We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #106 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trendy hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a nice stay in this trendy hotel. Nice atmosphere, good service, comfortable rooms and nice and lite breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live_Juvelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,949
    1,342
    198
    55
    35
See reviews for
454
2,145
308
785
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had read about the Hoxton's reputation for quality and price as well as it's £1 deals (which I've never been able to get!) and booking in advance got a good deal we booked it for my Birthday weekend.
We found it easily from the tube station, our first impression was not super as you enter via the bar and at around 9 on a Friday night festivities were in full swing and we had our 6 year old daughter with us! - we did not need to worry - once in our room we heard nothing of the merry making downstairs!
At the desk the receptionist booked us all in with ease, and then looked down at our daughter, "do you need a bed for the little girl?" she asked.
"of course!", I replied !I booked for two adults and a child!".
"oh, you need to put it down in the box for additional requirements, I'll speak to house keeping...."
That was the only hic-cup in the entire weekend we wnet up to the room, by the time we had our shoes off there was a knock on the door and two housekeeping staff were there with a put-up bed, which was put up and made in minutes
Tho room was stylish and spacious with a good sized comfy bed, the free water and coffee making facilities in the room were good, especially in central london.
We put our bags out for our included pret breakfast which was fresh and tasty the next morning (and the next - not sure I could have eaten it for more than two days)
All in all there was nothing at all I could complain about or consider to be a negative, the hotel is pleasant, comfy, attentive etc.
Will definately try again in the future, we also ate on the Friday at Jamie oliver's Fifteen which is a few minutes walk around the corner. (see other review)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Have stayed here when in London on business. Great hotel with a quirky feel to the rooms, like the paper, scissors, stone cushions on the bed. The rooms are a good enough size for 1 person, with a comfortable double bed, room to move about, a desk to work at and FREE WIFI! Reasonable sized bathroom with a good shower cubicle, plenty of cupboard and drawer space, a sofa and the usual TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The Pret light breakfast bag delivered to the room, at a time specified by you, is a nice touch.

The bar is vibrant and bustling with a good mix of business and leisure guests of all ages and nationalities. The staff are young but efficient and lots of fun! The Hoxton Bar and Grill serves freshly made and delicious food. The grill area is in full view so no room for error. I was impressed with the service and the quality, as we're my colleagues. Gets very busy, so booking is advisable. Looking forward to my next trip and stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egon_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent a week here. The Hoxton has an attitude of really wanting to do the right thing for its customers, while being amusing, and without charging them a lot for it. It does have some possible downsides, but if they are not a problem for you, this is a great choice.

We liked:
helpful, friendly, staff
free wifi
free bag of breakfast goodies every morning
free printing
decent restaurant
little store across the street with everything from fruit to sim cards and batteries
great gastropub, the Princess of Shoreditch, right around the corner
tomb of Thomas Bayes within walking distance (interesting if you know Bayes Theorem)

We didn't like:
reservations must be pre-paid, and there is no refund
industrial decor in the hallways (galvanized steel plate and bolts)
nearest tube station is on the Northern line, which is almost never what you want, typically requiring an extra change
small rooms

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend as my brother did the London Marathon. There was 10 of us including 2 children under 6. I had stayed here before and after a great visit recommended it to my family and they were not disappointed.
The staff are so friendly, welcoming and always smiling! The hotel is so trendy and quirky. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfy beds.
The grill is gorgeous food and again all staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble.
Will be returning very soon just love it and can't fault it!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank louise1970-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maesteg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Another great stay at the Hoxton. The hotel never fails to deliver, ran the marathon up there & it was a great base for runners. Also the burger I had in the restaurant on the Sunday evening was a great post marathon meal cooked to perfection washed down with a couple or more pints of Guinness. Always stay here when returning to London and Shoreditch has great nightlife too.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeelMaesteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caephilly
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here the night before a big interview and apart from the alarm in the office block behind (which went off twice for 20 mins) it was fantastic. Great food, and possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Spotlessley clean, great shower. Could have done with some more normal tea bags though :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,068 in London
1,531 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#134 of 1,068 in London
421 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#344 of 1,068 in London
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#133 of 1,068 in London
347 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#321 of 1,068 in London
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#94 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing