We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charlotte Guest House
Ranked #16 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Fantastic staff!
Cosy rooms; but very close to London Overground station.

The location is perfect, 3 min. walk to an underground station and 10 min. with the underground to the city.

Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

I booked four days with the Charlotte Guest House through a national booking agency. The accommodation was on a 'bed and breakfast' basis and was £45.50 per night.

I arrived late on the first day and was greeted by a very pleasant East European receptionist who spoke excellent English. You may be asked for a £5 key deposit at this point but I was leaving early on the last morning (before the reception opened) and so this was waived.

The Charlotte Guest House is a little bit of a misnomer as the receptionist soon explained that it consists of six (!) separate premises. I was then taken on a short walk to 2 Lymington Road and shown to room 4 which is on the ground floor at the rear of the premises. During the walk my host gave me an informed mini-guide to transport and eating locations nearby.

The Lymington Road house was an Edwardian style terraced house complete with leaded windows, tiled floors and period display cabinets. A little bit ‘Upstairs, Downstairs’.

I had booked a single room with en suite facilities. The room provided was a large double room and a generous size (about 15’ x 15’) with TV, table and chairs. The table was especially welcome as I was on business and had a fair amount of work to complete.

There was a separate bathroom and toilet attached together with a small kitchen/scullery.

The accommodation was clean and the bedroom serviced efficiently every day. The other rooms were serviced on two of the four days of my stay.

Incredibly breakfast was included in the price. Unfortunately I cannot vouch for its quality as it is only served from 7:30 am and I had to leave for work at 7 am each morning and breakfast was supplied for me on site.

A small amount of noise from fellow (unseen) guests was heard during the stay in the evenings but not to a level that sleep was disturbed.

In short the experience is a bit quirky but the accommodation is clean and within a couple of minutes walk of the West Hampstead Thameslink, Overground and Underground (Jubilee and Metropolitan) stations. There are Tesco and Sainsbury convenience stores even closer than the stations (and on the same road) and I can recommend the (very clean) West End Grill for an excellent Lamb Shish Kebab. The cost (for London accomodation these days) is just unbelievable.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an en suite room - there are some rooms with shared facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuoVadisWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

it was good to be next to underground and station
Breakfast is not very good and you have to wait as the room is small and staff (cook is rude, you hear him from the kitchen) not so friendly at breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank PHILIPPE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I loved staying here, it was just what we were looking for really! Average sounds bad, but it wasnt. It was very clean and the location was great-just three stops on the underground from Oxford street. The room was grand, big enough for three people. The toilet was shared, I think with four other rooms by the looks of it, but was clean and always available (could have been good luck though) The breakfast was really great, with a choice of stuff to have, all included!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berni h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were there for two nights early January 2012. A wonderful location and fairly cheap train fare off peak to London. Word of warning, if you go by tube train you have to carry your luggage up the stairs at West Hampstead Underground station. Its a 300m walk from the West Hampstead station to the Sumatra Rd location. Not sure how pleasant it would be in bad weather or a long flight. They have a second property in Lymington Rd which is about 150-200m from their listed address in Sumatra Rd, we stayed in a family room, I think it was queen and there were two singles. You could swing several cats around and there was a small kitchen, no cooking, but bench space, sink and a small table. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean. The bathroom, hmm, yes, well it's small but then again, not sure if you need a large one, it does the job. Well it would if the shower worked. That one of my negatives for this place, the stopper that diverts the water from the faucet to the shower head was stuck. The staff attempted 3 times to move it without luck. We told them at reception before our breakfast and she said someone would look at it. We went on a day trip to London and when we got back in need of a shower, still not working. We told the night manager, who had not been made aware of the problem by the morning staff, and he tried in vane to fix it. He called the plumber who said he'll look at it in the morning. Not to much help for us as we were leaving the next day. Spoke to them early the next day, still no mention in their "logs" that the shower didn't work and didn't know of the plumber would be in to look at it. So we didn't have a working shower for two days and my wife had a back injury so having a bath wasn't an option. I had to break a spoon to lever the stopper and finally got it working so we wouldn't stink out the train. So on the "service" side they failed. The staff themselves were all lovely & charming. Now for breakfast, if you like cold toast, cold eggs, cold baked beans, cold bacon, then yes, you'll be more than happy. Where to eat? The Bengal Spice had yummy curries (mild was closer to hot for my 23 yr old daughter's taste buds) or the Banana Tree Canteen (they're on the web) has great Indo-china/Malay food north (opposite direction from the tube) of the guest houses along West End Lane, on the left. There's a Tesco Express on the corner of Lymington & West End Lane with inexpensive beer/wine/soft drinks/water/snacks etc If you're an American there's a Starbucks close by next to the West Hampstead Rail station, for those that enjoy their coffee try Costa next door. ;-P When we re-visit London we won't stay here, but it might work for you.

Room Tip: The Lymington Rd property isn't next to the rail line and going by other's, the quieter of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzAverageTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The room was clean and had a good size, dough a bit rundown and old-fashioned. It was also a bit chilly in our room (single glazing) but we went in the coldest time of the year (minus 10°c) so no wonder it was a bit chilly. The staff was very friendly and good-humoured, we even borrowed an adaptor to recharge the battery of or camera.
Breakfast was good and varied, English breakfast in particular was great!
Its location is very good, 15 minutes from London city by tube and in a relatively quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Charlotte guest house was a fine place to stay. The rooms are decent sized and clean. The breakfast was good and the staff were wonderful. They have two buildings and we stayed in the second one that does not have reception. Because we were in a front room the trains didn't bother us at all. Its in a wonderful neighborhood that has lots of stores, restaurants and pubs. One morning we didn't eat breakfast at the guest house and instead found a wonderful breakfast cafe and enjoyed our morning there. There are also many hair salons shall you need to get a trim (I did, it was fun!). It is walking distance to both the underground and above ground train stations and we found it easy to get around. Its not the fanciest place to stay, but the price was right and we found the staff very friendly and helpful.I would stay again if I return to London.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the front of the building. There are train tracks behind the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#12 of 573 in London
176 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 573 in London
239 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#32 of 573 in London
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#26 of 573 in London
75 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Guest House

Address: 195-197 Sumatra Road | West Hampstead, London NW6 1PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $76 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlotte Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a quiet residential area of London, the traditional Charlotte Guest House is just a 5-minute walk from the West Hampstead Tube and Railway Stations. Offering bed and breakfast accommodation in 5 beautiful Victorian buildings. Charlotte Guest House is a 20-minute Tube journey or bus ride from central London and its numerous attractions. Each room includes a TV and tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some rooms benefit from en-suite bathrooms, while others share facilities. Hairdryers and ironing supplies are available on request. In the mornings, guests at the Charlotte Guest House can enjoy full English breakfast, Omelette or lighter continental options, including croissants and sandwiches. Operating from directly outside the Charlotte Guest House, a bus service has connections to famous Oxford Street, Piccadilly Circus, and Trafalgar Square. There are also direct connections to 5 London airports, including Gatwick and Luton by train, Heathrow and London City by Tube, and Stansted by coach. Charlotte Guest House is located in Camden council witch is a great choice for travellers interested in theatre, shopping and sightseeing. Charlotte Guest House is also rated for the best value in London! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Charlotte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing