We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible little gem of the Yorkshire dales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Littlebank Country House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Littlebank Country House
Ranked #2 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Incredible little gem of the Yorkshire dales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Wow, where to begin? I took my partner here as a surprise for his birthday. After getting a
Little lost and confused on the farm, we arrived at this stunning property and were greeted by the friendliest couple who made us feel welcome the second we walked in. A glass of wine was offered on arrival before being taken up to a beautiful luxurious room that made me feel like a princess! The thoughtful touches such as the lovely handmade cupcakes in the room, and the biscuits, sherry and chocolate and stunning decor just made the whole experience so special.

Trish and Richard were just incredible hosts. You could tell that they love what they do, and that everything they do they don.t do it for the profit - they just want to treat you as they would wish to be treated themselves. The breakfast room was so precious, and delicious! There was so much to choose from and they were so kind!

The place is quite far from the nearest town, it took us an hour to walk back at night however the remoteness of the place with the stunning views make that a great thing. We only stayed for 1 night but definitely recommend longer.

I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayManiac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
191
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I think all the previous reviews covered the place well. Excellent hosts, couldn't have done more for us. Location is brilliant, it's nice a quiet, yes you have to drive up a bumpy lane, but as long as you don't drive a sports car it's fine! The full english breakfast was very tasty, possibly the best I've ever eaten, all local produce too. Rooms were very comfortable and cosy, plus nice little touches in the rooms to make it feel homely, en suites were sufficient too, nice big shower.
There is a pub nearby (the Craven, food there was superb) which you can access by walking across some fields or settle is a 5 minute drive away or you can walk in by following a public footpath along the river. Richard and Trish can suggest places to go, we went to Hawes and went to the dragon pub which has a beautiful waterfall behind it, well worth checking out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicken_or_beef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just had to write a brief report on our recent stay at Richard and Trish's lovely property.

My wife and i had a long weekend there and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Richard and Trish are superb hosts without being too fussy.
The breakfasts are great and the accommodation is excellent- we stayed in Brackney Brow which is a lovely large room with ensuite.
it's the little touches that make this place so good...little fairy cakes to eat with your afternoon cuppa and bottled sparkling/still water . Richard and Trish are helpful in making restaurant bookings and giving you ideas on where to go and what to see.They work very hard to ensure you have a superb stay with them.


Care has to be taken when approaching the house as the farm track leading to the house is quite rocky although this is in the process of being improved....this isnt a problem as long as you SLOW DOWN and enjoy the beautiful countryside views.
The house is in a great spot for touring around the Dales. i would recommend a trip to Ingleton Falls...quite a challenging walk for most people but well worth it and we both thought the area around Hawes was stunning...superb riverside walks and Hardraw force waterfall.

Settle is the nearest town to the house and is a 10 minute drive and has a few pubs/restaurants. Our favourire restaurant was Gusto near the market square- lovely people running it and good italian based food and competively priced. The Craven Arms was also very nice- a gastro type pub with a good selection of food.

We were lucky with the weather as for the most part it was sunny and dry but you need to come prepared with good walking boots and waterproofs.

We would most definitely recommend Littlebank........as the heading says...."Top Notch"

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THECOACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just stayed here at the Littlebank Country House and have to say if you want to relax in the peace and quiet in lovely surroundings then this is the place. The hosts Trish & Richard are lovely people and welcome you with some homebaked cakes on arrival. Our room was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to going back !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angbrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot in exile, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Thanks to Trish and Richard for a very pleasant couple of nights and excellent breakfasts. The house is delightfully old and quirky and the room(s) well-equipped and comfortable. There are numerous little touches which combine to make one feel well looked after. Our shower was excellent too - not by any means always the case, but really important in the Yorkshire winter. Anyway, much of what I'd want to say has been said repeatedly in the many 5-star reviews so I'll just reinforce the remarks about the hosts' warm welcome and unfussiness. It is unusual to come across anything other than pleasantness from bed and breakfast hosts but Trish and Richard are especially nice! Oh, and at last I was able to justify buying a 4wd! The extra height and grip were a great comfort coming and going along the drive, which had suffered a bit from the long spell of wet weather. We won't hesitate to come back to Littlebank House.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Countrymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

A beautiful house with wonderful hosts who were so warm and welcoming , the room was pretty and cosy with lovely little details that really make it a special place to stay. Both the location and the house it's self are gorgeous. Breakfast was was great and we couldn't have wished for better more helpful hosts. Littlebank is by far the best B&B we've ever stayed in and we highly recommend it for a romantic break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent a lovely romantic weekend at the Littlebank and would recommend you do the same. Weaving our way up the winding road, when the house came into view the sight exceeded all expectations, as did Trisha and Richard's genuinely warm welcome. The setting is as relaxing and comfortable as could be wished for, the decor beautifully tasteful and the rooms exceptionally clean and full of interesting and delightful features - as pretty as a country house should be, with views across to Settle and beyond.
This could be the finest B&B we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrinaandduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
6.9 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.2 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.7 km away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
8.7 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
30.0 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Littlebank Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littlebank Country House

Property: Littlebank Country House
Address: Rathmell, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Littlebank Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Littlebank Country House near Settle is the epitome of tranquility in a picturesque rural setting. This traditional farmhouse offers home-from-home comfort in four twin-bedded or double rooms, sumptuously decorated with comfortable furniture, elegant fabrics and luxurious bathrooms. Enjoy a delicious home-cooked breakfast before taking a walk in the countryside or relaxing in our extensive grounds and gardens, overlooking the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ostrovok and LateRooms so you can book your Littlebank Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Littlebank Country House Hotel Settle
Littlebank Country House Settle, UK - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing