We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is England”
Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
Reserve with TopTable
Wiltons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #159 of 24,547 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$199
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Reviewed November 13, 2017

My absolute favourite in London. Elegant, not stiff. Classic kitchen, but among the best in the world for seafood and game. And the staff is wonderful.
Wiltons are 275 years old this year, and totally refurbished - you would never guess :) It feels like they have been serving their magnificent oysters in the same warm and pretty rooms forever.
Owned by the Hambro family since the WW2 (and do read the story of when they bought it, its a classic), and taking care of the same kind of customer since the start 275 years ago. And still recommended by people like Lapo Elkann, the Agnelli/Fiat/Ferrari-heir for the oysters.
Often called eyewateringly expensive, but go for the pre-theatre menu if you want a reasonable budget. Still difficult to do, since magnificent winelist will arrive....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 371sigmundk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear 371sigmundk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such warm recognition. We do our utmost to ensure that we offer a consistent, discreet and welcoming service (as well as mouthwatering traditional food). Whether it is from day to day or century to century, we are humbled to be recommended and frequented by such prestigious individuals. We are also delighted that you mentioned our set menu as well as our award-winning wine list. We have some wonderful seasonal dishes available that range from lemon sole to delicious venison and mallard, with wines to match for all palates.
Once again our sincerest thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 725 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

What a perfect British Reatuarant with outstanding service and fantastic food. Really a special place good for a small business dinner or personal one.

Thank B491OVwilliamf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Dear B491OVwilliamf,

Thank you for your five-star review. To know that we are considered a "special" place to dine is what keeps us motivated in our passion to offer exceptional service and superb food. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Visited for a la carte dinner.from moment we walked in felt like visiting an old friend.lovely atmosphere traditional decor great service.offered glass of champagne on arrival starter caviar for me & a specially made up to order salad for my wife.lovely bottle of chablis to accompany.mains halibut for me lobster for wife absoloutely delicious then souflee for pudding which was great end to meal it was raining that night but perfect end to night was waiter holding umbrelka over us as we hailed a cab.superb old style service from start to finish.

Thank luxurythekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Dear luxurythekey,

It is with great pleasure that we read your review and we are so happy to see that you had such a memorable time with us. Providing an exceptional service as well as superb food is paramount to all of us and we are truly glad to see we achieved this on your visit. We hope to welcome you back to Wiltons again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

What a great restaurant - it really is like stepping back into a beautiful, traditional old fashioned world where everything is done beautifully, from the perfectly prepared oysters, beautifully cured salmon and the most tender and delicious roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. All the vegetables were cooked to perfection and a proper, deeply flavoured jus was served which perfectly complemented the gorgeous, tender sirloin. The service was some of the best we had experienced anywhere in the world. We can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear Barbara F,

Thank you for your glowing review. We are pleased to see that your meal was as it should be - perfectly cured fish and tender meats with their traditional accompaniments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Once again we return to Wilton’s! What can I say superb staff and excellent service and the food as always exceptional. Every time we go we are reminded just what a fantastic restaurant this really is. Cannot recommend this enough.

Thank ddhagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear ddhagon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is a great pleasure to know that your service is always excellent and the food superb (we cannot ask for higher praise!) It will be a pleaure to welcome you back "home" again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wiltons also viewed

 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing