We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,208)
Filter reviews
5,208 results
Traveller rating
3,408
1,459
239
62
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,408
1,459
239
62
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast bag paper bag old street tube station yogurt fresh milk in the fridge great hotel cool hotel brick lane spitalfields market free wifi northern line great shower little touches rooms are small comfy bed hotel bar quiet room
Filter
Updating list...
652 - 657 of 5,208 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2017

My husband and I stayed at this cool and trendy hotel as our friends wife was holding her 40th bday party there. Wow what a great hotel. Staff were friendly, welcoming and very accommodating. The design of the whole hotel was so cool and the room had everything you needed for a city break! We loved the quirky brown paper bag put on our door next morning for a light brekie. Fresh orange juice,not that diluted sweet rubbish! Lovely pot of granola with yoghurt and fruit, and banana. When we got to our room there was a big brown box left on the bed with a sign in it saying open if you dare..... inside was a lovely foil ballooon with a lovely message on a Saturday it was also our anniversary too! What a lovely touch! We will definitely return even though the a/c was not brilliant, but they offered to move us immediately which was a lovely offer AND we got an upgrade as well as we were celebrating a special event. Thank you Horton!

Room tip: Ask for a high floor
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pippie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

GREAT to hear you guys loved your time at The Hoxton and that the room had everything you needed. Lovely to know you made good use of the brekkie bag and liked the balloon! See you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

The best rating because of the warm welcome. Instead of having an awkward nap in the lobby after one of those nasty early flights, I was told in the morning, that my room is already ready. I was pleased until the receptionist told me about the upgrade — then I was truly surprised.
The Hoxton is a modern example of British design with a hipness factor, still, there’s a certain sense for cosiness. A good reason for staying here are the two fireplaces and the snug armchairs, and in every chamber and corner seem to hide dozens of books. A lot of people come here with their laptops, pads and work to do. On the other hand, since Hoxton Grill is well attended and the bar much sought-after, it could get pretty noisy in the hotel, especially on weekends. To have an all-out mediocre taste of music is definitely an advantage then.
Apart from that: picked out staff, kind and so attentive. Thank you all.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnpj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Great to hear you loved The Hoxton and scored an early check in — we'll always do what we can to get you in early, jet lag is the WORST. Great to hear you scored an upgrade and loved the room and the vibe throughout the hotel. We'll hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

The staff here is well trained and goes out of their way to help in a wide varieties of ways. I found myself "stuck" in London beyond my original departure date and the staff worked overtime to help accommodate us even while the hotel was fully booked. And during our extended stay my partner developed a tooth abscess that required emergency attention. The staff explained that we could get help at the local hospital and they would arrange transport and a private room for a couple days recovery from surgery. Now that is incredible service on many levels.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pablokski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Brilliant to hear you loved your time at The Hox and the team went above and beyond to help in every way. Yikes - sorry to hear about the hospital visit but great to know all was sorted out! See you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Comfy rooms and lively bar, great crash pad for a night in London. Vibrant, fun hotel in a good location in Shoreditch. Nice grill, but also near to other good restaurants, bars and cubs. Really lovely staff.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clewills1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Thanks for your feedback, great to hear you enjoyed The Hox and loved the room and the vibe in the bar. See you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

The Hoxton has always been our first choice hotel on our infrequent visits to London but, sad to say, we may look elsewhere next time.
Our 'roomy' room on the 6th floor was excellent. Comfy bed and pillows, spacious bathroom and a great view of the Shard. What was less impressive was the service. Tea and coffee weren't replenished on any of the days during our stay and we also had to get breakfast bags from reception. Smiling prettily each time doesn't sort things out. An apology would have been nice and some action even better. We were also less than pleased to be disturbed at 8-20 am on the last morning of our stay by someone wanting to clean the room.
Other reviewers have mentioned the café/bar and it is a bit of a problem. We never managed to get a seat there in the daytime, due to the large number of people using the free WiFi. Few of them appeared to be drinking or eating so what the hotel gains from this, I'm not sure. Evenings were very crowded and, although this isn't a problem in itself, we got fed up of fighting our way through the smokers congregating outside the front door. On the last evening, we were pushed and jostled and I narrowly avoided getting a cigarette in my face. Surely, one of the jobs of the security staff on the door should be to keep it clear so that people can get in and out?
Perhaps we're just getting too old for The Hoxton. There is so much to commend it but we really felt that it was a case of style over substance this time.
Lots of happy memories, though!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Thanks for your review. So sorry to hear your recent trip to The Hox wasn't as great as the rest — that's a real shame. Sounds like the ball was dropped a couple times which is a real shame. Next time you're with us, please let us know (caroline@thehox.com) so we can make sure the visit is tip top (as it should be!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews