We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be bettered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

All aspects of our stay were excellent - well appointed and warm room, excellent service, delicious food.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again when next in the area

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190786David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in Norwich for a business trip that would require me spending a long time during the day at the hotel; I was looking for somewhere comfortable and accomodating and I was not disappointed.

The location is stunning from the outside, as a collection of period buildings all maintained to a very high standard and beautifully presented. I was in the building to the left of the main hotel and this was excellent.

My room was decorated to a very high standard, with lovely boutique style touches that really made it feel special. The usual flat-screen TV, tea making etc. complemented by trouser press, dressing gown, free WIFI.

Breakfast was of the highest quality, beautifully cooked and well presented. I spent the remainder of the day working in the hotel lounge and was very well attended to throughout; a delicious lunch of prawn sandwiches, cafetiere and biscuits to die for. A 10 minute walk into Norwich city centre meant I could leave my car in the ample car park.

This was all good, but what made the stay great was the level of service given by Jill and her team. Nothing was too much trouble, everyone was friendly and happy to chat and talk. This made a real difference and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Norwich

Room Tip: No issues with the seperate building; in fact it may be quieter away from the kitchens etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

In all my 30-something years I've never stayed in a hotel with such lovely, helpful and professional staff. They make what is a clean, very attractive and comfortable 3* hotel outstanding.

For an inexpensive stay in Norwich I don't see how this place can be beaten. I got a great deal with late rooms, and got an upgrade on arrival. The rooms are clean and functional, VERY comfy bed and pillows, flat screen tv with multiple channels and room service.

The receptionists and caretaker require a special mention ... I needed their help for various things when I checked in and during my stay, and they were just so nice and brilliantly helpful it left a big impression. Would definitely recommend this place to friends and family, and stay here again myself if I ever have the need.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripaholicNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed here on business and the staff were very welcoming. The room was comfortable,spacious and well decorated double room. The bathroom was clean and well maintained but could do with a little modernisation and has very hot water at times. The beds were very comfortable and there were no noise issues even though the hotel is close to a main road. I had an evening meal which was excellent in terms of presentation and flavour. There is a choice of two menus one which is a fine dining menu and the other a much broader main menu. I had a cooked breakfast the following morning which is taken in the delightfully bright dining room and again this did not disappoint. I Would stay here again if ever in Norwich.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanN_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We have stayed at this hotel occasionally over many years,and it just gets better. Spotlessly clean with a very nice atmosphere.We stayed in the annexe this time,which is every bit as good as the hotel.Comfortable room,comfortable bed and well appointed. Only one point about our room was the shower.It was on the right hand side as you enter the room,glass door only no wooden door. The Hotel is less than ten minutes walk from the city centre,so very convenient. No traffic noise at all,so slept well. We did not eat in the hotel,a short walk away is the Eagle bar/restaurant which was very good.We thought the menu in the hotel looked very good if a little pricey. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeh080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

to start i would like to thank the staff at the annesley house hotel for making it a wonderful and an enjoyable experience. I travel alot due to the nature of my job being in the armed forces and its hard now a days to find such a wonderful atmosphered hotel that provides excellent customer service lavishly decorated rooms and exquisite food. we stayed in one of the rooms in the coach house and i must say it was beautiful the room had all the modcons that just makes your stay worth while the bed was so lovely to sleep in as you slide under the covers you feel as if you dont want to come back out.

this certainly will not be my last stay at the annesley house and if the rest of the best western chain is anything like this hotel then they have done the best western a great service

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Weekend shopping in Norwich. This hotel is close to the town so lovely for a stroll to the shops.. We have stayed there on several occasions and will be going back again very soon..

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAUGHLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.5 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,220 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
8.8 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,180 reviews
1.8 km away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
5.5 km away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Annesley House Hotel

Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: $115 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing