We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jill was a fantastic host! Beautiful B&B”
Review of Joben Guest House

Joben Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joben Guest House
Ranked #110 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Joben Bed and Breakfast earlier this week and couldn't praise the place high enough. Jill was a brilliant host welcoming us both in. Advising us where to park and offering us lots of advise on where to visit nearby and the best restaurant's and pubs. She has lived in Whitby years and was born there so knew all the best spots. The room was lovely. We stopped in the en-suite room,comfy bed,little treats for us next to the kettle. Nice personal touch throughout. The breakfast was actually unreal! This was one of the main reasons I chose this b&b above the rest! I heard great things about Jill's breakfast! Set us up for the day to explore the beautiful town of Whitby. In general this b&b offers everything you need. A pieceful nights sleep. Great breakfast. Value for money. Central. You can actually see the Abbey if you walk 3 seconds out of the front door. Definetely recommend. Had a perfect stay. Thanks Jill. We'll be back!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JodieMajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Jill is a good host., but unfortunately the room let her down badly. It was very small, cluttered and fairly clean with an "ensuit "crammed into the corner. Certainly not value for money. Made worse by the fact that we'd spent the previous 3 nights in a 3 star hotel with full facilities for only £9 a night more than joben

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We stayed at Joben House guest house for 2 nights at the end of June with our dog Cookie. Jill is an amazing hostess whom nothing is too much trouble. Accomadation is very clean and comfortable with everything and more you could need for a short break. The breakfasts have a wide choice and variety however we recommend the full English as this was delicious. We had a fantastic stay in Whitby made all the better by Jill and her lovely ,if not hidden, guest house. Minor downside is there is no parking outside but less than 200mts round the corner is an excellent car park literally the next road down.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Booked this last minute ,didn't even know we're it was but every we're was full ,Wow what a find just round the corner from every thing ,we had a big bright comfy room with a very chic private bathroom ,no shower but the bath was heaven after a long walk .loads of soft towels and toiletries ,and tea making stuff .Breakfast wall well cooked and more than plenty .Me and my husband normally try diffrent places but will defiantly go back next time

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank margaretN8687YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Lovely guesthouse , Jill is a lovely lady and made us feel welcome room was lovely and breakfast was lovely too made our stay in Whitby more enjoyable we will be back love Whitby and can't wait for our next visit

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yolanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Jill is lovely. Breakfast delicious. Room spacious and bathroom beautiful... a few stains on bedspread but it was laundered... some stains just remain I guess.. nothing turning the light off didn't cure! It was great for the money and our one night stay.
Recommended. Thanks Jill.
Red. X

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RED M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

The Joben guest house is in an ideal location. Jill was lovely and very helpful and the room was cosy and clean. The only downside was the tea/coffee facilities, the mugs were full of dust and the milk cartons were out of date so we couldnt have a drink in our room. The bed wasnt made nor the room cleaned during our 3 night stay which we expected as we have stayed in cheaper places in Whitby which included these services.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karenorwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 km away
Blencathra Guest House
Blencathra Guest House
#56 of 155 in Whitby
103 reviews
0.4 km away
The Station Inn Whitby
The Station Inn Whitby
#89 of 155 in Whitby
33 reviews
5.1 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
1.9 km away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
279 reviews
4.1 km away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joben Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joben Guest House

Address: 6 Well Close Terrace, Whitby YO21 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $109 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Joben Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing