We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Evening Stay ”
Review of Baltimore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baltimore Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

My Partner and I stayed at the Hotel on the 2nd December and we had a Fabulous Time. We were greeted by the Staff who had bangs of energy and smiles. Our Room was 117 and it was spacious and very clean. We had a 3 Course Meal with Wine booked and it was a lovely meal and a friendly atmosphere in the Restaurant. We retired to the Lounge which is comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was plentiful and well stocked up. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, friendly and helpful staff. A well excucuted Hotel and we will be back. Thank You.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaltimoreHotel, reception at Baltimore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you very much for your feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your experience here at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

This is the first hotel I actually trusted to leave my stuff in and let the cleaner do their thing. The staff were so friendly and helpful. One night I was so exhausted I asked if I could have my dinner in my room and it was not a bother at all, was brought to my room very quickly and upon asking for dinner in my room they even remember my drinks selection from the previous night and asked if I would like the same. The only downside was the hairdryer did overheat every 30 seconds so will be bringing my own next time but other than that it was great

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank sammy0045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaltimoreHotel, reception at Baltimore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you very much for your feed back. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience here at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

not the best hotel we've stayed in but also not the worst. After a long drive we were greeted by the manager and given our room key promptly and directed to our room. Common area carpets were grubby and marked but our room had recently been decorated and had new carpet and curtains, however it was very chilly when entering the room but a separate heater soon warmed up the room. we had asked for a twin room and initially though we had a double but on further inspection found we had a super kingsize bed and a double bed in its own alcove. The wardrobe was small but we were only there for 2 nights so this didn't cause a problem but there were no draws which meant our things had to stay in the case for the duration of our stay. In the bathroom the shower was amazing a huge double shower, but the sink was low and small (something you would have in a cloakroom) plus the toilet seat was flimsy and not secured very well.
The evening meal was OK being served by all the staff at the hotel, it was a bit hap hazard even though we had pre-ordered on our journey to Middlesborough. Breakfast both morning was adequate but ran out of things which meant people were hanging around waiting for the buffet to be re-filled.
It is obviouse the hotel are upgrading the decor but it still has a way to go to be the boutique hotels it's trying to be, the workmanship is shoddy in places and in some places not finished (bare wires hanging out of the wall in the bar). It's located on one of the main roads in Middlesborough opposite an Indian Restaurant but it seems like a ghost town after about 9.30pm ... even the restaurant was closed on a Friday and Saturday before 10pm.
Would we choose to stay here again .... I think not. That is no reflection on the staff as they were all really pleasant, it was just the hotel needs more work done on it to bring it up to an acceptable standard, some rooms are conversed store rooms with no heating and are so small a portable heater had to be put on top of the wardrobe. Plus Middlesborough would not be our personal choice of somewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small at the rear of the hotel. Although the front of the hotel faces a main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaltimoreHotel, reception at Baltimore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your feed back. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay completely. The points you have raised has been passed on to the relevant teams for immediate improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

We have used the Baltimore many times and knew what to expect in relation to quality of the rooms and breakfast. This time however, our stay coincided with a wedding being held at the hotel. This was Saturday 25th November 2017. The foyer was converted into a casino and the restaurant into a reception venue. All well and good but the guests were a nightmare !! We were on the ground floor and the guests in the rooms near us just didn’t go to sleep all night, being noisy, running up and down the corridors and either smoking cigarettes or something similar in their rooms. The venue can’t possibly know the level of their clientele in advance , I understand that but I really think that if they’re booking such an event, they should not allow people not involved in the function to book rooms. It completely spoilt our stay and we checked out at 5.30am rather than confront the low class people who had disturbed our nights’ sleep! I would rather have used the Holiday Inn Express and in future, probably will as we can’t gamble in the possibility of such a night.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RussandAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Just stayed overnight at the Baltimore hotel Middlesbrough. For 2adults and one child it was under £50 including breakfast, which I have to say finished a little too early for our liking. Initial impressions were great a very welcoming, warm and nicely decorated hotel.
The staff were very pleasant even when we asked to change our room from one that felt to us very cold, to one that was a lot warmer.
We booked an evening meal which was very very nice.
The bedroom was clean,tidy,warm and cosy.
We would stay here again without any hesitation. Thank you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaltimoreHotel, reception at Baltimore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience here at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The room was tiny - barely room to get into bed - and the wardrobe opened the wrong way! The shower cubicle doors didn't meet properly and there were copious amounts of mould growing where the doors sat in the tray. The shower didn't work properly - water gushed out partway down the bar - but at least the water was warm. The toilet seat, which had been sticky taped together, had a cigarette burn on it and the toilet roll holder was hanging off. The corridor smelled strongly of cigarettes. There was a generous breakfast the next day (self-service), but the orange juice was extremely watery and the cup of tea was the very worst I had ever drunk. Fortunately, we were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Upon arrival the receptionist was brusque, but efficient. The foyer was clean and bright. We were directed through very dated dark brown doors to the hallway to the rooms. The carpet was filthy and the hallway stank of cigarettes. Our room, with another dated dark brown, filthy door, was small, which didn’t bother us as we had realised this from the pictures. It looked ok, with a new-looking carpet. The metal wardrobe with the faux leather door frame was full of marks/stains and the skirting board down the side of it has not seen a duster or clean cloth in months. The shower cubicle doors and ledge by the doors were filthy. The receptionist, who came to to clean after we requested it, blamed it on the grout needing to be replaced, but firstly, this was not grout, some of it was the sealant, which pretty much was completely covered in black mould, again obviously never having been cleaned. Admittedly it’s a narrow space, but surely experienced management and cleaners know to use long narrow brushes or even just a toothbrush down this part of the shower door. The ledge by the shower door, which is easily accessible, had also not been cleaned in ages, and the poor receptionist managed to clean some of it off, but it obviously it needed a good scrub. The outside of the shower door, where the Perspex meets the frame, was caked in filth. Again, it needed a scrubbing brush. The back of the toilet was also dirty and the seat was loose, as was the toilet roll holder. I do believe the management or cleaners have absolutely no interest in proper cleanliness, as only the most easily seen areas are cleaned. Breakfast was ok, with staff being friendly. A very disappointing stay. We looked for another hotel to move to, but the ones with good reviews were all fully booked. Will definitely be checking tripadvisor reviews more carefully in future!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 215mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaltimoreHotel, reception at Baltimore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your feed back. Apologies that you did not enjoy your stay completely. the points you have raised has been passed on to the relevant teams for immediate improvement. we do hope to see you again with our improvements in place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
215 reviews
0.6 km away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#9 of 11 in Middlesbrough
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
5.3 km away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.6 km away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Travelodge Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltimore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimore Hotel

Address: 250 Marton Road | Cleveland, Middlesbrough TS4 2EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range: $66 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baltimore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Baltimore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltimore Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing