We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food”

Theo's Simple Italian
Ranked #1,646 of 27,197 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: A classic, rustic Italian all-day restaurant and deli, offering the very best of Italian food and fresh pasta from acclaimed chef Theo Randall. Theo's Simple Italian in Earl's Court, is the kind of place you can go for a full three-course meal with friends or a plate of pasta and a glass of wine by yourself. From the moment you walk in you are treated like old friends with the sort of service sadly lacking in a lot of restaurants. Charming Italian staff are on hand to help you choose from the many regionally inspired dishes. As its name suggests, this is simple Italian food but done well.
Reviewed November 24, 2016

Good, simple menu; personal favourites are the gnudi and the parppardelle with ragu. Was really pleased with the children's menu for my kids which is similar to the adult menu but adapted for smaller children; in otherwords good quality fresh food. Kids loved it and the warm welcome from the staff.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samanthacbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 238 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2016

Having enjoyed a meal at Theo Randall at the Intercontinental, we were looking forward to trying this alternative offering. The first thing to say is that the website is misleading when giving opening hours. As it is a bar & dining area attached to the Hotel Indigo, the bar is probably open all day but when we arrived at @ 5.30 on a Friday evening, we were told that the kitchen didn’t open until 6.00. This wasn’t a problem, the 3 of us had drinks at the bar until they were ready to take our order but we were glad we didn’t arrive any earlier. The décor is modern tapas style and comfortable.

The primi dishes are offered in two sizes so you can choose them as a starter as an alternative to the antipasti. We were hungry so started with fritto misto (antipasti for2), a large portion of ravioli with ricotta and sage butter plus a small spinach gnudi between the three of us. All were delicious and the gnudi was particularly impressive. We followed this with the tagliata, the slow cooked lamb shoulder and the sea bream with an order of saute potatoes on the side (which we probably didn’t need given the size of the main dishes). All three dishes were very Italian in style: the lamb was outstanding and the fish was very good as well. The tagliata was slightly disappointing as the bavette seemed to have little flavour. We followed this with a portion of wonderful chocolate cake and three spoons plus coffee all round.

The food, inc coffee, was about £40 a head plus 12.5% service charge. Having tried the Malbec at the bar we polished off two bottles with our meal, good value at £28 a bottle (plus service). Service was efficient but unremarkable. We would certainly revisit if in the area.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 309Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2016

Nice restourant with good service and amaizing food!
I really anjoy my time!
Thanks guy for the great time!!
See you soon!

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FabioG2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Excellent little quaint place to stop by for your Morning Coffee. Made very well and staff are always extremely friendly! Great to sit on the small but comfortable front patio table relaxing around the hustle and bustle..

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2016

Went here for breakfast, turned our coffee cups over and informed the server that we would like coffee to start with, that server waited 7 minutes and then informed another server that we would like coffee, this charade lasted 15 minutes total, before we received our coffee. At this point after having asked about our coffee 3 times and waiting for 15 minutes, we had one cup , had it billed to our room, and left. The breakfast food was at best average as well. Will not return to this restaurant. However, the Hotel Indigo front desk staff is terrific, and address all issues. Separate review.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jgrahamea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theo's Simple Italian also viewed

 

Been to Theo's Simple Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing