We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the basics done well” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montagu Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montagu Place Hotel
Ranked #116 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All the basics done well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Friendly service, but not intrusive. Room was small, but that's expected in Central London. Very clean. Proper coffee, tea and water all complimentary. Comfy bed. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tvjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    118
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
234
43
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

By far and away, the friendliest, most helpful and efficient team of people, I have ever come across on my travels. Being a boutique hotel, it makes you feel you have met friends rather than employed staff. Thank you, Michael and all the guys for a memorable,comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Top floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ever2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This review is overdue, but when one looks back and misses the place they have been, the feedback is one that is better late than never. I was with my 8 year old for a holiday and this wonderful hotel was home during our UK trip on 2 occasions. It is central and close to Euston / Paddington. Yet located in a quiet road, with easy reach to basic food and services. Oxford Street (Selfridges side) is a pleasant 7 min walk. The hotel is tastefully furnished. We chose the Comfy Room which was cosy and the details such as choice of toiletries, beverages in the rooms, bedding standards just reflect the quality behind the style. But the heartbeat must be the personal service that made us feel at home, safe and taken care of. Whether it is the earnest receptionist who (without asking) helped with the luggage, or the attentive staff at the breakfast table, it is these efforts and thoughts that go such a long way in reminding we made a right accommodation choice, and more importantly making the holiday so memorable. Thank you, Montagu Plc. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Loved both our rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bishan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We (my boyfriend and I) stayed here in august for his birthday and we were not disappointed. I had only been to London on day trips before and took some consideration into booking a hotel as i didnt want to pay lots of money for the wrong thing. I got a great price for the room and booked through laterooms and this was definitely worth it.
We booked a 'cosy' room and eventhough this was a smaller room, it was perfectly adequate.
The hotel was relatively easy to find, and only a few minutes walk away from madame tussauds and bakers street underground, making it easy to get anywhere in london.
After a busy day in london, we came back to the hotel to get ready for a meal at jwsteakhouse (separate review) and we were unfortunate enough to have been caught in severe rain which meant we were both looking forward to a nice hot shower. I was very impressed with the shower, and the molten brown toiletries. It made the stay just a little bit better. The bathroom was lovely, maybe a little on the small side, but that wasnt of any bother, nice fresh towels too. The bed linen was lovely, right down to the pillows and sheets.
The staff very helpful and when we went down to get some drinks at about 11pm this was no trouble. I wish we had included breakfast, as it looked delicious the next morning.
If i was in london i would definitely come back to this hotel, hopefully will in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jade199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Very nice small hotel in an excellent location. We had a room on 3rd floor and lots of steps but the staff where very efficient in bringing our luggage to our room. The room was a nice size but a very small but adequate bathroom. Would have been nice to have a small bar fridge in the room. We were exhausted on our arrival after a long flight from Australia and we ordered some Thai recommended by the hotel staff which was delivered promptly to the hotel. The staff member (sorry, I cant remember names) made up a table for us and we received a complimentary glass of wine to enjoy with the meal which was delicious. We were visiting London to surprise our son on his 40th birthday and the night of the birthday party we were asked to baby sit our 4 yr old grandaughter so we took her back to the hotel and asked for a mattress or fold up bed for her. We waited but it never arrived so that was the only disappointing part of our 2 night stay in the hotel. We hadn't requested it earlier as we didnt know we would have her with us so it was perhaps too late in the evening to find one for her.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneCazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Nothing is a bother for the staff at this place, from getting an ironing board, to an umbrella, to flagging a taxi from the main street and mineral water after an obvious shopping trip. They are just so quick off the mark to attend to your needs. It is really one plus factor to stay at this place.

There are no lifts in the hotel but the staff will help you with your bags. I had the basement unit which was larger than the upstairs units, but still amply heated. Free wifi is a plus as is late night dinner which can be served because they tie up with a Thai restaurant.

The hotel has no gym but they have vouchers to a nearby one. It's 3 bus stops from Marble Arch and just one from Baker Street station. Excellent location.

Room Tip: The basement unit is really not bad if you don't need to look out of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busybeesbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I had high hopes for this hotel but was bitterly disappointed. We usually say at the Hilton but its prices were a little too high this time. I had booked a comfy room but was upgraded to a fancy room number 14 on the first floor. I cannot really fault the room, clean, complimentary water, tea and coffee, free wifi and lovely bed linen. I did find the mattress a little hard for my taste but the pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was small but well appointed. We were facing the street but traffic noise wasn't a problem. The real problem was from the inconsiderate male guests above us who woke us up after midnight and kept us awake until gone 2.00am with their talking and laughter. I know the hotel is in a listed building but it really would be good if the owners could consider better sound proofing the rooms. My husband had business meetings the following day and was not feeling in the best frame of mind after the disturbed night. We reported our disappointment to the receptionoist at check-out (we had decided not to stay the second night) and she immediately gave us a 50% rebate on the second night, the cost of which was fully reimbursed by the manager when he came on duty the following day. I am sorry to buck the trend of the reviews for this hotel but unfortunately we cannot choose our fellow guests.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a top floor room even though there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron D, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the facilities, location, cleanliness, room amenities and hotel as a whole, however extremely disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay and I would like to extend my sincere apologies.
In regards the noise you experienced I would like to thank you for addressing this. The building of the Hotel is a listed Georgian House hence we cannot modify the structure because of the remarkable historical value of this property however we recently had managed to soundproof a majority of our rooms to prevent our future guests from similar negative experience.
Moreover as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest value, may you give us the chance to make your next stay with us nothing else but perfect, please do feel free to contact us directly and we will make sure for that to happen.
Once again please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by other guests and I hope this experience will not deter your from staying with us in the future.
Warm regards,
Arron Dorjbat - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#141 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#51 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#215 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#279 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Place Hotel

Property: Montagu Place Hotel
Address: 2-3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in London
#92 Family Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#153 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, boutique hotel, set in a listed Georgian townhouse, offers you stylish accommodation in a quiet residential street, just a short walk from some of London's leading thoroughfares. With just 16 bedrooms, the hotel is small enough to be cozy and welcoming, yet offers the amenities you would associate with a much larger hotel. With dedicated staff providing a high level of personal service Montagu Place can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Montagu Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Place London
Hotel Montagu Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing