We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service!”
Review of St. Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Mark Hotel
Ranked #937 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We were not even booked 2 stay at this hotel and were moved here from another 1 we had previously booked. Upon arrival we were slightly early so asked could we put our luggage somewhere secure and were basically told to leave them in the corridoor downstairs unattended but they 'would be fine because they have cctv' when we said we wernt happy with that she assured us that once our room was available she would put our luggage in there (it was still unattended downstairs when we came back ) awful attitude and more interested in her book than to deal with paying customers, Room was ok 4 a quick overnight stay and great location 2 tube but will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauz1984Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for St. Mark Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

The room was incredible small (no wardrobe, no desk, no chair), we had a basement room with a lightwell window, breakfast was also in the basement and very crowed. Bathroom facilities were broken.
Staff was friendly.
The only advantage is the location (good neighborhood, close to tube, pubs and shops nearby)

Room Tip: Choose room on higher levels
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived at St Mark hotel after a long haul flight to find that our booking had been muddled upand my teenage daughter allocated a double room in lieu of a twin. The gentleman at reception was happy to rectify this and told us that the next day we would be moved. We were then allocated a room on the very top floor. There are no lifts and getting luggage up and down the unlit stairwell was dangerous and exhausting.

The rooms were tiny and a little outdated however the bathroom appears to have had a recent yet sub-standard renovation. The cleaning was regular. The linen was ok. We would have preferred a little more than the top sheet and one blanket but fortunately it wasn't too cold. The hot water as referenced in other reports is hit and miss. The breakfast was an adequate buffet of cereal, toast with preserves juice, coffee, eggs and cheese and the two young ladies servicing the neat dining room were very pleasant. Unfortunately I can't say the same for some of the other front office staff.

If you are looking for somewhere to lay your head at night then this hostel style hotel will suit your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeesonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We booked this hotel online for 4 people in their "quad" room (which was two singles and a double bed that was too small even for two small women) for more than $400USD per night. When we asked why the rates were so high, we were told by the man at reception that we should have called instead of booking online yet we didn't have to pay in full until we checked out. He was given the opportunity to adjust the price to us, but failed to do so.

This room was in the basement and smelled of mold. The carpet and the linens all felt damp and we quickly ran out of hot water. My friends and I have had better experiences and MUCH better value staying at hostels!!!

The lady who also often was in reception during the day was less than friendly. In fact, she was rather cold. We asked her to book a cab for us as we had to leave for the train station early next morning and begrudgingly did so, but only to call who we think was a friend and started to speak in another language. We asked her to hang up so we could call a meter cab instead. We requested a phone book to call a meter cab company but claimed she didn't have one. She wouldn't look it up on the internet for us either.

If you have no choice but to book here, don't book online and do not take a room in the basement.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissDee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Booked two rooms, one was in basement, the other on 5th floor no chance of rooms in closer proximity to each other. Concern that there was a lot of what appeared to be rubbish and dumped items outside the basement and wondered if this was a fire risk?
Both rooms were dingy. Timer on lights on stairs allowed insufficient time to make it to the next floor. No offer of help with bags. No lift. Nice shower cubicle, no hot water. No response to request for hot water. No offer of any type of compensation re this. Had to wash in sink with water from kettle. Request to call taxi was refused. Breakfast basic in small canteen setting. Lots of other hotels in same road looked very inviting. Gladly only booked one night

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Like most London hotels within this price range, rooms are small. However, the room was efficiently designed and the bathroom had been renovated. Cleaned well. Hot water failed some mornings, which made showering brisk and altogether too refreshing for my taste. One had to wait some time for it to come back.

The location is convenient for those travelling from Heathrow, just a few minutes from Earl's Court Station, right and second left on exit.

Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but there are pubs with fine full English breakfasts just a stone's throw away.

On the whole, some flaws, but still somewhat better than the average London hotel of this price.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Although the staff were pleasant and the hotel was very close to Earls Court Station and a short walk to Stamford Bridge.

We paid £119 for a pokey room, booked a double and got three twins. ( had a good bathroom with shower though)

The room was very warm and un-comfortable, the lighting up the stairs very poor. Would not recommend at all to elderly people or the disabled in any shape or form.

Missed breakfast completely, no offer of a wake up call at reception and could not find any information book in our room.

Believe at the price and all round quality there are far better options in Earls Court, maybe even the youth hostel over the road for those just wanting to rest their head for the night!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinkystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#834 of 1,072 in London
737 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#797 of 1,072 in London
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Maranton House Hotel
The Maranton House Hotel
#934 of 1,072 in London
319 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#726 of 1,072 in London
426 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#709 of 1,072 in London
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mark Hotel

Address: Road, Earl's Court 4 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #937 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $111 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Mark Hotel is situated on Barkston Garden in London's Earls Court district. The St Mark Hotel is a popular budget hotel in central London offering 25 guest rooms all with private ensuite facilities. The Hotel is located in the heart of Earls Court, giving hotel guests excellent access to central London, including Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Olympia Exhibition Centre, making the hotel an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mark Hotel
St Mark London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing