We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in the City”
Review of Sauterelle

Sauterelle
Ranked #2,191 of 25,296 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$65
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Located in London in the heart of the City, on the south mezzanine of the Royal Exchange building, Sauterelle is an elegant haven for City execs and well-heeled shoppers. Head Chef Stefano Leone works across the Grand Cafe and Sauterelle creating and conjuring up new modern European dishes, heavily influenced from his past experiences immersed in different cultures and cuisines. Next in line to Stefano is another born and bred Italian with a colourful background, Piero Leone. Piero has picked up lots of cultural influences after spending time in Australia, Mexico & Singapore to name a few, his creative flair and passion makes him the perfect fit for Sauterelle.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The 3-course set lunch at £25 including a glass of sparkling wine is good value for a restaurant in this location in the City. The Italian food is good (rather than great), the service attentive, and the setting inside the Royal Exchange is quite special.

3  Thank beijingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Manager at Sauterelle, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Dear Beijingduck,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We always aim to improve the quality of the service and food and would be grateful if you could let me know what made the food "just" good and not great.
You can email your feedback to me directly at olgag@ danddlondon.com

Warmest regards,

Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 193 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

I was recently invited for lunch to what I can only describe as one of the most beautiful buildings in the city.

Sauterelle is within The Royal Exchange on the second floor overlooking a courtyard bar/cafe surrounded by shopping boutiques this really is a little gem in the city.

The food, service and overall experiance was first class and i would highly recommeded a visit for lunch or dinner.

3  Thank casasufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, General Manager at Sauterelle, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Casasufi,

It took a bit of convincing but I am glad you decided to experience Sauterelle at last ;)
Next step is cocktails in our Threadneedle bar. We will be soon launching our new spring menu and hope you will be coming to taste those.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

The portions were very small. The wine v expensive- £47 for a bottle of Argentinian bubbles and the toilets are down 2 flights of stairs. My salad with orange and fennel had one tiny piece of orange and a poor dressing. My cod with pea puree and fondant was a piece of cod with 2 smears of puree and fondant. On the plus side it was very quiet which suited us (we cd hear each other) and the service was efficient.

Thank vorns2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, General Manager at Sauterelle, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Vorns2016,

I was disappointed to read you were not entirely satisfied with your dinner.
The chef has since then reviewed the set menu, taking all feedbacks in consideration.
In regards to the location of the bathrooms, because of the nature of the building, it was not possible to have them placed on the mezzanine level. Being placed in the basement, this avoid damaged to the flooring, the artwork...
We realised there is a bit of a walk however, if one doesn't feel like taking on the set of stairs, we always have the use of the lift that is round the corner of Sauterelle.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you very soon to try our new set menu.

Warmest regards,

Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Relaxed and easy. Not at all stuffy. Modern classless classy: cool, quiet and calm. One can actually hear one' thoughts developing to conversation with one's partner. I had driven into London and that was a mistake and so quite late and stressed. However, the ambience, style and friendly manner of the staff all combined to restore my mental and corporeal balance. The food was excellent and none too fussy as some restaurants these days have become: self indulgent and pompous menus with matching chef and maitre'd. Staff were attentive without being intrusive; professional without being aloof. I even learnt some Italian.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Consumer_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Manager at Sauterelle, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Dear Sir,

Driving to London can be a bit of an "adventure" but I am glad we made you forget your ordeal. Our executive chef Stefano strive to create and deliver food dear to his Italian roots using fresh, flavourful ingredients. Top that with a team of passionate chefs and waiters, a beautiful building and there you have it.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming soon on your next trip to London.

Warmest regards,

Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

We choose the set menu and never expect such a good dishes . The mains were big portions . The presentation of it was amazing . The waiter was great too. We will definitely come back.

7  Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Manager at Sauterelle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear Veronica T,

We like to think of the set menu as a good way of introducing people to our food, service and this amazing building. And we clearly succeeded! Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sauterelle also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Sauterelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing