We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good outweighs the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good outweighs the bad”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

St Giles is a centrally located hotel full of character. Check in was swift and easy.
Generally we found the staff to be friendly and helpful with a couple of exceptions but you will find that anywhere.
The rooms were comfortable although there does seem to be a big variation in bathroom size, ours having only a w/c and shower. If you need a bath make sure you request one, you should be rewarded with a stunning freestanding tub.
One thing which is always important and not enough hotels get right though is the shower. I can honestly say this was one of the best showers I have used, very powerful.
Food and drink was good with a nice breakfast.
Unfortunately a few poor points which have been mentinoed before ~ Our bathroom had a bad smell of the drains permeating, reception was unmanned when calling down at only 8.30pm and the hotel is noisy not only from internal noise but also voices, cars etc from any room facing the main street, even with secondary double glazing.
I would stay here again but would hope for slightly better but on the whole not bad.

Room Tip: Dont take a room that overlooks the main road ~ Far too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    187
    53
    25
    21
See reviews for
71
355
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my wife. The receptionist was very helpful on arrival and showed us to our room,we had been given an upgrade and we were in one of the suites.The room was lovely with the old fashioned bathroom and massive shower. the hotel was spotless the food in both the resturant and at breakfast was lovely. The staff were helpul and polite.A lovely hotel that i would stay in again and reccomend to friends. The only one little niggle was that there was no clock in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackemrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Whilst working on a large project for my company; I stayed at the St Giles 3 nights per week for around 2 years.
This is a small (ish) boutique hotel with approx 24 rooms –
The hotel is a listed building with the rooms at the front being in the listed part of the hotel – these room are very spacious and (some may say) elegant, with chandeliers, fire places, parquet flooring, and traditional bathrooms.
At the rear of the hotel are more modern type rooms, which have more of a bedroom feel than a typical sterile hotel room, the bedrooms and bathrooms in all are a good size and are decorated to a high standard.
All rooms are individual and even-though numbered, each room is named (e.g. Marianne Twinette suite etc)
The restaurant and food is of a high standard, and the staff are very friendly and in particular Frank the restaurant manager who always had time for a chat (shame about his team Arsenal though  - I’m a Liverpool fan so enough said !!).
The receptionists are also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you like tradition go for a room in the listed part of the hotel - however, alll rooms are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5TIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I arrived in the evening and got a pleasant welcome. The room was very nice and so was the bathroom. It had a nice old bath and a seperate shower. The shower however didn't work really well. They offererd free coffy, tea and water in the room. During the night I didn't sleep very well due to creaking floors and slamming doors. The breakfast was average. Just toast and croisants but no rolls. I wanted to have dinner in the restaurant but had to wait for more than an hour so I decided to order roomservice. This however took more than one hour too. The food was OK but contained too much bacon. (Bacon in pupkin risotto, and bacon in ceasar salad???). Check-out was at 11. The location is perfect.

Room Tip: I had room 20 which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lairetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor, it seems to combine some mixed thoughts. Im pleased our location in the heart of the historical Norwich City Centre was a positive, and hopefully added the ease to your stay of being close-by to all that Norwich has to offer. Our Georgian rooms are located in a Grade ll Listed building, the original characteristics of this building include ornate fireplaces & brickwork, original stairways as well as wooden-beam ceilings. This building features rooms with marble bathrooms with roll-top baths & Im pleased this was to your liking.

Our Breakfast offering includes a Continental style buffet (including Seasonal Fresh Fruit, Cereals, Fruit Juices, Croissants & Pastries, we then offer a wide Cooked Breakfats Menu including Eggs Benedict, Smoked Salmon, Full English & other variations, of course if customers require or wish for additional items then we certainly welcome them to ask a staff member and happily provide where available.

We do always recommend guests wishing to dine in our Restaurant during their stay, to book in advance/upon booking as we are of course open to the public & local residents as well, this is particulary the case on Fridays & Saturday evenings. If a hotel guest wishes to dine with us & informs us on the evening we can of course only offer times accommodated around existing booking (which may have unfortunatly been the hour wait you were informed of) I apologise for this, unfortunatly we are not able to offer tables exclusively for residents so we do encourage prebooking.

I am very pleased to see that our Reception staff provided a warm & friendly welcome to the hotel & thank you for your comments & feedback. It is such feedback from our customers that ensures our standards are maintained as well as rectifying any issue which is brought to our attention via this means.

I appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback

Kind Regards

Jenna Richards
St Giles House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Actually getting parked at this hotel is the biggest neg. you can levy against it. If you dont know the area - as most visitors probably wont, finding the car park unaided first time around isnt easy, and should be explained somewhere beforehand. The easiest way (with hindsight) is locating it using 'Streetview'. Which will guide you down the warren of back alleys which leads to the ample car park. But even then, once parked, it isnt obvious just where the access door to the building is. More signage required, St. Giles!

Once in, and up the lift 2 floors to reception, we were met by a very friendly, welcoming and informative lady (as were her collegues at other times), who went through the necessaries, and then even carried a bag to our room.

The 'King' room was spotless and spacious, as was the bathroom - which ironically had no bath, which didnt bother us. It had an over-sized shower with a choice of two heads - regular and 'waterfall' which was a nice touch. There was also an array of lotions and potions. One bizzare thing, was that there was a fan switch - seven feet up the wall!

The large bed was extremely comfy, and there were fluffy robes in the ample wardrobe. There was also a balcony, albeit with not much of a view, but was handy for the smokers. The room also had the usual chairs, drawers etc., which were good quality, and a large flat screen tv. The room was warm, even without any apparent heating on. There was a heat/air-con control available, but we didnt need it. We slept with the windows ajar without any noise problem.

We made use of the restaurant, bar and lounges - which were all of a high standard, as was the food served therein. The staff - every single one we encountered seemingly from the UK, were pleasant and efficient throughout, nothing being too much trouble.

The place had one or two odd niggles that really arent worth dwelling on, as they can be found in just about any establishment you stay in in one form or another. Though others would, and likely have before today, turned them into 'War and Peace' just for something to moan about

The location of this hotel would be very hard to beat for access to the city/shops etc. This was our first time in Norwich, which we found a great place of interest and for the shops it has. We will certainly return to both city and hotel at some point in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireMixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback from your stay here at St Giles House. Im so pleased to see, in such thorough comments, that our Rooms (and faciltiies within it), Staff & Food were rated so positively, it really is a pleasure to recieve such positive repsonse to a guests stay.

Apologies for any difficulty with the Car Park access, sadly on such a character-full street as St Giles, listed buildings surround the Hotel making increased signage an issue with limitations, but one which we endevour to address. Our Reception staff are always available for directions to the Car Park entrance & our location map is attached to all Hotel confirmations, but if required call ahead for direct instructions or pop into the Front of the Hotel upon arrival & we can soon direct you around & have you parked & checked-in within minutes.

Once again your feedback is extremely valuable to us, so many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. I do hope we see you again during 2012,

Kind Regards

Jenna Richards
St Giles House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Booked at the last minute to stay overnight.
Service was superb. Especially the late room service meal and the friendly helpful guy who took care of making and delivering this for us.
Room was immaculate, shower was very nice in the bathroom.
Great overnight stay and lovely breakfast menu.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Many thanks for such positive feedback from your stay with us during the festive season. Im so pleased to see that our staff, facilities & service contributed to a great customer experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly & attentive staff & service so Im pleased to see your feedback on this. I do hope we welcome you back during 2012,

Kind Regards

Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I arranged for my wife and I to stay at St.Giles overnight as we had a group of us having a meal in the restaurant. The room was lovely and a good size but we did have a few problems mainly the shower would not switch off so we had to call the receptionist who called a plumber to fix the shower while we were having our meal. They did give us a bottle of presseco as an apology which was appreciated.
The hotel and the decoration is very nice and I really do like the lounge area were you can sit and have a coffee and read the paper in peace and quite.
Breakfast the next morning was very good and in a lovely relaxed atmosphere.
We have stayed here before and had no problems at all so I wouldn't let the shower issue worry you. I will go back again as I think the feel of the place is very very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,160 reviews
9.3 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,129 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
5.2 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.5 km away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing