We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Norwich” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring Norwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Nelson Premier Inn for 2 nights is located within a 10 minute walk of the city centre and has ample free parking. Customer care was very good and the rooms were clean & comfortable. The restaurant was pleasant with helpful and attentive staff and the cooked breakfast was good with plenty of choice although (as in every other premier inn restaurant) the hot water is provided from vacuum jugs and is never hot enough to make a decent cup of tea. We did not eat a meal here as there are several good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. On the first night we were allocated a ground floor room in a quiet location but were disturbed by very inconsiderate behaviour of a group using adjacent rooms. The night receptionist was swift to
apologise, arrange our move to a room on the 3rd floor(which was larger) & provide a full refund for the 1st night of our stay. Hotel is on a road with lots of clubs and takeaways so expect late night street noise unless your room is at the back overlooking the carpark.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room was larger and had quieter bathroom extraction fan than 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DickieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    614
    130
    33
    22
See reviews for
337
652
104
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed one night (a Saturday night) at this hotel in Room 205, which is a riverside room. I read in other people's reviews that these rooms are noisy, but we must have been lucky because I have never been in such a quiet hotel! We weren't able to open the window in our room and there was air conditioning, which we kept on all night because the room was so warm. Despite having this on, we were baking and kicked off the very warm duvet. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything one needed for a short break. I'm always woken up by other guests slamming their doors or talking loudly in the corridors, but this night I didn't hear a thing! When we were checking out the next day, the lady beside me was complaining her room was too noisy. So, was our room quiet because we couldn't open the window? Very likely. The hotel is located close to restaurants, shops and a short walk to the city centre. A huge bonus is the free parking. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know what other rooms are like. We stayed in 205 and this was a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stay here frequently and would choose this above other hotels in the city. I always get a warm welcome from the reception staff, and find the rooms very comfortable. I've never had a problem with too much noise from outside. The Table Table restaurant is good value for money with typical pub grub on the menu, and a Premier Inn breakfast is always good!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel is located ideally just 5mins walking from city centre....however.... If a good nights sleep is what you are after then stay away from the riverside rooms. There is a very busy main road by the river which leads to lots of late night eateries close by. As a result there are plenty of late night/early morning revellers passing by. If the hotel were to install proper double glazing this would not be an issue. Until they do though, be warned.
Staff very friendly and helpful, food in restaurant very good and excellent value. Parking onsite was plentiful and free.
All in all, aside from the noise it is to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

nice hotel , very close to all attractions , ideal base for shopping and sight seeing , I have stayed in this hotel previously and found it to be comfortable and warm , breakfast is good with lots of choice , table table restaraunt is basic and really cant compete with restaraunt choice's on its doorstep, I would not recommend the evening meals they are very basic and poor value , plenty of parking space and very helpful staff , I have paid a lot more and had less so all in all a very reasonable place to stay ,and child friendly .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good hotel in a convenient location. Good sized room, very clean and comfy bed. Free parking which saves a small fortune over a weekend. Breafast was also very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellsBells45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in Norwich for a birthday night out. The hotel is located right across the street from the train station and provides free car parking. It is a great location for the Riverside and a short walk into the city centre. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars within walking distance. We paid £77 for a double room without breakfast on the Premier Inn website. The room was clean and had tea facilites, a bottle opener, hairdyer, and extra pillows. We needed an iron and ironing board and these were brought to our room from reception straight away. The satff were very friendly and helpful. The room looked out over the river which was nice and it wasnt too noisy even on a saturday night. We would stay here again,

Room Tip: You definitely want a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echoklima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.6 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
1.0 km away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Road, Norwich NR1 1DX, England (Formerly Swallow Hotel Nelson)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Norwich
#5 Best Value Hotel in Norwich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Business Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the train station, looking out across the placid River Wensum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel Norwich
Nelson City Centre Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing