We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review for the following reasons...”

Brasserie Blanc Southbank
Ranked #1,601 of 25,042 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$79
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: Mere minutes walk from Waterloo Station, the London Eye, the Royal Festival Hall and all the cultural attractions of Southbank, our beautifully refurbished bar and brasserie are perfect for a set menu pre-theatre lunch or dinner, or try something delicious from our seasonally changing a la carte menu. Visitors to Southbank can take a refreshing break to enjoy drinks on our terrace or book for large parties and events in one of our two private dining rooms. Expect a warm welcome and real French food, with heart.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Two of us met early for a pre-theatre meal and both agreed the price on the website for a set pre-theatre meal seemed very good value - advertised at £12.50 (just checked it right now and that’s what it says). However, once seated and given the menu the price for the same deal had gone up to £14.50? We questioned this and were told this was the lunchtime price and £14.50 was the price for the pre-theatre. Hang on.....you surely can’t advertise one thing then charge another. That being said the service was good....attentive and swift. My starter of goats cheese and beetroot was a little bland and the steak/frites a bit chewy. The restaurant is marvellously situated if you are going to the Southbank but just felt a little let down by the experience.

1  Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane L, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear 'Deborah N',

Thank you for your review and feedback, please accept my apologies for the confusion in the menu price. There have been some technical issues on our website in the past week, meaning our Pre-Theatre menu was advertised at £12.50, not £14,50.
Please accept my sincere apologies that your meal didn't live up to expectations, we strive to 'wow' our guests with our dishes and it seems we have fallen short of the mark on this occasion.

I do hope this experience won't deter you from trying our brassiere again, as we would love welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 929 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Would recommend this restaurant for their great value Spring menu, really good value and choice. Great service too.

Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane L, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Gill

Thank you very much for such a nice review and 5* rating :). I am very pleased to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed our new spring menu and service. Thank you for recommending us!
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Warm Regards

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Our party of 6 had a great visit - we really appreciated the set prices (2 or 3 course) Sunday menu and everyone enjoyed everything they ate and drank

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane L, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear 'vbkbaker',

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review and 5* rating :). I am really happy to hear you had a great time with us and that both our food and service were up to your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Warm Regards

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Pre booked a table for 3.30. Lovely waitress + excellent service. Menu included Fish Soup, "Steak frites" + Pistachio Souffle (inc chocolate ice cream) - which were my choices - all perfectly cooked (including the steak) and nicely presented.

Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane L, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear 'Paul E',

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review and 5* rating :). I am really happy to hear you had a great time with us and that both our food and service were up to your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Warm Regards

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Weekend in London & agreed to meet family here for Sunday lunch. What an excellent choice! Food, service & atmosphere all absolutely first rate. We had mussels, cheese soufflé & terrine to start followed by the lamb, risotto, fishcake & pork loin. Too full for desserts unfortunately, but meal rounded off nicely with very nice coffee. Best of all was the fixed price Sunday menu at £20 for 2 courses. Would not have expected to see such good value in London. Very highly recommended.

Thank Jaynand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane L, General Manager at Brasserie Blanc Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear 'Jaynand'

Thank you so much for the lovely review and 5*'s.So glad to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday menu!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and hopefully with room for dessert next time.

Warm regards,

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Blanc Southbank also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Blanc Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing