We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leeway
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YHA Whitby(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Granby(Whitby)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,460)
Filter reviews
1,460 results
Traveller rating
1,404
51
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,404
51
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscakekaren garrytassimo machineon arrivalabbey roomdrinks machinest marydaily specialsjar of sweetswarm welcomehomemade yogurtnothing is too much troublelittle extrasattention to detailplace to staycup of teabreakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,460 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

This is our third trip to The Leeway in Whitby and each time Garry and Karen have been great hosts from start to finish.

Location: The Leeway has a great location. It is a short walk out of the town centre but is also very close the West Cliff and the beach. Although The Leeway is close to town it has always been very quiet which suits us well. We have always benefited from the free parking included in our stay which is a relief after a long drive.

Arrival: Garry always meets us on arrival (even though we have been running late twice), with an offer of tea/coffee and some lovely homemade cake. The cases always ‘disappear’ up to our room whilst we are signing in and enjoying our tea and cake. We always have a quick catch up with Garry who lets us know what is going on in the town at the time and lets us know of any new restaurants we may like to try during our stay.

Rooms: Garry and Karen keep The Leeway to a very high standard redecorating one or two rooms a year. Each room is decorated in an individual style so there are lots of choices. We have stayed in the Hudson, Cook and Abbey rooms and all three were excellent. The rooms have everything we need including towels, bath robes, toiletries, Tassimo drinks machine, water and squash, TV and DVD player. There is a booklet in each room explaining the facilities in detail. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The ensuite bathrooms are all modern and impeccably clean.

Breakfast: We really look forward to the breakfasts whilst we are at The Leeway. There is unlimited tea, coffee and toast and then there are lots of choices for either continental or cooked breakfasts, including daily specials. The food is all excellent quality (provenance is listed on the menu and shows many local suppliers) and is cooked perfectly. There are cereals, local jams, honey and marmalades, fruit and juices to help yourself to. The full cooked breakfast (sausage, bacon, black pudding, cherry tomatoes, beans and mushrooms) is very well cooked and there are daily specials including kippers or eggs benedict. The breakfast is a real treat.

We visit Whitby once every 12 to 18 months and cannot think about staying anywhere else. We recommend The Leeway to everyone who shows an interest in visiting the town. A visit to our favourite seaside town would just not be the same without staying at The Leeway.

Room Tip: All rooms have been excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdandHelenOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Garry, Owner at The Leeway, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Ed and Helen, thank you so very much for your fantastic review. We are thrilled that you love staying here at The Leeway, while exploring our wonderful Whitby. Always a pleasure to have you stay. Look forward to the next time. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

We first visited the Leeway 5 years ago, when we retired and had always wanted to visit this area.....Garry and Karen welcomed us like old friends,,,,,,and that is just how we remain...old friends....always a warm welcome with fresh coffee and an offer of freshly baked cake by Karen, with Garry busy carrying your luggage to you room.......rooms are excellent, well maintained, supberb comfy beds with pillows that you sink in to drift of to sleep. An excellent range of toiletries, towels, bath robes......coffee machine, fresh cold water.....the list goes in and on......breakfast is excellent with so much choice....plus FRESH FRUIT SALAD, HOMEMADE YOGHURT, HOMEMADE MARMALADE......cereals and daily specials.........make your next visit THE LEEWAY, Whitby.....you will not be dissapointed......see you next year Garry & Karen...xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, it just comes down to your personal choice
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joyjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Garry, Owner at The Leeway, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Joy, thank you so much for your outstanding review. It's always a pleasure when you and Jim stay with us. Look forward to seeing you next time. Take Care xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Wow! My son and I just stayed at this beautiful B&B in Whitby! It's really close to the centre but quiet enough that we didn't hear a single noise. The accommodation is great - clean, spacious and up to date. The couple who own it are fab - very accommodating and Karen makes the best breakfast ever! Locally sourced bacon, sausages etc. homemade yogurt! Couldn't fault it at all and I've stayed all over the world! Thanks Karen and Garry! Hope to see you again soon. Xx

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yorkshirelass12125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Garry, Owner at The Leeway, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. So pleased you both enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit To The Leeway, Karen and Garry are great hosts, the rooms are immaculate and very, very tastefully decorated with attention to detail. The breakfast are amazing with a different special every day. Cant recommend The Leeway enough we've already booked for New Year 2018 but will be back before then.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Garry, Owner at The Leeway, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you Denise for your wonderful review. It was great to see you and your friends again. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have booked for 2018/19 New Year Package. We hope to see you before then though!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Cannot rate The Leeway highly enough. Friendly hosts. Superb breakfasts with a 'special' every day. Very comfortable room with 'extras'. Useful information on all main restaurants with comments from visitors. As golfers, Garry arranged a discounted green fee at Whitby Golf Club. Parking tricky but parking disc included in price for stays of 4+ days.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Garry, Owner at The Leeway, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you Patricia for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and your round of Golf, which is great value at 2 for 1, if we book it for you. Parking can be tricky in Whitby, but we do provide a free parking card for anyone staying with us 2 or more nights, and this can be used any where on the west cliff. I hope we can accommodate you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews