We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Ranked #244 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This hotel is in a very central location giving you quick and easy access to the best museums, shows, shopping and dining in the city. Boyd's restaurant has delicious food and top level service. My request for a Manhattan cocktail brought the bartender over to my table for a detailed consultation! The exercise room has everything you need and the machines are in very good condition. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed with my wife for two nights on 9 and 10 December.The plus points:-great central location;pleasant bar staff;comfortable beds,excellent shower,and well stocked guest cupboards on landing with extra tea,coffee, bathroom toiletries etc.

The negatives:-Indifferent, not particularly welcoming reception staff,who said that breakfast for two people for two nights was not included even though it was clearly marked as such and paid for on the booking confirmation (booking.com), my colleague had the same experience at check- in:serious because breakfast costs £20pp each day.There was no explanation of hotel facilities.

Serious negative -we went out at 10.15 am Sat, returning at 3.40 pm -room not made up.This is unacceptable,and our hearts dropped,dirty coffee cups etcstill there just as we had left it as we needed to rest before leaving for a function at 5.30pm.Phoned housekeeping and said to come and do it after 5.30.No apology, but I did ask for more toiletries and coffee/milk sachets.A pleasant member of staff came up with some supplies and at that stage pointed out the location of the guest supply station on the floor.

My wife and I travel the world usually staying in 4* or 5* hotels, and judging by 4* standards this hotel is poor (I would have judged it as average if I had been staying in 3* and judging it by 3* standards).It may be that with such a central London location, there is always excellent room occupancy anyway, so perhaps they don't care whether they get repeat business or not- that's how we felt anyway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welford54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is my 2nd time staying here this year! Could not fault this hotel from the service to the bar to the room! We were given a room that was actually designed for wheelchair users I think based on the door and bathroom. It actually meant we had a lovely sized room. There is free water stations on each floor and cabinets for all guests to use for supplies and irons etc which is brilliant. Could not fault this hotel at all!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I return to this hotel time after time because it puts me right in the middle of everything I could possibly need while in London.

The Grand really can't be beat for location and price. I have stayed at this hotel five or six times now, and each stay has been worry free. I often arrive on a red-eye and have been able to check-in and get to my room before the official 3pm check-in time, which is always a relief. The rooms are comfortable, there is free wifi, free bottled water, and the staff is always friendly. Also, they have good luggage storage facilities if you need to leave your bags after checking out at noon on your last day.

There is a 24 hour Tesco on the corner, and many of the vendors in Charring Cross Station (a block away), such as M&S Simply Food, are open until midnight, which is great for picking up late night snacks. The hotel is also within very easy walking distance of Picadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, The Strand, Westminster, Waterloo and the South Bank. Both Charring Cross and Embankment tube stations are just a few minutes walk away, and there are two Starbucks and a Pret A Manger nearby as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARH385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Stjordal Municipality, Norway
122
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Very near communication, great rooms. Fresh water in the hall of every floor. Not bad fitness room. Might hear noise at night from the street.

Room Tip: Select rooms at south and as high as posibel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stay at the Grand at Trafalgar Square about twice a month. From the list of some 30+ hotels I can stay in around London this one regularly gets my business. Just off Trafalgar Square and within a couple of minutes walk from Embankment Station it makes an ideal central location for staying either on business as I do or for sightseeing. In the Summer months you can be walking along the Thames within minutes and taking in the sights of the London Eye, Houses of Parliament etc. Around the corner is The Mall, Horse Guards Parade, Buckingham Palace and St James' park. All of the rooms I've stayed in have been first-rate and even those facing Nothumberland Avenue have been quiet at night. Each is fitted out "boutique style" with nice modern bathrooms with shower. Boyd's Brasserie downstairs provides the room service and the food is great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wortletboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband booked the hotel and I arrived alone, at about 9.30 am and my room was ready so I was able to dump my case right away. The staff were helpful and sociable.They had supplied a room with an accessible bathroom which was excellently laid out and equipped. The building itself is impressive and brilliantly located to access everything in central London. What a find

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, it looked out over Northumberland Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#173 of 1,076 in London
1,201 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#114 of 1,076 in London
4,737 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,076 in London
3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand at Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand at Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Family Hotel in London
#247 Business Hotel in London
#285 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $228 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand at Trafalgar Square is a full service hotel with 63 rooms located in the beautifully restored historic Northumberland House on Northumberland Avenue. Minutes to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace and close to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. The Grand at Trafalgar Square is the best value hotel based on quality and prime location. The Grand at Trafalgar Square provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 10 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 1000 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand at Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand At Trafalgar Square Hotel London
Grand At Trafalgar Square London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing