We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$60
eDreamsUS$60
Agoda.comUS$60
TripadvisorUS$60
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
124
211
228
154
202
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
211
228
154
202
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 919 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2020 via mobile

We were for 5 nights with the worst attention, they never cleaned the room nor did they change towels, I gave 3 towels to a waitress for their change and they never returned, I'm still waiting for them.
The food is fine, the cooks work very well, but there are problems with the service, sometimes they make a mistake in the order.
I understand that we are going through a time of pandemic and there are restrictions, but those of us who visit this place are due to a work problem and we deserve to have the required attention, we pay for that.
In general I do not recommend visiting this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank 946manuelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2020

Booked for one night at very short notice. I turned up at 12.30 am and needed to leave very early (6.30). Breakfast started at 6.30 but when I explained I needed to be on my way by then the reception porter and kitchen staff were extremely helpful and my breakfast was ready at 6.05!
Now that is service.
Room was good for price paid.
No faults.
Would recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ian-SuesKitchenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2020

Just spent one night stay here on way home form Scotland on Alfa coach tour on arrival check in just told room number and it on ground not told where evening meal breakfast served. Went and found room on entering had not been hoovered and bathroom was old and in need of over haul poop in toilet tell controls fall a part tape up room very dust no real evidence of covid measures we had evening meal witch we had pre order my mozzarella sticks were cold the tables were dirty and service very poor after dinner went in the bar for a drink very slow serve took 45 mins to order a drink even though not busy. When back room and to bed did get much sleep as every time car came in to car park light cars in out all night party in next room guest going in out each other rooms. Got up for breakfast was very disa pointing had help u self to coffee tea from machine every body touches this is covid friendly breakfast was stone cold poor waitress have serve every table all in all a disaster. Rude unfriendly manager in bar

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 160leigha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean Long, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2020

Dear 160leigha

Thank you for your review

The coach driver had been given all the information before hand and we assumed that this would have been relayed to you and to avoid contact time on check in only the room directions needed to be relayed to you.

You mention no real evidence of covid measures but you must of missed the numerous face mask signs and the hand sanitiser that is in three locations in the reception, the three points in the old post house , the table separation in the old post house for dinner and breakfast and only having table service.

At breakfast there were two staff on to serve 25 guests from the tour and some were just helping themselves as they did not wish to be patient and allow the waitress to serve them. All food was plated and cooked just before arrive time and both for breakfast and dinner did not get sent back cold as i was in the kitchen for both meals.

I am sorry if you felt the manager on duty in the bar that evening was rude but i will talk with her to find out what happened later that evening to see why you would have had a 45 minute wait as this seems overly long even considering we are doing table service.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2020 via mobile

When I first come to this hotel I got to my room and the sights of the bed was disgusting as shown in the pictures below. The Restaurant. The breakfast was stone cold. The pub service was slow. No coronavirus regulations. No sanitiser. What a waste of money and no star ratings.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank O5700YOrebeccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean Long, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2020

Dear O5700YOrebeccat

I am sorry that you had issues with your bed in the room you stayed in, i will try an identify the room. You have mentioned that there are no covid regulations and no sanitiser. Both of of these comments are not true. We have the following in place

Three hand santiser units in reception, one on entry to the bedroom area and three located at various points in the Old post house.

In all areas of the hotel there is signage regarding regulations including reminders to wear face masks

The old post house bar has all tables laid out with social distancing and it is table service only (which has delayed service on some evenings)

The breakfast service is currently plated and ordered the night before and is cooked almost to order so i am surprised you say it was cold but over the last fews days i have monitored breakfast service and the food was not cold.

It is a real shame when reviews which don't accurately reflect a stay are posted, particularly when the team are working very hard to ensure that all regulations are followed to protect guests and themselves from this unprecedented situation that we all find ourselves in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2020 via mobile

When we walked into our room it was mucky full of dust and toilet hadn’t been flushed. Old Post house. Not much choice for dinner 3 choices the pudding was the best meal. It took the staff a long time to serve drinks and bring them out and the staff couldn’t get the drink right or price the drinks either. Manager of the bar was down right rude no Corona virus regulations. Cold breakfast and over done bacon like plastic couldn’t cut it. Best bits were the yogurts and rice crispy’s tables were sticky. No hand Sanitizer in the reception or near restaurant. Not worth the money.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank christophers972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean Long, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2020

Dear christophers972

From you review i can only assume that you were part of a tour that has a three course three choice menu agreed as part of the booking.

You stated that there were no covid regulations but the very fact that drink service took a little while is the staff following the covid regulations abd doing table service only In the old post house there are sanitiser points on both entry points and at two other location in the area. the reception has three hand sanitiser points. As you enter the building there is signage in relation to track and trace then throughout the build signage to remind customers to wear face masks.

There were two staff on breakfast myself being one of them and there was no mention of cold food or an issue with the bacon had it been mentioned we would of rectified any issue.

You do not detail the issue you had with the Bar person but if you did come up to the bar you would have been directed to wait at your table for service. I will have a discussion with her regarding that shift on the Friday evening

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews