We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our favourite Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sale e Pepe

Sale e Pepe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sale e Pepe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #261 of 21,554 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$89
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Knightsbridge
Description: Now in its fortieth year of service, Sale e Pepe continues to attract clientele from all over the world. Generations have come to rely on this traditional Italian trattoria just two minutes' walk from Harvey Nichols and Harrods in Knightsbridge. Guests love the consistently good cooking, using fresh ingredients, the great atmosphere and the familiar faces of the friendly Italian staff who haven't changed much in all the years Sale e Pepe has been open. Manager for over 35 years, Tony knows everyone and everyone knows Tony. Sale e Pepe is famous for its fresh dover sole, calves liver and veal chop. The pasta dishes are highly recommended too with excellent specials changing daily. The cuisine will remind you of your favourite meals in Italy.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fatastic food, lovely friendly staff, nice and cosy, good value for money, I love the Aubergine with Mozzarella and Tomato starter of which we always share because it would be too much for me to eat on my own

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theeseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    182
    55
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Love the waiters, who make you feel you are back in Italy. Portions are quite large.

They make amazing lobster linguine.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank PSZTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“There's a reason why Sale e Pepe is top rated out of thousands of restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I ate here last year as my grandfather, who has been coming here for over 25 years, recommended it to my boyfriend and I. I agree with other reviews that it really caters for all ages, as people in their 70's and 20's alike can appreciate it. It is definitely one of those places you need to visit for yourself, and see why they get such good reviews. The location is great and easy to find in Knightsbridge, even though it's not on a busy main street.
We sat at the bar while we waited for our table and had great mojitos, which were £8.50- not a bad price for cocktails in London! The food was great; my boyfriend would always order a fillet steak, and he was impressed with the one he got here. The waiters were really pleasant and make your meal such a pleasure. We had such a wonderful time on our visit to London. We will return this summer!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brickej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
571 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Tony!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Superb, always busy and Tony, the Maitre D' is known to serenade you. The food is always good and the ambiance is electric. Always busy so you must book.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We went to Sale e Pepe for an early Saturday dinner. We were quickly greeted and seated. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. We had the insalata tricolore, spaghetti carbonara, agnello alla monteverde, and veal Milanese. All were excellent. The portions were generous and the prices reasonable. The atmosphere was lively and warm. We would definitely go again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cecpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sale e Pepe also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Sale e Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing