We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation, confusing booking”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Parkview Apartment

Converted Chapel originally built in 1906 located on corner of Linthorpe Road & Ayresome Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Converted Chapel originally built in 1906 located on corner of Linthorpe Road & Ayresome Street
External Floor plan for Flat 17 (1st floor)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
Converted Chapel originally built in 1906 located on corner of Linthorpe Road & Ayresome Street
External
Floor plan for Flat 17 (1st floor)
Dining area
Fully integrated kitchen
Family bathroom
Stylish en-suite shower room
Double bedrooms
Flat 17 living room
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NeverBeAf...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accommodation, confusing booking”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2014

The place is absolutely marvellous, clean, well furnished and close to the centre. We have stayed there 2 consecutive years.

My only reservation is their current confusing booking policy. Since I didn't get a reply to my message I called the office and was informed they do not take the bookings until one month prior to the arrival. But then somehow the online booking was open again and I managed to book the room only to be informed later on they all have been sold out for the dates I chose. Pity...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the cosy atmosphere of the place
Liked least: not being able to book it in advance
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickyCorn...
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Appalling accomodation”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a warning to anyone who looks to book the penthouse ! We had booked a 4 bedroom detached house with this management company which was then changed to a 2 bedroom apartment . I was obviously not happy as we were 5 adults and 2 toddlers wanting spacious,comfortable accomodation. Next we were offered 2 , 2 bed apartments which after further calls we agreed on. So we left on a holiday to Spain only to have an e.mail during the second week saying our booking had been moved to the penthouse apartment at the same address. Not much we could do except to ask a relative in Middlesbrough to pop in with basic groceries as we weren't flying back until late evening. She had to contact us as the entrance code we had been given didn't work and she had contacted the management to get the correct one, if she hadn't done this we would have arrived at midnight and been basically homeless! These rooms will eventually be lovely, we found a badly furnished,very dirty, one room impossible to use as smelt do strongly of cigarette smoke,uncomfortable set of rooms. I actually took photos of the terrible condition of velum windows with no blinds so rooms always very lit and noisy,light fittings and bare wires hanging from ceilings and walls,nails sticking up on floors(1 bedroom actually had carpet) dirt everywhere from floors to walls.the worst was probably the dishwasher which when we opened it had inches of dirty water with what looked like maggots in it. As you can imagine we were very angry and upset so phoned the management where a Scottish lady's attitude was "what do you want me to do about it", said a maintenance person would come in that day to "sort" all the problems but as I was still trying to talk to her about various problems she told he to get of the phone so she could phone him.we returned at 6pm to find the dishwasher removed,furniture moved and the floor seemed a bit cleaner.the toilet bowl still disgusting and one of the bedrooms still uninhabitable because of the strong smell of cigarette smoke.needless to say we kept out of the apartment as much as possible and it was definitely a lot cleaner when we left to when we arrived as I cleaned the kitchen and bathrooms myself. We originally found this booking through booking.com and have e nailed them to say that they need to look into the whole thing as it feels like a scam that you book a 4bed house and then weeks later having taken your money they turn around and start moving you to unsuitable and un requested areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of accomodation
Liked least: Everything else
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JednSasha
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment was easy to find and the instructions to access the keys simple to follow and we gained access without any problems.

There was a problem with the free Wifi whereby we could not get a connection but a quick phone call to the proprietors solved this as they gave us an alternative Wifi code to use that was linked to one of their other properties in the building, the Wifi at our own apartment was then repaired by Virgin while we were in residence, having multiple Wifi connections available is an asset should one of them have a problem.

The apartment itself is equipped with everything you need for a long or short stay, incorporating 2 bedrooms, (one en suite with shower, sink unit and toilet) a further bathroom with bath/shower, sink unit and toilet there are excellent shelving and storage units in both bathrooms.

The Master bedroom is like a mini hotel suite with 2 seater couch, wardrobes and lots of draw space.

The second bedroom has 2 single beds which can be pushed together, adequate wardrobe space and a vanity unit/dressing table.

The whole apartment is very spacious, modern and clean.

The lounge/dining room and Kitchen are seperately defined but open plan and there is a very good computor/work station area.

Nothing has been omitted from the kitchen facilities, Double Oven, Fridge/Freezer (half n half) Dishwasher, Washer/Dryer, Microwave and Toaster. All are very clean.

The TV facilities are above average, a 32 flat screen TV using Virgin media with a very good general viewing package giving a lot more channels than a standard Freeview option.

I don't know Middlesbrough at all but I don't think the apartment could be in a better location, within 50 yards there is a huge park, Dorman Museum, One stop shop, chinese takeaway, Burger Bar and Pizza Shop, there is also an Italian restaurant, Wine bar/restaurant, Indian Restaurant and Carribean Restaurant as well as no less than four Chemists.

We searched for other places we wanted to go such as a BM store, a Halifax bank, and a Chinese Buffet restaurant we were pleasantly surprised to find they were ALL located on the same road as the apartment and within walking distance. In that same area is the main shopping area with every kind of shop you might require.

In summary the apartment is affordable, excellently equipped, well located, clean and perfect for overnight or longer stays either self catering or for using the many eating options nearby. Minor teething problems at the apartment occurred as is to be expected with such accommodation but these were dealt with promplty and to satisfaction with the proprieters going out of their way to ensure our stay was very pleasant and that we had all that we needed.

We also had cause to visit another (we stayed in No6 and visited No4) this apartment was the equal of the one we stayed in.

We will definitely book the apartment again when returning to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location of the apartment, staff (from cleaners to owners and maintenance staff)
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
Thank you for a very detailed and informative response. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelariy...
Riyadh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
5
people found this review helpful

The apartment we received is not the one pictured and no where does it state this. The beds in apartment four are really poor quality-you can feel the springs through the bedding. Apartment four is down a long narrow corridor with several steps. Not easily accessible as described. The property on entering was cold. The underfloor heating having been left on five degrees centigrade. It does not have full length windows as show. Two narrow windows in the lounge and in the bedrooms. The kitchen and bathroom units are the same as pictured as is the black sofa but that is where the simarity ends. The beds and bedding are shabby and the apartment dark and cold. When we put the heating on a strong smell of stale vomit was noticabl in the main bedroom and en suite forcing us to find alternative accomodation. I have contacted the owner but they deny the smell and state barristers stay there and they have no complaints. Do not book unless you want cheap basic accomodation that is more suited to a student let. The owners dont want to know and have failed to respond and we are out of pocket. But I will be persuing this with trading standards and legally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked least: customer liason and smell of vomit
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2013
This is disappointing and inaccurate feedback from a guest who had booked into one of our apartments over the festive period. As it happens the company owns 5 apartments in the development all having differentials in layout. We have not had complaints about apartment 4 prior to this guest or since. The photographs on the various websites we advertise show a selection of photographs from each of our apartments.

At the time of making a booking a guest is allocated what is available. The guest we are referring to checked-in and clearly took an instant dislike to the apartment she was allocated and immediately checked out. This was not brought to our attention until two days later and by email; had the guest contacted us immediately and before checking into alternative accommodation, we could have offered an alternative apartment (as it happens we had 3 others available to choose from for the dates of her stay).

We try our very hardest to be accurate with our descriptions and take great care in the accommodation we offer our guests. We employ an excellent House Keeping team and have our own Maintenance Manager in the event an urgent repair is required.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Reviewed May 15, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the free wi-fi ! The kitchen was gr8 and so was the shower !
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 May 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Parkview apartments. It really is in a 'perfect location'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing