm and heavy. They also had a tray full of complimentary tea, coffee, water, and biscuits.

I don't mind how big or small a hotel room is, it's the little details that counts. And this hotel definitely paid attention to the little details. The location is ideal as well. The street itself is quiet, no car/crowd traffic and it's a short ten minutes walk to main Oxford Street.

The staff was very kind and willing to help you with anything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This hotel is well located if you want the west side of London - a short cab ride (£7) from Paddington and the Heathrow Express and an 8 minute walk to Baker Street Tube. When we checked in we had a choice of a room on the 1st floor or one in the basement which didn't sound great but was in fact a much bigger room and the one we took. Neither room was huge, but this is London! The bathroom was small but modern, spotless and well equipped with Molten Brown toiletries. Comfortable bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary tea, coffee and water. Did not have breakfast so can not comment on this aspect.
Sounds ok so far, but what sets this place apart from the pack is the service - the staff are simply brilliant. They are courteous, friendly and very helpful. If you need the internet, they lend you a laptop. If you need a restaurant they give you some suggestions and print out a map. They take care of your luggage and generally nothing seems to be too much trouble. It's a small boutique-style hotel where the personal service makes it a stand-out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simmobrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Four wonderful days in London in the right place.
Central locations in a quite street but close to everything.
The closest Metro station is at 5 minutes walk far in Baker street and the area is full of good, nice restaurant good for any taste.
The staff is superb, ready to try to help you for any kind of problem, you can really feel as you are at home,
Thanks from all of us

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcofedostiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Arrived late after dinner with friends but were promptly let in and taken up to our room - 33 on the top floor - perhaps not recommended if you are either pregnant or unfit.

Small room but well set out and very nicely decorated. Very comfortable bed. Good double-glazing kept out the noise from the street. Good bathroom (powerful shower) with nice products.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Had to ask twice before the waitress took our order for eggs and coffee. Eggs, when they arrived, we rubbery and tasteless. Otherwise, continental breakfast was good.

Overall, a good location for us - 10 minutes from Marylebone station - and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Had a fantastic weekend at Montagu Place, service was excellent from all the staff. Checking in was made so easy - sipping on a glass of champagne. Room was lovely and will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbeyC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#71 of 1,077 in London
3,665 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,077 in London
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,068 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,077 in London
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Place Hotel

Address: 2-3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#66 Family Hotel in London
#88 Romantic Hotel in London
#153 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $236 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, boutique hotel, set in a listed Georgian townhouse, offers you stylish accommodation in a quiet residential street, just a short walk from some of London's leading thoroughfares. With just 16 bedrooms, the hotel is small enough to be cozy and welcoming, yet offers the amenities you would associate with a much larger hotel. With dedicated staff providing a high level of personal service Montagu Place can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Montagu Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Place London
Hotel Montagu Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing