We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nothing special, but very good for the price, clean and excellent transport links” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wardonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wardonia Hotel
Ranked #504 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but very good for the price, clean and excellent transport links”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I've rated this hotel as Very Good based upon it's price. Was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

Travelled with a colleague on business. Rooms are admittedly small - the bed was positioned in a recess between the shower room and the wall - so if you are over 6ft 2" your feet will be up against the wall! Shower room was very clean and modern though. There was a small TV, but didn't use it.

It served our requirments for a few hours sleep. Why pay more when you can get a quiet, clean, safe, comfortable enough room that's only 300 yards away from King Cross?

No breakfast - but plenty of places nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank draig_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    418
    256
    68
    37
See reviews for
103
355
172
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pesaro, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Ok it's clean and it looks quite renewed but it's too small, even for a couple of days. I don't pretend a palace but I went with my girlfriend and there wasn't space for two standing people, only a very small double bad and another square metre for anything else, luggage, shoes, jackets, bags. We had to keep our luggages under the bed and to rummage in them, one at a time with the other laying in bed. The bathroom seemed a dollhouse one, but nice.
Maybe I picked up the smallest one and If it wasn't for the room space, the hotel would be a fine accomodation, very close to King's Cross Tube station, which it's not a nice area itself, but very confortable to reach any other part of the city, by tube (many lines) or buses.
At the end I think it's not very bad, i know london standards and this one guarantees at least a good level of cleaness, but maybe changing the area it's possible to find some better.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank godfew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

This little hotel makes my trip to London a joy, visited 4 times over 2 years and never had a bad experiance.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joedono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The Wardonia is nothing special, it is cheap compared to many other hotels in the area and only a 5 minute walk from St Pancreas to catch the Eurostar. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and the TV got reception.

There are no lifts in this hotel and the stairs are quite narrow, I wouldn't fancy taking large suitcases to a room - luckily we just had carry on bags.

There are plenty of options for dinner within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxandsightsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Pros - as mentioned location here is a clear winner, not just to st. pancras/kings cross station (direct line to/from the airport) but to the undergrounds, fast food spots, restaurants, pubs, grocery store, money exchange, atm and even a laundromat all within a couple min. walk.
- When the service was good it was great, very helpful depending on who you got and when you got them. It seems like it is run by a family or relatives who also looked after their children there so if you get one that's done the late shift with the kids, responses may be a little abrupt.
- We had to have a box picked up by courier but they couldn't make it till the day after we left, the guy on reception at the time was only too happy to help.
- Room was clean and quiet for the most part. We were on the street level so there were a few noisy club goers returning home some nights
- free wifi is always great

Cons - also as mentioned here, room is small, no big deal, ive stayed in smaller and you don't go on holidays to stay in a room! Bathroom was Japan-room-small but clean. The lack of any kind of night stand or table was a bit annoying but nothing a suitcase rummage market style wardrobe couldn't fix ;)
- tea/coffee facilities would have been nice (but then theyd have to build somewhere to put it!)
- On arrival, there was a person smoking at the front, we went inside and waited for someone to come to reception, a few min. later the smoker came in (obviously had to finish the ciggy). Reception staff arent in uniform so it might be difficult to work out who is who if you want to ask a quick question.
-the biggest gripe I have is on our second last night it was rather cold so we decided turn on the heat... nothing. So we spoke to a woman at reception and the response was a steadfast "yea the heat is broken in that room, the repair guy isn't coming till next week". err... ok? could have told us that at check in and no "we'll move you to another room" or "would you like some blankets?". looks like someone had been on for 12hours, oh you guys!

At the time of booking this place was the cheapest for what you got in this location so I wasn't expecting the best and it certainly isn't the worse.

4 dots, minus one for making me sleep in my softshell but plus one for helping us out with the excess baggage (:

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hum4n_Traffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

If all you want is a room with a bed in to crash before taking the train somewhere then this hotel is ideally located to St Pancras with plenty of food outlets nearby. If you're staying more than one night then this hotel is probably not for you. Although spotlessly clean, the facilities are basic. There is no kettle, no hair dryer, no room to sit and chill out. Just a bed with worn out bedding and a rail to hang your clothes on. Flies were an issue in my room too but I coped.
For £70 a night I would choose the travelodge just down the road.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_junkie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here overnight when attending the 02 to see Brad Paisley. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to St Pancras Station as we needed to catch an early train in the morning.
The staff were pleasant and helpful allowing us to check in early.
We only needed somewhere to put our heads for the night and this hotel was OK for that. I was dissappointed to see there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and the only mirror was in the shower room. As the room was the price of a Travelodge I would have expected a little more.
However, the room was clean. It was in the basement and the decor was a little dingy but it served its purpose. Having said that I wouldn't choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CountrymusicfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#541 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#234 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#352 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#744 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#923 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wardonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wardonia Hotel

Property: Wardonia Hotel
Address: 46-54 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wardonia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Wardonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing